1999 Ford Ranger Reviews - Page 2 of 14

1999 Ford Ranger Base 3.0 V6 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 miles
Most recent distance201000 miles

Summary:

Awesome first truck, and fun commuter car

Faults:

Well, the 4WD switch went out, the heat shield on the muffler fell off, the bracket that holds up the back part of the muffler fell off, and the muffler fell down on the floor. Now the muffler got twisted when I was hunting.

Fuel pump went out at 180,000 miles.

Engine is misfiring on 2 cylinders, and the gas mileage went down the crapper.

General Comments:

The truck is fun to drive and pretty reliable. Needs a wider wheelbase though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th November, 2010

12th Nov 2010, 21:10

I bet the gas mileage really would take a trip southward with the engine misfiring on 33 percent of its cylinders.

1999 Ford Ranger from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carPontiac Firebird

Summary:

Worth every penny!

Faults:

I have not had one thing that has gone wrong under the hood.

I have done routine oil changes.

General Comments:

There is no power. I better start going 80 at the bottom of a hill or else I will be passed by everyone.

Heater and air conditioner almost work too well. Hard to keep a comfortable temp. But I am very pleased.

Is terrible on snow or slush. While others continue at the normal speed limit, I am forced to drop considerably so I don't end in a ditch.

The clutch is fun.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th March, 2010

1999 Ford Ranger XLT Sport Stepside 2.5L from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 2.5L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance131500 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Best small truck out there

Faults:

Plastic that keeps lighter port secure broke at 127,000 miles.

Balljoints and shocks replaced at 120,000.

Needs DPFE sensor as of 114,000 miles.

Previous owner told me the shift display was broken since 40,000 miles. Took me 10 minutes to fix.

Alternator at 125,000.

Bent factory rim, but Cragar soft 8's was an excellent replacement.

Small wear hole in driver's seat.

General Comments:

I bought this truck with 70,000 miles. It's handled 2000 lbs of equipment in its bed.

Engine is slow, but very fuel efficient for a truck. I only wish that I could at least do the speed limit on hills in drive.

Very reliable, and can take all the abuse you can throw at it. Highly recommend this truck. My next truck will also be a Ranger, but I'll surely get the 4.0 V6 next time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th February, 2010

1999 Ford Ranger EXT 4.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 4.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 miles
Most recent distance165000 miles

Summary:

Great truck

General Comments:

I purchased my 1999 Ford Ranger ext V6 4.0 around 6 months ago.

Last week I was worried something was going wrong with it due to not having it serviced with 165,000 miles. I have a keen ear to when things are going wrong, because it seems that all my vehicles before my truck have had major issues.

Had the Ranger looked at, biting my nails, and came to find out the only major thing that was wrong with it is the previous owner had put different tires on it that had a 3/4 inch difference.

This was the best vehicle purchase I have ever made, and I would purchase from Ford again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th June, 2009

1999 Ford Ranger XLT 3.0 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired135000 miles
Most recent distance168000 miles
Previous carNissan Frontier

Summary:

It's a bad truck

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Other than it not being 4x4, it's the best truck I ever had.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th June, 2009

1999 Ford Ranger XLT Sport 2.5L 4 banger from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.5L 4 banger Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired57000 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles

Summary:

An excellent truck. Highly recommended

Faults:

I have had few issues other than my paint not looking quite as pretty as it used to.

ALSO my auto shifter knob is mis-aligned so that N is reverse and 2 is drive. It's been like that since I bought the truck; hasn't ever been a problem.

General Comments:

This little truck is quick on acceleration and drives like a car.

This truck has had no mechanical issues, and has been serviced regularly.

I have driven across the country, and the gas tank will go for over 300 miles. Driving from San Diego to Yuma costs 8 dollars

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th May, 2009

1999 Ford Ranger XLT 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.0 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance111000 miles

Summary:

This is the best truck I have ever had

Faults:

Nothing really happened with this truck. All I had to really change was the serpentine belt.

General Comments:

This is a reliable truck that is easy to handle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th May, 2009

1999 Ford Ranger Sport Stepside Reg Cab 2.5 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance389548 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

My baby

Faults:

Nothing really considering how many miles I have put on this truck, as I have to drive very long distances for work, and I am always on the road.

This truck has made it through some rough weather, including back window being broken and minor water damage from Katrina.

Still has:

Original engine.

Original brakes.

Original tranny etc.

All I have swapped were tires.

General Comments:

The best vehicle I have ever owned. It still rides like brand new when the vast majority of cars would have been history 200000 miles ago.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th April, 2009

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 60 reviews