2002 Ford Ranger Reviews - Page 14 of 14

2002 Ford Ranger Edge 3.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance16000 miles
Previous carAcura Integra

Summary:

Me heart ford

Faults:

Power window wiring problems-dealer fixed with much debating.

Handle on passenger door came loose and fell off at 10,000 miles.

General Comments:

I love this truck... It is small and handles well! Love the interior and exterior... The scoop hood is a very nice touch... Me HEART Ford.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th October, 2002

2002 Ford Ranger XLT 2.3 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.3 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance12500 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Best value on the auto market today!

Faults:

Absolutely Nothing!

General Comments:

I am overjoyed with this truck! Sure it could use more power, but is great for a 2.3. The trans grinds too easily, but has gotten better with time (remembering this IS a truck and tall stick shifting isn't always sports-car-smooth). Build quality, reliability and the stereo have been more than expected. This is the best valued vehicle on the market today!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th October, 2002

2002 Ford Ranger Edge 3.0L from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0L Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired1547 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Phoenix

Summary:

Everyday driver

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong (as of yet).

Little upset at the dealer that they didn't remove the shipping wax properly and I spent 35$ removing it myself!

Shipping wax = when you wash your new vehicle and dry it.. then run your fingers along the paint, and it should be smooth like a baby's bum... not rough! that's shipping wax!

General Comments:

I was always a car man, But when I first seen the New Ford Ranger Edge, I had to have it!

The 3.0L 6 is a lil noisy when you give her, but it has enough power for me.

I use to own a 305 Carburated motor in my car, and was expecting a lot better gas mileage on my Ranger, but still haven't noticed any??

The stereo sounds good.. have never had to go above half on the sound scale. Interior is super easy to clean, lots of room under the hood for changing plugs, oil, etc.

I love the way the front looks, scoop hood, fog lamps, looks real mean.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th July, 2002

2002 Ford Ranger Edge 4.0L V6 SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.0L V6 SOHC Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired17 miles
Most recent distance360 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Tough little package

Faults:

Nothing at all.

General Comments:

I love the rubber flooring, makes cleaning wonderfully easy.

The 4x4 with 4.10 gears from the factory makes trailing really easy, and I do a lot of trailing for photography.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th July, 2002

2002 Ford Ranger Edge 3.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired28 miles
Most recent distance1332 miles
Previous carToyota Tercel

Summary:

A sharp looking performer

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong as of late.

General Comments:

In my opinion, the '02 Ranger Edge is an extremely sharp looking truck. Everything about its appearance and performance has exceeded my expectations.

However, I believe that there should be more after-market parts in the way of performance and cosmetics.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th July, 2002

18th May 2004, 11:15

I am a not so proud of a 2002 Ford Ranger Edge. Sure it looks sharp, but is unreliable. New Transmission, New Drive Shaft, New DPS, new speakers three times and still don't work, new cab mounts, new CD player, front end shimmies not fixed to date, interior cab rattles, not fixed to date. Doors had to be rehung.

This all from a 2002 Ford Ranger Edge, that currently has 20500km on it after a year and a half owning it. It spends more time in the shop than it does in my yard.

16th Jul 2004, 23:39

If you live outside the states, there is a possibility that you're new Ford truck was a salvaged vehicle deported outside the states.

12th May 2005, 11:02

You are right about the after market parts. I can't seem to find much in the way of performance enhancing parts and I work in a parts store!

As far as the vehicle itself, its great. I've had mine for three years now and still love it. Sure, theres rattles and stuff, but you get that with any vehicle. I am looking for new wheels though, I just have the steel painted wheels.

21st Apr 2007, 20:44

This is the most durable truck I ever owned. I off road constantly, go over the limit on weight hauling, and over all I am hard on the truck. The only problem I had in the three years I've had it was the air bags deployed when going into a mud pit. I never had to take it in besides oil changes and brake work. Your general maintenance. Not once let me down. Remember looks are not that important (its off road more than on).

2002 Ford Ranger XLT 4x4 Off Road 4-Door V-6 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission V-6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired11 miles
Most recent distance1100 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

Good for now, but 4+ years will be the test!

Faults:

Nothing. It is a brand new vehicle.

General Comments:

Purchased this vehicle solely because of the X-plan discount price afforded as part of a fleet program incentive.

If it had been a MSRP-type purchase, I would have gotten a Toyota Tacoma or Nissan Frontier (if the looks don't scare you off), or even the cheaper-but-just-as-practical Mazda B4000.

This is my 4th American built truck in my life, but they seem to do OK for the first three years, then fall apart like no one's business. Prove me wrong Ford.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th January, 2002

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 48 reviews