1987 Ford Ranger XLT 4x4 2.9 V6 FI from North America

Summary:

Extremely Reliable

Faults:

Engine died, but it turned out to be the ignition pickup, coil pack, and a few loose wires.

General Comments:

Great vehicle, Would buy another 87 Ranger. Going to buy a 307 to drop in it while I'm rebuilding the stock 2.9.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th June, 2007

1987 Ford Ranger regular cab 4x4 V6 from North America

Summary:

This ford truck was an expensive headache

Faults:

Transmission leaked, and would pop out of gear over a bump in the road.

Rear differential locked up two different times.

V-6 burned a lot of oil.

I replaced at least four different sensors on the motor.

Gas gauge stuck about half the time.

Body rusted badly even with weekly or bi-weekly washing.

Wheel bearings needed replaced twice in same rear wheel.

Heater never really worked right.

Windshield leaked due to rust around it.

U-joint needed replaced.

Speedometer stuck sometimes.

Fuel pump went bad; truck left me stranded for probably the fifth time.

General Comments:

This was my first Ford, and it was the last one I will ever buy. I probably put half as much money in repairs in it as it cost to buy the truck in the first place. I don't know what kind of treatment it received before I had it, but there is no excuse for the amount of money it cost me to keep it running. I have owned chevy's, dodges, and toyota's, and the ford was by far the worst in every way. The four wheel drive always worked pretty well, but that did me no good when the truck didn't run. I would not recommend buying this year of ranger when there are a few foreign models of truck of the same year that will no doubt outlast and outperform the ranger, and with far fewer problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th March, 2006

18th Mar 2006, 14:21

You have no right to complain when you yourself say you don't know how the previous owner treated it. This happens with all used cars and you have to do your homework and be smart when buying. You evidently, were not.

It's a 1986 for gawd sakes...

18th Mar 2006, 20:24

This was my review originally, and on the contrary, I did do my homework. I was all around and underneath this truck, and all the problems that I had with it could not have been predicted even though I carefully looked at it. My only mistake was buying a Ford, which won't happen again. Why do you think that Ford and Chevy are losing tons of money today, when manufacturers like Toyota and Honda are raking it in? I'll tell you: it is because Ford/Chevy have been making substandard vehicles for a long time, and now it is catching up with them, and they know it. Which, to me, explains why this truck fell apart around me when these foreign makes would not have.

1st Feb 2012, 10:34

That's why Ford didn't take the bailout and everything else did.

1987 Ford Ranger XLT 2.9 from North America

Summary:

Very reliable, economical truck!

Faults:

Can't remember the mileage when I had all this stuff replaced.

2 sets of front brake pads.

1 set of rear brake shoes.

Front wheel bearings and rotors at 200,000

(The rotors had warped) Repacked bearings at 100,000 miles.

Automatic transmission replaced with a rebuilt one at about 150,000.

Starter motor.

Oil and filter changed every 3,000 miles.

Spark plugs every 2 or 3 years.

2 sets of plug wires.

2 distributors and rotors.

Water pump.

Thermostat.

2 antifreeze changes.

Tons of tires.

2 alternators.

2 batteries.

2 alternator belts.

Drivers side seat belt latch quit working at 200,000 miles and had to latch it with the passenger side latch.

Drivers side electric door lock wouldn't work at 250,000 miles.

Fuel gauge stopped working at 180,000 miles. Never replaced it.

Valve cover gaskets.

Numerous headlamps.

Numerous parking and taillight lamps.

Replaced all the dash control lights as they had just about all burned out.

Head light switch sometime after 250,000 miles.

2 exhaust systems except for the catalytic converter.

General Comments:

I never had any internal engine problems.

I never replaced or even touched the rear end gear oil.

I never replaced the transmission fluid on either one, only added if needed.

Very easy to work on this truck. I did most of the work myself.

It was still running when I sold it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th March, 2006

24th Aug 2006, 16:17

I have a 1987 ford ranger and I've had it for 19 years and all I've had to replace is the box and an exhaust pipe, but I never took it off roading. it was the most relyable truck ii ever had //Travis.E.

19th Nov 2008, 21:46

I have a 87 Ranger, one of the best trucks I have ever owned. The other is a 82 full size Bronco.

The Ranger never replaced anything; complete stock.

2 wheel drive, and I have taken it places where people said only 4x4s can go. 2.9 liter single cab low truck.

James.

16th Aug 2010, 22:57

I have a 87 Ranger, and I just went 4 wheelin with it, and the trails were intense. It's stock other than the tires, and I love this truck; best $1000 I ever spent.