1995 Ford Probe Reviews - Page 9 of 14

1995 Ford Probe GT 2.5 DOHC V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.5 DOHC V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance108000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

The price of speed well worth it.

Faults:

Timing Belt tentioner replaced.

Water pump replaced.

Transmission replaced (3,500 from dealer)

Brakes replaced (warped rotors)

Fuel pump replaced.

All normal wear and tear stuff replaced.

General Comments:

The Ford Probe GT is a nice sports car if you have time to tinker. You will spend money to drive this car daily as there is always something going wrong. With a little love and a big wallet this car will put a smile on your face in bends and turns as well as the flat runs on the hyways.

Aftermarket support has picked up for this little fireball and now you can get everything from a bug-shield to a full custom turbo unit. (not offered stock, but should have been)

The ride is very unforgiving, so if your looking for a cadillac feeling glide, this isn't the car for you. Pot holes feel 6 foot deep, but corners feel if you were on rails.

163 factory ponies push this car to 100MPH with little effort, but driving it hard will drain your savings account and give you something to do every weekend.

The only complaint I have is the weak transmission that seems to fail due to extreme heat caused by its weak shift points and programing. But a valve body modification and transmission cooler will solve that problem for around 300 US dollars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th October, 2002

21st Dec 2002, 13:05

Hello. I think this articles hold true, and I share the exact same beliefs. I would like to ask you a question. What kind of transmission is in the 1995 ford probe gt v6? I have been looking for a valve body shift kit and need this information to find it. If you could help me it would be greatly appreciated.

4th Oct 2003, 19:01

Hey man I have a 95 gt with 115000 miles on it I just put turbo on it. my cooling fans are always running, but the main concern is where you got the valve body modification. I got a cooler for the transmission from a 2001 jeep grand cherokee. it fits nice. cools the oil 30 degrees. anyways post the info so we can all get good luck with our probes.

9th Aug 2004, 11:35

Visit www.fpoc.co.uk, they should sort you out; even if you have to pay the £12 entry fee, that's only £1 a month!

5th May 2007, 02:16

Very truly words "With a little love and a big wallet this car will put a smile on your face". It's true that always something with this car is going wrong. I have '94 Probe GT and I can't see the finish for repairs.

1995 Ford Probe LX 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.5 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 miles
Most recent distance81000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Have something reliable handy

Faults:

This vehicle has a CD4 transmission that was installed when the car was built. I was changing the fluid in it and found a manufacture tag stating the warranty for the transmission was void January 1994. The car was built in 1995. I made some phone calls and found it is the original transmission and I might get some relief on the costs. Even if I do get help with the $5000 bill for repairing it I won't keep it. After much research into this vehicle it is a known fact that this transmission is made to fail. Pieces inside fall apart and shell it out or the electronics inside fail to work properly. This car is a auto shops dream car and an owner's money pit.

General Comments:

Good pick up for an automatic.

Suspension is comfortable for a sports car.

Dash and instrument placement is (as always with Ford) perfect.

Very nice interior.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd May, 2002

1995 Ford Probe SE 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired12000 miles
Most recent distance89000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Money pit

Faults:

Transmission problems galore. The original transmission lasted till 32,000 miles, Under warranty it was replaced.. again at 55,000 miles transmission problems.. extended warranty saved me that time. Now its slipping and jerking again.

Parts are very expensive. I've also had the control panel that works the rear defrost/rear wiper go out and the radio has went out as well. All I can say for this car is at least the A/C is good.

General Comments:

Handles well, performance isn't the best for a car with such a sporty appearance.

Cheap alloy rims have discolored to a dull haze.

Even though it has problems (a lot of them) it's still a great looking car even though I'm planning on trading it soon and getting something else, not a FORD though, maybe a Toyota or Honda something that's reliable.. My sister bought a 1995 Geo Metro the same time I got this car and she hasn't had one problem yet, and I paid a lot more for my car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st September, 2001

6th May 2002, 23:19

All I have to say is quit complaining and buy yourself the rice mobile then. The Ford community will be a lot better off without you as a member. Cars are cars, and they all have problems, even the "ricers" (believe it or not!)

23rd Jun 2002, 14:23

I have a 95 Ford Probe with 46,000 miles, and I have already experienced so many problems... particularly the transmission. My brother drives a Honda and he never had any problems with the car. I learned my lesson. I am never going to buy another American car again.

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 44 reviews