1992 Ford Ranger Reviews - Page 8 of 9

1992 Ford Ranger XLT 2.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.3 Don't Know
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired39000 miles
Most recent distance225340 miles

Summary:

Dependable, sturdy. Has never left me standing on the side of the road.

Faults:

I've only had minor problems.

Power Steering pump replaced. 175,000 miles.

Air Conditioner no longer operational. 190,000 miles.

General Comments:

Even with the few minor problems I love this truck. At a quarter of a million miles I can't complain. I'd buy another Ranger without hesitation.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd May, 2003

1992 Ford Ranger XLT 4 Cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4 Cylinder Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired17 miles
Most recent distance200000 miles
Previous carFord none

Summary:

Unbeatable durability for any vehicle

Faults:

General maintenance items. No major work or repairs were ever needed.

Replaced exhaust 2 times in 11 years.

Replaced the battery once in 11 years.

Replaced the starter once in 11 years.

Oil pan started to leak around 190,000 miles. Takes an extra court or two between oil changes.

General Comments:

This vehicle is slightly underpowered, but is acceptable.

This was my first vehicle I ever owned and I am waiting for it to wear out so I can buy another one.

Over 200,000 miles and is still tight.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th March, 2003

1992 Ford Ranger 2.3 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.3 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance200003 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

A good engine, but cheap interior parts

Faults:

I replaced the alternator twice in eleven years. Not bad I guess.

Replaced the starter once.

Replaced the clutch once.

Support structure collapsed under driver side of bench seat.

Uncomfortable to drive.

Factory cassette and receiver gave out.

Exterior paint oxidized on hood and roof.

General Comments:

In spite of the miles on this four cylinder, the truck still runs good. Regular oil changes seem to keep it running good, but it burns oil quickly and has a small oil leak.

My biggest complaint is all the small and annoying interior problems. Seat collapsing, stick shift ball rattling, rear view mirror bracket on glass is a bad design, doors won't stay partially open, stereo dying, etc.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd March, 2003

19th Mar 2011, 20:24

And dude, expect the door cable to snap; mine did that 1 year ago. Use the outdoor handle, it will work, but then you will forget how to open car doors from the inside LOL.

1992 Ford Ranger XLT 4.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.0 V6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired17 miles
Most recent distance139800 miles
Previous carBuick Somerset

Summary:

A reliable and most comfortable bargain

Faults:

My drive shaft had to be replaced at 35,000 miles.

General Comments:

This truck has been the most reliable vehicle I have ever owned.

I have owned this Ranger XLT 4X4 for almost 13 years and it has never had a tune up or had any of the plugs and wires changed yet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st February, 2003

17th Jun 2009, 03:51

Ummmm, you might want to look into getting a tune up for it. It don't cost much, and will add years to the life of your truck. Hopefully you've gotten oil changes done every 3000 miles though.

1992 Ford Ranger XLT 3.0L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired76000 miles
Most recent distance116000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

A reliable machine, but not extremely economical.

Faults:

I had the transmission rebuilt at about 96,000 miles.

I put a new starter on at 110,000 miles.

I replaced the oil pan gasket at 115,000 miles.

General Comments:

Besides the setbacks it has been a reliable vehicle.

Quick pickup.

It is very light in the rear and slips and slides easily.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th January, 2003

1992 Ford Ranger 4X4 4.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.5 / 10
Distance when acquired86000 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles

Summary:

A good truck, but not for off-road

Faults:

I have had to replace most of the suspension, even though I go off road maybe once a month.

Also, I have had to replace the 4x4 motor. This little unit costs new for $400. Luckily (I hope) I got one used for $250. My electrical mechanic tells me that this is common for Rangers and Explorers of these years. He does one a week.

The seats are supposed to inflate, but they haven't for a long time.

The battery cable to the starter somehow burned out the starter.

General Comments:

This is a good engine. With only a little less consumption that a smaller v6, and better than the v4, you get a lot of power off the line and off road.

The AC really works, and being in the desert that really matters.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd January, 2003

26th May 2009, 20:40

You drove over a four foot tree in a Ranger!? Either your truck was far from stock, or you had a typo lol.

1992 Ford Ranger XLT 3.0L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired75600 miles
Most recent distance76200 miles

Summary:

An excellent buy on a truck for either on or off-road use

Faults:

The only problem I've had is the ignition switch locked. This was a simple $15 repair.

General Comments:

This is a great truck. It's 10 years old and runs perfect on the original engine and transmission. The body and interior are perfect. Rangers are defintly built to last. I use this truck as a daily driver and although gas mileage isn't as good as a car it is still reasonable.

This is my first automobile period and when it's finally time to retire it (which isn't any time soon) I will defintly buy another Ranger.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th July, 2002

27th Sep 2002, 19:44

Good long lasting truck!

Although the factory clutch isn't the greatest, the truck still holds up well.

Built to Last!

1992 Ford Ranger XLT In-L 4 2.3L.

5th Jul 2003, 01:10

Have had my 92 Ranger for about 1 year now and it is the best truck I've owned. and I've had 6 ford trucks now.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 37 reviews