1987 Ford Ranger Reviews - Page 4 of 7

1987 Ford Ranger xl 2.9 liter from North America

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1987
Most recent year of ownership1987
Engine and transmission 2.9 liter Automatic
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance0 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

The truck is a very dependable

Faults:

Truck turns off when I put in drive, jumps forward and turns off. When I put in reverse the truck jump back and shuts off. Then when I put it back in park it starts no problem.

I.

General Comments:

Truck runs good When it was running, but rear end tires seem to slide when making a sharp turn.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th March, 2006

12th Apr 2008, 09:14

I've heard about a problem like that. Some sensor inside the transmission. I'd get those checked.

8th Jun 2012, 19:13

I believe it would be the torque converter lockup solenoid. I had it go bad on my 1988 Chevy Corsica, and it did the same thing.

1987 Ford Ranger XLT 2.9 V6 from North America

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.9 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance96000 miles
Previous carPontiac Firebird

Summary:

Best truck ever made and will always be

Faults:

Starter at around 70,000 miles.

General Comments:

The first generation Rangers are the best trucks ever made and always will be. I love this truck. It's got PLENTY of power. I've treated this truck worst than the Duke boys' did the General Lee. I've jumped hills, gone through mud, revved the crap out of it, made the needle sink in the speedometer many times, (dunno how fast it goes, but I have plenty of pedal left when it goes past the 85 mark.) I've smoked a lot of import racers, other trucks, and even my buddy's S-10 Blazer with a 350 small-block in it. If the motor ever craps out on me, which I doubt, I'll throw in a 302 V8. But this is a great ride for anybody. It looks great, and is reliable as hell. I'll never get rid of mine. My dad had a 85 Ranger with a 4 banger in it and he pulled a very heavy camper with it a lot. And in one occasion a Dodge Ram and Boat at the same time due to a short in it which made the motor to catch on fire. That truck never died and he got rid of it at 350,000 miles. They have plenty of room and power and like I said, it would make a great ride for anyone. Ford Trucks Rule!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th February, 2005

1987 Ford Ranger STX 2.9 Litre V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.9 Litre V6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired92000 miles
Most recent distance192000 miles
Previous carFord Bronco II

Summary:

Rusty, but trusty

Faults:

4th and fifth gear were welded together at 92,000 miles.

Clutch slave cylinder out at 99,000. Fuel pressure regulator at 100,000, and 115,000 miles, and a few miles later both fuel pumps crashed.

Front axle u-joints out at approx. 140,000.

Rear drive shaft broken at 192,000.

General Comments:

My '87 Ranger STX Hi-Boy is probably one of the best vehicles I have ever owned. It's had it's share of breakdowns, but I drive this truck in traffic every day, and off road it on weekends. It's one reliable little truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th May, 2004

26th Feb 2011, 00:09

Well I'm thinking about getting one to drive me 60 miles a day... What do you think???

1987 Ford Ranger XLT 2.9 EFI from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.9 EFI Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired119000 miles
Most recent distance122000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Lumina

Summary:

It gets the job done

Faults:

I had to put in a new Starter at 120000.

New breaks at 119400.

Tune up at 119000.

I need to get he oil gaskets fixed.

That's all problems I have.

General Comments:

This is a great truck. I am 16 and this is my first truck, but it would be good for all ages. It runs well, Drives nice, and it has a nice bed. It has lots of comfort. It has a really nice engine for being a 2.9. This is defiantly one of Fords best trucks. This truck is very Reliable. I really trust it. It has a nice stereo in it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th September, 2003

1987 Ford Ranger LX 2.3 Liter from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1987
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.3 Liter Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance345000 miles
Previous carToyota Long bed pick-up

Summary:

345,000 miles, I will just have to complain to Ford

Faults:

Driver side door light switch at 24 miles.

Starter at 3,500 miles.

Stick shift popped out of transmission at 7,500 miles.

Starter at 10,000 miles.

Steering box ball joint at 72,000 miles.

Brakes at 90,000 miles.

Cooling fan at 125,000 miles.

Water pump at 135,000 miles.

Thermostat at 137,000 miles (knew I should have changed that with water pump).

Brakes at 190,000 miles.

Generator at 210,000 miles.

Clutch & pilot bearing at 300,000 miles.

Universal joints on drive shaft at 319,000 miles.

Brakes at 325,000 miles.

Driver seat at 342,000 miles.

Engine at 345,073 miles.

Laid to rest at 345,085 miles when drove onto wrecking yard truck.

General Comments:

Small 2.3 Liter 4 cylinder a little short on power, but gets great gas mileage for a truck.

This truck had the most comfortable seats, at least in the opinion of my body, of any vehicle I ever owned.

Just bought another 2.3 Liter Ford Ranger 1992, hope it holds up like the last one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th April, 2003

24th Jan 2004, 20:44

It is most likely that your purchase of the 92 was a good one. I currently own one which was bought in 96 with 55,000 miles. It gets driven quite frequently, and thus it piled on the miles. It now has 248,000 miles with no major problems to speak of. Regular maintenance was performed, including the clutch assembly at 100,000 then 220,000 miles. Brakes last quite a while, have only had them replaced 2 times. Good luck with your 92, it will serve you well.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 25 reviews