1992 Ford Ranger Reviews - Page 9 of 9

1992 Ford Ranger XLT 4.0L from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.0L Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carMazda GLC

Summary:

Awesome sporty zippy little truck!

Faults:

Nothing extremely major that the dealer has not covered. Example:

Paint started chipping on hood and roof a few years after purchase. Dealer repainted for free and didn't even ask for warranty info! By the way when the dealer had it they backed over a pole on their lot so I got a new bumper and taillight too!

AC had some problems at 70,000 miles or so. Was repaired under the warranty also.

Original windshield cracked because of a rock chip. Didn't take to dealer for repair, local glass shop had a new one for $100. Pretty cheap!

Power steering pump replaced and clutch work done by dealer just recently. Warranty long since expired now, but still only about a $500 repair bill!

General Comments:

This truck is awesome. What with the 4.0L V6 and bucket seats it is very sporty.

I have taken it on long trips and been somewhat comfortable. Its the smaller cab so there's not too much room inside. Some people may feel cramped inside.

Interior has held up excellently. No cracks in vinyl or dash, no tears on seats or carpet. I did replace the gearshift knob recently (it started slipping off when shifting into 2nd).

I hope to own it for another ten years and another 100,000 + miles!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd June, 2002

30th Apr 2008, 22:15

I thought that I had drove some fast trucks, until I stepped on the gas of a 4.0!

1992 Ford Ranger XLT 2.3 twin plug from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.3 twin plug Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired113000 miles
Most recent distance119225 miles

Summary:

A gutless wonder

Faults:

Excessive drive shaft noise.

Bad oil leaks.

No power.

Very poor gas mileage.

Spring mounts rotted through.

General Comments:

I dislike this truck very much. It gets very, very, poor mileage, it is a gutless wonder, and I have had many problems with this truck. The tranmission and motor leak oil like a sieve. The placement of parts is disgusting, the whole motor a pile of junk. I would never buy another ford again. It is poorly made, and is a total waste of money and time. I would not recommend this vehicle to anyone, ford service is also very poor.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th April, 2002

8th Jan 2010, 20:49

I bought my 1992 Ranger new, I have 217,329 miles on it. I change my oil and lube regular. I do simple maintenance. It's a cheap vehicle to own an have enjoyed many times over. My son drove the heck out of it between ages 16 to 19 years. Yes, I have had a few things gone wrong, but it's still over 18 years old and I still love it. I hope you have had a good experience as I have...

1992 Ford Ranger XLT 2.3 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership1992
Engine and transmission 2.3 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles

Summary:

I wish every car I own in the future is like this one

Faults:

Some type of bracket by the wheel rusted and cracked. Cost about $300 to fix. Other than that, just regular maintenance.

General Comments:

After 125000 miles, I was waiting for something to go wrong. I bought a new car because the clutch was going and I didn't want to make the investment to fix it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th May, 2001

1992 Ford Ranger STX 4.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 4.0 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired115000 miles
Most recent distance126000 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

If you shop for the right deal, they are well worth it

Faults:

I haven't had to fix anything on my truck, I bought a K&N airfilter and it has improved performance a lot. It's got lots of horsepower and hasn't started knocking or burning oil.

General Comments:

I've taken this truck for some serious off roading and haven't been let down yet.

On the highway or freeway, it gets excellent mileage and handles very well. The 4.0 litre puts out plenty of horsepower for towing and also cruising. I've pulled my girlfriend's '76 Chevy 3/4 ton and it handles it with ease.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th December, 2000

1992 Ford Ranger XLT 2.8 Litre from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.8 Litre Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 miles
Most recent distance143000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cheyenne

Summary:

We have been extremely pleased with the reliability of this vehicle

Faults:

At about 120,000 miles, we had to replace the transmission. This is the only major item we have had to replace since we have owned this vehicle. It now needs a new clutch. This will be the first time we have had to replace it. Other than this we have only had to replace minor things such as air filter, belts, etc. You can just now tell it's getting several miles on it with its rattles and other unidentified noises.

General Comments:

I drive this vehicle every day back and forth to work and until about 3 months ago it was driven about everywhere we went. We live in the country where there are many dirt roads, one of which we live on. This truck has had constant rough terrain to travel on.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th August, 2000

1st Jan 2001, 18:49

I bought a Ford Ranger new in 1991, up to this year all I have done was put a timing belt on it, there has been the little expected things like light bulbs etc.

The truck I bought has 150,000 miles on it and they are hard miles. I use it on the farm every day and I have put tool boxes all the way around the bed so it is pulling extra weight. As of right now I am rebuilding the motor due to a small knock, it was mainly from the wear.

All in all I am very pleased and the next truck that I will buy will be another Ranger. Keep up the great work Ford!!!

1992 Ford Ranger Extended Cab 4.0 gas V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 4.0 gas V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 miles
Most recent distance200000 miles

Summary:

Best car I have ever owned [since 1955].

Faults:

Air conditioner at 125,000 miles.

Universal joints at 175,000 miles.

Paint is starting to chip off.

General Comments:

This is my work car. It's not fancy but it has never let me down. Could not have asked for more trouble-free driving.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd April, 2000

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 37 reviews