1987 Ford Ranger Reviews - Page 6 of 7

1987 Ford Ranger XLT 2.9 EFI V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1987
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.9 EFI V6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance300000 miles
Previous carChevrolet LUV

Summary:

A rough and ready mini hauler with great Low end Torque

Faults:

Nothing major. Fuel pump and Ignition Module other than that just normal replacement parts.

General Comments:

This has been a Great truck to me. I love the low end Torque of the 2.9 and whatever I have dished out it handled. Like the Energizer bunny... keeps going and going and going...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st August, 2002

1987 Ford Ranger XLT 2.7 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1986
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.7 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance247000 miles
Previous carLincoln Mark VII

Summary:

It is an outstanding truck

Faults:

Replaced water pump at 200000 miles.

Replaced alternator at 210000 miles.

General Comments:

This is the first truck that gave the reliability and performance that one expects for the price.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th July, 2002

1987 Ford Ranger XL 2.9 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1988
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.9 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired8900 miles
Most recent distance289756 miles
Previous carChrysler LeBaron

Summary:

I have nothing but praise for the truck, I have never had a vehicle last or go this many miles

Faults:

I had the transmission rebuilt twice.

Normal maintenance and repair for a high mileage vehicle.

About everything has been changed or repaired except the engine which is original.

General Comments:

The truck has been extremely reliable espectially considering most of the miles are city miles on the hills of San Francisco.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th May, 2002

1987 Ford Ranger XLT 2.9 V-6 EFI from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1987
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.9 V-6 EFI Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance350000 miles
Previous carBuick Skylark

Summary:

It's paid for itself many times over again

Faults:

Ignition module at 340,000.

Replaced exhaust numerous times.

Fuel pump at 320,000.

Normal replacement parts (Shocks, tires, brakes).

General Comments:

It's been a very good truck and we did not baby it. We've hauled home a ton of shingles with it (literally). It's also been though about 4 car/deer accidents and we still work it like it was a brand new truck.

The body is pretty rusted, but underneath it's still like a brand new truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st January, 2002

1987 Ford Ranger LX 2.9 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.9 V6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired189999 kilometres
Most recent distance199999 kilometres

Summary:

It's worth every penny!!!

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with this car except all I had to do is change the oil. Also the distributor, the spark plugs and the wires, amazingly, all of the motor parts were original since 1987, except the oil filter.

This truck never breaks down, the only thing is that you have to warm it up for 3 to 5 minutes before driving it or it kind of startles when shifting gears. Don't buy any other Ford but this one!!!

General Comments:

The seats are very comfortable, and there is plenty of room to sit in it!

It's a bit slow on acceleration, but after all it isn't a race car. Top speed is 140 km/h, which is fast enough, and parts are VERY cheap!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th September, 2001

20th Dec 2004, 12:26

My truck is a great ride. the only thing wrong with it is that when its hot outside it doesn't start all that well.

1987 Ford Ranger XLT 3.9 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1987
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.9 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance145 miles
Previous carVolkswagen 1967 Poptop Camper

Summary:

A good bargain!

Faults:

Water pump went out at about 95,000.

AC went out twice, probably bad seals.

Exterior paint has deteriorated.

Recently replaced the muffler for a second time.

Still has the original clutch!

General Comments:

Excellent purchase - have really gotten my money's worth. Only a few mechanical problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd April, 2001

1987 Ford Ranger 2.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1987
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.3 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired61 miles
Most recent distance208602 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

Best small truck on the market in 1987 and today

Faults:

Brakes at 147,000 miles.

Water pump at 120,000 miles.

Distributor module at 105,000 miles.

Heater fan at 175,000 miles.

Timing belts (2) at 85,000 and 160,000 miles.

Couple of mufflers.

U-joints at 147,000 miles.

Some other minor work beltshoses etc.

General Comments:

This has been a great little truck. The U joints went at 147,000, while I was working on them. I went ahead and changed the front and rear brakes, but they could have went farther.

I do all my own repair work. Change the oil every 2000. Plan on driving this truck till it gets at least 250,000 and wouldn't be afraid to take it anywhere.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th August, 2000

18th May 2001, 15:15

I think the Ford Ranger is the best truck ever made and I have the truck to prove it. A beautiful 1987 with a 192K miles and still running strong, it's my every day driver and I have all confidence in it, and except for a recent brake job and water pump the truck has not given me any problems.

Right now I'm planning to rip out the 2.9L and install a healthy 302 SC and juiced, but my dream is harder to accomplish than I figured, the install of the engine is not even the hard part, it's finding a good suspension kit which is impossible to find even in my sport truck mags. I've already decided on the 9 inch rear end and since my truck is the STX that's just more stuff I have to find and change.

Well, just wrote because I thought it was cool that you felt same as I did and I hope to see more Ranger enthusiasts.

29th May 2002, 09:36

WOW! I am 18 years young, and I LOOOOOOVE my 1987 Ford Ranger. It gets me everywhere I need to go and it's a lot of fun in the snow! I am also a senior in high school and a female at that. That's about it!

14th Jun 2002, 11:18

I have a 1987 Ford Ranger that I have customized and it's a great truck. The only things I've had to change are the tires, clutch, and spark plugs. I also put a juiced up tranny in it. It sounds great with the Flowmaster dual exhaust too. It only has 90,000 miles on it too.

16th Aug 2003, 10:32

I also have a 1987 Ford Ranger. It is sweet! The only problem with it is that it's idle is too high (1.6k) and when I first got it it was around 1.35, does anyone know how to fix that without going to a mechanic and paying a lot of $$$? Please reply.

11th Nov 2003, 11:24

I have one of the best light trucks in the world too. My '87 Ford Ranger* has 1.5k, is in the best shape, I've had it almost a year, and want to reupolster. One tune-up, one oil change and a new set of tires. I love my truck. It gets me just about anywhere I want to go.

Erik 21,

Cody, Wy.

9th Apr 2005, 14:00

The 1987 Ford Ranger has to be the best small truck ever built after eighteen year, and 300k miles of HARD abuse one paint job and various "consumables" (clutch, lubes, belts etc.) are the only problems I've ever had.

WV Owner.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 25 reviews