1999 Ford Ranger Reviews - Page 9 of 14

1999 Ford Ranger XLT 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 3.0 Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance62000 miles
Previous carFord Probe

Summary:

Long term costs for this vehicle are too expensive

Faults:

Lower Ball Joints were changed at 30,000 miles

Upper Ball Joints were changed at 60,000 miles

Pinion seal and rear end bearings replaced at 60,000 miles

Oil pressure sensor went bad at 50,000 miles.

General Comments:

This vehicle is competent for a truck, and gas mileage is acceptable, however maintenance and repair costs are too excessive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th July, 2004

9th Jun 2006, 14:34

Sounds like an abused truck to me.

10th Jun 2006, 16:43

My 1999 Ford Ranger is a good truck except as stated above cost too much for maintenance. I bought it with 34,000 miles on it along with a 6 year, 100,000 mile warranty.

And the gas mileage is terrible. Has the 3.9 V-6 engine to boot! Since I have had it have had to do these things; A/C compressor went out at 45,000, $1200.00 ; Oil pan gasket had to be replaced at 52,000, $900.00 ; Overhead lites stayed on even when doors are shut, on and off since 40,000, had those fixed at 55,000, $150.00 ; tranny started acting up, kicking in and out of low at 70,000, $600.00; Now the front end has something wrong with it, feels really loose over rough or uneven roads. Thank God I got the warranty!

1999 Ford Ranger XLT 4.0L OHV from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.0L OHV Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired46000 kilometres
Most recent distance156000 kilometres
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

A long time friend!

Faults:

Adjustable lumbar support like to break when you push back too hard. ie: adjusting yourself in the seat.

A few bulbs have gone out in the instrument cluster and climate control head.

Two lower and one upper ball joint developed some play after 100000km (not bad) especially for what I put it through.

The 4.0L is notorious for sticking thermostats (open or closed). Have replaced it every 50000km with cooling system flush.

A belt squeal developed at 140000km which was close to impossible to get rid of until I replaced the water pump pulley. That solved the problem for good.

General Comments:

I am a tech at Ford so generally speaking I would have to say that the Ranger is probably one of Ford's more reliable vehicles. They are hardly in the shop for repair, just mostly maintenance. My truck has been extraordinarily great for me and I really have no complaints about it. I have enjoyed driving it for 156000km and I know I will enjoy getting a lot more than that out of it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th May, 2004

25th Feb 2005, 08:08

I have a 1999 ford ranger and something is wrong up front I'm guessing upper and lower ball joints maybe. But other than a replacement of water pump at 60,000 miles truck runs great.

1999 Ford Ranger XLT 3.0 flex fuel from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 flex fuel Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired81 kilometres
Most recent distance28000 kilometres
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

Needs more quality control

Faults:

At 20,000 miles, rotors were very pitted and rusted. At a little over 20,000 miles the lower ball joint was bad. At about 18,000 miles the rear brake spring broke causing a freeze of the tire. There was also a sensor for the fuel that went bad at about 10,000 miles. The sensor caused a loud tap noise, like low octane knock. And last, at 27,000 miles, there was rusting at the bottom/inside of both doors at the seams. Also rust on the inside of the tailgate at the seam.

General Comments:

It is a good vehicle, but has had a few problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd May, 2004

1999 Ford Ranger XLT Stepside 3.0L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired66000 miles
Most recent distance67000 miles
Previous carDodge Neon

Summary:

A great little truck

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong. Ever.

General Comments:

This is a great little truck, comfortable and able to tow with ease.

Good looks with the step side bed, and the built in cleats are a blessing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th April, 2004

1999 Ford Ranger XLT 4.0 6 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.0 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance41000 miles
Previous carNissan Altima

Summary:

Best bang for your dollar

Faults:

Windshield wiper motor faulty (replaced under recall).

General Comments:

This is an outstanding vehicle. I went to the dealer and special ordered my truck with every option that Ford offered in the Ranger. I am now on year five with my truck. The only knock against it is that the gas mileage is poor. Granted the truck is a 4x4, but I'm filling it up once a week (approx 250 miles). I burn just under a quarter a tank per day. Outside of the gas mileage, I'll have the truck at least another five years if not ten. The truck is still in mint condition and is often mistaken for new by people who see it. I've owned just about every make of vehicle and wouldn't trade my truck for any of them. I have a friend who bought a fully loaded Toyota SR5 at the same time. He paid approx $4k more than I did and has less in his truck than I have in mine. Most notable is the four door option.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st January, 2004

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 60 reviews