1995 Ford Probe Reviews - Page 5 of 14

1995 Ford Probe from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 miles
Most recent distance155000 miles
Previous carDodge Colt

Summary:

Great looks/gas mileage, but had expensive engine problems

Faults:

Timing Chamber/need new engine ($1500 to fix at least)

Window handle crank broke on drivers side

When opening trunk the hatchback won't stay up by itself

Windows don't always stay totally sealed... then they whistle when driving on highway.

General Comments:

Purchased May of 2004. Paid $1500. Now in Feb of 2005 needs new engine, something about the timing chamber. Car died on highway... luckily I was able to pull to side of road before car totally stopped. Then had to tow to repair shop. Was told it would cost me at least $1500 to fix. Just not worth it.

Love the look, design of car for being 10 years old.

Seat fabric very durable.

Drives great (I had a stick).

Very good gas mileage.

Wish car had a cup holder!!!

Never really had any big problems until the timing chamber. Guess this is very common to happen to probes around this mileage/age.

Sad to say goodbye because I do like the probe.

Great for me as a student and driving around town.

Not a large car by any means, but great for single drivers.

Backseat is pretty small... not much leg room.

Overall good car, but would not buy another one... too scared something like engine problems might happen again.

Just disappointed I only had car for like 9 months.

Am currently looking for another car similar to probe in looks/gas mileage with great reliability for around $2000...any suggestions?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd March, 2005

7th Apr 2005, 18:58

If you are still looking for a reliable car for around $2000 I recommend the Ford ZX2. Though not as fast as a Probe, they are newer (made from 1998-2003) and more reliable. You may have to bend your budget a bit, but a '98 or '99 ZX2 with around 130,000 miles or so shouldn't run you more than $2500.

27th May 2005, 10:03

What happened is that your timing belt broke, and since your engine is an interference engine, a piston came up and smashed one of the extended valves. Just a word of warning: any car with belt driven cam/ cams needs a timing belt replacement every 60,000 miles!!! Otherwise, you are just asking for the belt to break and lead to permanent engine damage!!! Make sure you know if your cams are either belt driven or chain driven! Chains don't usually require replacement, but belts wear out, break, and lead to destroyed engines!

10th Dec 2005, 14:40

The V6 engine is non interference and will survive the timing belt breaking.

1995 Ford Probe GT 2.5 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.5 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired200000 kilometres
Most recent distance230000 kilometres
Previous carFord Tempo

Summary:

Love it, but it costs way too much to keep

Faults:

First month I owned the car, the front brake rotors were replaced.

Shortly after that I replaced the muffler.

Three months of owning he car my left motor mount broke and I had to replace the pulley kit.

After four month the motor mount broke again.

My headers will have to be replaced very soon.

General Comments:

I really enjoy this car when it is running right.

It is very quick and handles great.

It beats a lot of other cars out there with its stock engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th December, 2004

12th Jan 2005, 12:44

I would have to agree with the other comment. That you probably beat the probe and that's why your motor mounts keep breaking. I'm a probe man also, but mine built to race. Build yours up and it will be fine.

16th Mar 2005, 19:56

I would have to agree with you. I have had my probe for only a year and 4 months, I have treated it like a pussy cat. so far I have put about $4000.00 into repairs alone. pretty, but expensive.!

1995 Ford Probe 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired92000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carFord Probe

Summary:

Bargain for the performance

Faults:

I have had very little problems with the car other than the clutch going at about 100,000 miles. I got the work done relatively cheap, $900 with parts and all. I have had no transmission problems to date. Also a problem with the distributor cap, also a cheap fix.

General Comments:

For the money I would buy another. although the 4 cyl. is sufficiently powered, I would go for the 6. with the manual trans. the little 2.0 is fun to rip around, and it handles very well for the couple thousand you will spend on one. would buy again, very few problems/very little money invested in a car that has lasted me 4 years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th August, 2004

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 44 reviews