1999 Ford Ranger XLT Supercab 4x4 Sport 3.0 FFV V6 from North America


One of the best overall trucks in it's class


At this point, not a lot has gone wrong with the truck.

However there is a bad clicking noise every couple of minutes.

Gas prices are eating away at my bank account also.

I am also having some problems with the power steering when the four-wheel drive is on.

I needed to put sand bags in the back even with the four-wheel drive.

General Comments:

The dealer I bought the truck at was very courteous and worked with me to get the payments in my price range.

The truck has a lot of get-up-and-go for the size.

I like the ability of being able to use Ethanol 85 instead of gas if I wanted to.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th November, 2002

1999 Ford Ranger from North America


Not large enough and seems to be falling apart


Dome light came on by itself.

Pings on East Texas hills highways.

Seat belt constantly closed in drivers door as it doesn't retract properly.

Most recent problem is windshield wipers coming on by themselves.

General Comments:

My windshield wipers turn on for no reason. Started doing this a few months ago. Gradually increasing in the number and length of times they came on.

Is this something that was recalled by Ford and I missed it? How much did it cost you to have the problem fixed?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th July, 2002

1999 Ford Ranger XLT Extended Cab 4 Door 3.0/6 cylinder from North America


The best bargain out of the semi small trucks!


All works fine. Back end hops on tight bumps. Lots of power and all systems work fine. Aced the Firestone tires.

General Comments:

A beautiful truck to look at. I love the grille on the high end 99 models!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th June, 2002

1999 Ford Ranger XLT 3.0 Flex Fuel from North America


Typical Ford


Power window motor broke at 20,000 miles.

Windshield wipers turn on for no reason.

Engine "pings" terribly if I do not use 93 octane gasoline.

Brakes squeak from the day I bought it.

General Comments:

Power window motor and attenuator had to be replaced. It took the dealer 5 days to get the parts in from Ford Motor Co. I still occasionally hear a clicking noise coming from my door (possibly the attenuator is bad again?)

Windshield wiper situation was resolved by a recall (it took two trips to the dealer to get it done correctly).

The dealer told me the computer is not properly set and therefore I have two options for the pinging problem.

1. Only run 93 octane gas or

2. They can reprogram the computer, but then I will lose a substantial amount of horsepower.

The brakes are an unresolved issue. The dealer says the rotors and linings are fine. They said that dirt may be causing the problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd November, 2001

4th Sep 2002, 14:53

I had the same computer problem. Ford apparently issued a bulletin on it. I had to replace the computer, which was free, but had to pay for the labor since the truck was out of warranty.

My brakes squeak too. No real reason. The dirt thing is as good a reason as any.

1999 Ford Ranger Extended Cab XLT 3.0 V6 from North America


A very forgiving truck for a teen who treats it worse than a riding mower


The Windshield wipers went haywire after I finished offroading. But later learned it was then recalled.

The Wilderness AT tire in the rear has 6 plugs in it right now and I'm wondering how many more it can take.

The drivers side electronics have gone out for some reason.

General Comments:

This truck has the toughest coat of paint I've ever seen. It's been through rocks, thorns, tree branches and other items.

Right from the factory the 4x4 system really kicks, I've beaten every other stock compact truck off road. Also the shocks and suspension on it are amazing.

The seats are very comfortable, except when passed out drunk in the drivers seat. My legs hit the firewall.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st June, 2001

23rd Jun 2001, 14:43

I to feel this truck can use a little more leg room.

16th Sep 2002, 03:20

I to bought a 99 ford ranger. It's a super cab 4x4 and has the v-6 3.0. Now when I first purchased it, I purchased it used by the way, 15 minutes into driving my first real vechile that I purchased the check engine light goes on. I was devistated. They determined it was a pin size hole in the hose leading to the gas tank. Not only did I work hard for the money to purchase the vechile, but I gave up my trusty truck as a trade in. Well the next day after about 5 hours. I was told that the truck was mine, I signed the contract they said. But take in my mind I had not yet given the money down I said I would nor the title to my trade. Well they then said if needed they would call the police and escort me off the lot with my truck. Well I notice things here and there. I think it was in a wreck, badly done spot jobs on scrathes, the driver's side door is badly aligned, the ash tray is burnt, and etc. Well even after the big money down and trade in, I still owe on the vechile for the next 4 years. Well I learned a lot from my first experience. I figure bad or good, its my truck and little by little I'm fixing it up and yes one day what goes around comes around. Would I buy ford again... nah because I have truck and I'll fix it up like I want it.

1999 Ford Ranger XLT 3.0 V6 from North America




Cam sensor failed at 41K.

Drive sensor failed at 43K.

Wipers came on spontaneously since 40K.

Dealership can't get the vehicle to run without pinging.

General Comments:

Terrible quality.

Dealership struggles to diagnose any problem that isn't revealed by a computer code.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th May, 2001

26th Jun 2001, 08:08

Well, I have a 2000 XLT V6 Automatic. (Thank God I bought the 5 yr warranty!!) And I have owned it for one year now and currently I am experiencing one of your symptoms... the pinging and I was told that that is the oil draining back into the oil pan... whatever that means... Also, I have had the worst smell coming out of the AC, Air, Heating Unit... the truck is at the dealership today for the second time... the first time they ran a deodorant through I think??... that's what they told me however I found absolutely no difference... And with the humid weather lately I want to gag evertime I put the AC on... have you had any of these problems???

1999 Ford Ranger XLT Extended Cab from North America


Ranger trucks with 6cyl... they're great trucks!


Only complaint so far is the tire blow out on I-480... tread peeled right off. This occurred before any of the recalls for the Firestone tires started... Ford and Firestone still say our tire is not effected by the recall????... tread peeled off / wrapped around the axle...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th September, 2000