2002 Ford Ranger Reviews - Page 10 of 14

2002 Ford Ranger EDGE 3.0L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0L V6 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired7000 miles
Most recent distance21000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Decent truck.

Faults:

Currently, I have a hell of a time shifting into 1st gear as well as reverse when at a stand-still. This began happening around 18-19,000 miles. Annoying as all hell and I need to push ridiculously hard to get it into either gear. Also, clicks and uncomfortable metal on metal noises when shifting out of 4th.

General Comments:

I love driving the truck, but the transmission leaves a lot to be desired. It has enough power for city driving, but it certainly doesn't like hills too much. Have previously owned cars with a lot of torque and this truck makes me miss them. All in all, decent truck, but I am certainly not a "Ford only" kind of guy. I will certainly be looking at Chevys when I'm in the market again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th July, 2004

14th Sep 2004, 17:53

First, I assume that since the truck had 7000 miles on it when you acquired it, you either got it used or it had a lot of miles from the dealer. Being a manual, you must be careful when getting a new vehicle with that many miles on it. Take into account that everyone does not have skills with a clutch. Either the previous owner or whoever drove it at the dealership (salesmen and customers alike) may have caused this problem. Secondly, going from a small car to a truck, you have to expect to lose some of that zip. Think how much further off the ground a truck is, especially the Edge which is tall for a Ranger anyway. This causes a lot of drag. In combination with the stronger suspension and towing additions in the Edge particularly, this greatly lowers your jump off the line. I know from experience, myself recently going from a small car to the Edge. If you are looking for some extra zip from your truck, you may consider adding a short ram intake and exhaust system. It will also help improve your gas mileage by a few miles per gallon. However, if you are looking for something to zip around town in, you may consider going back to a car.

15th Nov 2004, 10:20

Don't add the exhaust unless you're ready for a headache everytime you turn the ignition on. In general, the ranger isn't a great truck, as I've inherited 2. You may want to consider an alternative. Ford trans. among many thing s are the poorest quality on the market, especially in comparison to its competitors.

12th Apr 2005, 03:19

I dunno about yours, but the Ford Ranger I was looking at on the lot said it had a transmission built in FRANCE. go figure.

17th May 2012, 16:07

We have to bleed the clutch to let the air bubbles out.

2002 Ford Ranger from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance21000 miles
Previous carToyota Tercel

Summary:

I love it, but I want more from it

Faults:

The back end of the truck is slightly crooked. This was noticed about a month after buying the truck. We brought it to the dealer's attention. He put it in the body shop and they told us that we had mistreated the truck and that it was our fault.

The door ajar light nows says that the door is always ajar. The interior lights stays on to tell us when the door is "open" and goes off after a few minutes.

The box liner is now peeling up on both sides. These were replaced, but are now doing it again.

The 6 disc-in dash stereo stops working during long distance drives. It was replaced, but still stops on long distance drives.

General Comments:

This truck has been my baby since we bought it. I love the truck, but there are some things that I would change in a heartbeat. This truck looks cool, but, for the price we paid, I expected a lot more.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd May, 2004

2002 Ford Ranger Edge Supercab 3.0L from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0L Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance80000 kilometres
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

Needs a band aid!

Faults:

Transmission has been a problem since 5000km. Truck would loose power while driving. Ford replaced servo cover and refilled with fluid.

Transmission broke again at 35000km. Again it was the servo cover. Ford repaired and filled it up with fluid.

Now after complaining about hard shifting since the first repair, Ford has finally replaced the transmission. The only problem is that the warranty is up. The service adviser told me he could get Ford to pay 75% but I still argue that this was a problem since 5000km.

Brakes went at 30000km and again at 70000km. I had to replace the rotors drums and pads each time!

I was told this is normal.

There were a number of smaller quality issues like knobs breaking, belt housing falling off (molding at the bottom of the driver's door window), tailgate is not aligned when closed and Ford cannot get it right and several mysterious noises from the underside of the truck.

General Comments:

Ford customer service is horrible.

Both the dealer and corporate policies are not customer oriented.

They claim that the customer is important, but I think profit is more important to them.

I will never buy Ford again!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th March, 2004

26th May 2006, 13:30

As a mechanic, I cringe when I read of people having to replace brake pads at ridiculously short intervals. If a car (ANY CAR) is driven properly no maintenance should be required on the brakes before 60,000 to 100,000 miles. I've owned cars and trucks from all of the "big three", plus one German and one Japanese car. I never, EVER had to replace the brake pads in any of them before 80,000 miles. One Chrysler product I owned had only two brake lining replacements in 240,000 miles. It has been my experience that people who go through brake linings quickly tend to tail-gate and constantly ride the brakes. There is simply no other way you can wear out a set of brake linings on ANY modern vehicle in 30,000 miles...PERIOD.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 48 reviews