2002 Ford Ranger Reviews - Page 5 of 14

2002 Ford Ranger Edge 4X4 4.0 V6 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance16000 miles
Previous carFord Crown Victoria

Faults:

Serpentine belt had chunks coming off of it at 8k miles. Dealer replacement belt squeaks.

Rear brake shoe lining came off and ruined brake drum at 11k miles. Both drums and linings replaced.

Front brake rotors warped at 13k miles. Replaced rotors and pads.

ABS system failure at 15k miles, ABS kept coming on all the time when braking. Took to dealer twice and not corrected. Pulled fuse to deactivate ABS.

Passenger door never wants to latch unless door is slammed hard. Driver's side door sheet metal lines up poorly.

General Comments:

It is a nice looking truck and the 4.0 has good performance, but crummy gas mileage to boot. WAY too many problems with the brakes considering the low mileage and that I do not drive hard or brake heavily. Poor fit of the doors on the truck. Truck is nicely equipped, but I'm disappointed with the quality for what was a $24k truck. I'll keep it another year until paid off then sell it and probably get a Toyota truck, I'm getting nervous with all the transmission problems I'm hearing about on these Rangers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th October, 2006

7th Dec 2007, 13:27

I agree with the individual, the truck is the first and last Ford that I'll buy. The truck doesn't compare to other manufactures and the turn signals are terrible. Also, customer service was very poor when I initially purchased the vehicle. Gas mileage has always been fair, when will the truck manufactures realize that trucks need better fuel economy. Just look at the new VW diesel that will be sold in 2008, with a 40MPG rating. Trucks need to use this technology in their trucks.

2002 Ford Ranger XLT 4.0L V6 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.0L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired1600 miles
Most recent distance28300 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

Probably wouldn't do it again

Faults:

Transmission failure at 28,000 miles.

Doors don't seal well, have not since it was new.

General Comments:

Comfortable ride, but the seats are not as comfortable as other vehicles I have driven.

Can be a little weak at time and slow to react for acceleration.

Nice selection (XLT package) of options make this a nice truck.

Gas mileage never changes, always 19mpg, city/highway, pre & Post K&N filter, synthetic oil, premium fuel.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th November, 2005

22nd Nov 2005, 12:43

If you use premium fuel in your Ranger you are wasting your money. Read the owner's manual--the use of anything, but what is recommended for the truck (87 octane) provides little to no benefit.

This truck will do just as well on regular gas.

2002 Ford Ranger XLT 3.0 V6 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired9000 miles
Most recent distance22000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

Great Truck

Faults:

So far nothing has gone wrong with the truck. I work it very hard at times and it performs to the best. I bought it in Jan of 05 with 9000 miles on it and now it being Aug of 2005 I have almost 23000 miles on it. The truck is a true work horse. There is a bit of a howling sound that comes from the back end I took it to my dealership and they said that most Rangers will make this sound. I have a long bed regular cab so it is not hard to catch the noise of the moving parts under the truck, it is a truck not a town car.

General Comments:

The truck is great.

I love it and I am planning on buying another when the time comes.

Best truck I have ever had.

Ford has been great to deal with.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th August, 2005

6th Mar 2006, 11:41

I just bought a 2002 Ranger in 2005 with 53500 miles on it. As of right now in March of 2006, there is 80100 miles on it. I have not had one problem with it, has a lift kit, though I do baby the thing when it comes to maintenance. I always do oil changes and constant tune ups to keep her going! Great truck though!

2002 Ford Ranger Edge 3.0L from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0L Don't Know
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance33000 miles
Previous carMazda RX7

Summary:

Good price, extreme poor service

Faults:

First noticed the clutch paddle would have lots of play after about 8,000 miles. Dealer could not figure out why. This problem comes and goes during weather changing cold to hot. During my last service (30,000 miles) they suggested that I change the master cylinder to correct the problem. Of course my truck is out of warranty. Cost 300.00+

During the same is service, which took them two full days to perform with a appointment minus the oil change (I do my own), they failed to notify me until I went to pick up my truck that someone had broken the clip of the fuel line on the fuel filter. Of course, they blame the problem on the previous service place (Firestone ). Cost of fixing it 852.78! So looks like I drove 15,000 miles with a loose pressurized fuel line.

General Comments:

I went back to Firestone and of course they denied causing the problem, but would fix it for 553.00.

I am left holding the bag. I plan on filing complains for both shops. I will do my own service as it looks like I could do as good as a job them

.

I will never buy a ford again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th July, 2005

22nd Oct 2005, 20:41

Hello, I have shared many of the same problems with dealers and other mechanics shops as you. But I saw that your previous car was a Mazda, and I also saw that you would never buy a Ford again. Just thought I would point out that Mazda vehicles are produced and owned by Ford Motor Company. Cheers!

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 48 reviews