2002 Ford Ranger Reviews - Page 9 of 14

2002 Ford Ranger XLT 2.5TD from UK and Ireland

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.5TD Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance42500 miles
Previous carToyota Hi-lux

Summary:

Looks good, but is nothing but a problem

Faults:

Strange whistling noise from under the bonnet at 2300RPM upward. The dealer has fitted 2 replacement turbo's, reconditioned fuel injection pump, new viscous fan coupling, and lots of other parts fitted to try to fix the problem. The dealer has admitted that there is a loud noise from the engine, but cannot find out what it is. Ford have now told me that they will not be allowing the dealer to do anymore work on the vehicle under warranty, and that the noise happens in all Rangers.

Rear diff has clonked from new, and have been told by the dealer that they will not fix it until it actually breaks.

General Comments:

The dealer has had the vehicle for a total of over 5 weeks, and I have driven other Rangers and none of them make this noise.

I am totally disgusted with the way this has been dealt with by Ford Motor Co.

I will not buy another Ford in the future.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st October, 2004

31st Oct 2004, 14:45

I have got a ford ranger pickup truckmyself. and they are nothing, but trouble, I had it break down the road several time. Had to get it tow in too. so I am gonna get rid of it and get me a Chevrolet truck or dodge one. no more ford for me.

2002 Ford Ranger FX4 4.0 SOHC from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.0 SOHC Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance39500 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

Nice looking and good power in a comfortable riding truck at a competitive price

Faults:

Rear axle (torsion differential) - Replaced on recall.

Clutch master cylinder - Replaced under warranty.

Transfer case - replaced under warranty.

Horns - Replaced under warranty.

Air conditioner relay - Replaced under warranty assist after warranty expired.

General Comments:

Even with the problems I had with it, I love this truck. It has enough power to tow my race car all over the country. I am very comfortable in the cab and it rides fairly well.

It is competent off-road and has served me well in some rough terrain.

The gas mileage is not great, but comparable my last Ranger with the 2.9L engine. I would not want to sacrifice power to get better gas mileage.

I expect the durability of this truck to be very well now that the initial problems are resolved. I got almost 200,000 miles out of my last Ranger and sold it in good condition to a friend that knows the truck well. I plan on putting 300,000 miles on this truck before selling it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th October, 2004

2002 Ford Ranger XLT V6 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired22 miles
Most recent distance24615 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

Great

Faults:

The "door ajar" lights stays on constantly.

The A/C makes a rattling noise at times.

Hard to shift into gear at times.

General Comments:

I am a second time buyer of a Ford Ranger, my first was a 1991 and I had only minimal problems with it. My 2002 runs like a dream and I have not had issues with it, it has a smooth ride and great get up and go and power up hills and when passing other cars, it also gains speed quickly. I enjoy driving it and would recommend a Ranger to anyone, I can overlook the small quirks with the A/C, gears and lights. It is a great pick up and mode of transportation.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th October, 2004

18th Oct 2004, 13:22

I have a 2002 ford ranger xlt. You know it is a damn good truck when your passing jeeps that are stuck, 4x4 up rough hills (with out even breaking a sweat)

10th Feb 2006, 00:28

I just bought my 2002 Ranger XLT. I'm pretty happy so far. I did have a problem with that "door ajar" light, until I figured out that the truck has 4 doors and closed there rear doors a little harder. Haven't had that problem since. I'm impressed with the 3.0L motor - out ran a Mustang at 120 mph!

2002 Ford Ranger XLT 2.3 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.3 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired1 miles
Most recent distance8250 miles
Previous carOldsmobile 98

Summary:

Great Truck

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Great truck "BUT" I purchased it new in August 2002. It is a 4x2 Regular cab XLT with 2.3L 4 cyl. It is a great truck and other than a Rhino spray in bed liner I have done nothing to it. The only problem I have is the rear likes to dance on rough roads, this is normal due to the lightness of the rear and it being sprung for a heavy load. The only thing I wished Ford had done was to make the limited slip rear available with the 2.3L engine. I live in Minnesota and this would be a great help in the winter snows. Other than this I believe it is a well designed and put together truck and I will be owning it for many years to come.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th September, 2004

22nd Nov 2004, 01:01

I am also puzzled as to the unavailability of the limited-slip differential on the four-cylinder Ranger. Chevy offers it on the four-cylinder S-10 and Colorado--why can't Ford?

I ended up equipping my 2002 2WD Ranger with a 3.0 V6 to get the limited-slip. Combined with the anti-lock brakes and the second-gear start feature in the automatic transmission, it's really easy to drive in the winter here in Michigan. It's never gotten stuck once. I love it!

20th Nov 2006, 20:49

It does bounce an awful lot. The supercabs are even worse. Wonder if a heavier toneau cover would help.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 48 reviews