1999 Ford Taurus SE 3.0 from North America

Summary:

Don't buy one!

Faults:

I have owned a 1999 Taurus for six years. The newest problem is the heater. It just stopped working. It throws cold air most of the time. Air conditioner goes on and off at will even though the a/c is turned off.

I would never recommend Fords to my friends. Too many small problems that nickel and dime you too death. I do most of my mechanical work and even the professional mechanics are at a loss with the heater problems on the 1999 Taurus.

General Comments:

Interior seating is cramped. Electric seats on driver side won't work. Lack of power especially when passing with the 3.0 engine. Poor gas mileage, it will pass everything except a gas station. Hard to get in and out of car. Leaves collect under the windshield (hard to keep clean). I like the lines and the paint color. Brakes are another story, Constant replace rotors and front disc pads.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th December, 2007

12th Dec 2007, 17:44

So you drove this car for six years, over 100,000 miles. Sounds like a reliable car to me. You didn't say anything that leads me to believe this is a bad vehicle. All the stated problems are there, but don't seem to be major. Possibly more detail is needed, but I'm just going by the review.

13th Dec 2007, 12:54

When people complain about poor gas mileage AND prematurely worn brakes, it tells me that they drive the car too hard and make it break down. My family has a '97 Mercury Sable with the 3.0 Liter, and it runs great and gets just under 30 mpg, and they have never had a brake job despite the car approaching 180,000 miles. The difference can only be the driver.

1999 Ford Taurus SE 3.0 from North America

Summary:

Pretty good car with minimal problems, we'll miss it!

Faults:

The fuel pump was an initial problem on the car. After about 8 years the rear springs/struts needed to be replaced. Otherwise regular maintenance protected the car from additional problems.

General Comments:

The SE is fast. Exterior still shines like new. No exterior rust after 9 years. Air works great. Comfortable interior. Leather held up well. Never a problem with the electrical system. SE sound system worked well. Speakers mounted on doors at dash level make the sound crystal clear. Moonroof large and never leaked.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st October, 2007

1999 Ford Taurus SE from North America

Summary:

It's been generally reliable for me

Faults:

Basic wear and tear (brakes)...only replaced once since I've purchased the car.

Serpentine belt (don't remember the mileage at the time)

Worn radiator hose (99,000 miles)

Wheel bearing (100,900 miles)

Dome light issue (remains on all the time)

General Comments:

I guess I've been lucky with this vehicle; almost all just basic wear and tear things. I was glad to read about the dome light fix (WD 40). I am very careful with my car and don't drive it "hard".

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th October, 2007

1999 Ford Taurus from North America

Summary:

Ford!

Faults:

Got it used with less than 130k, sounds and runs great other than a clunk in the steering. Also the heater core is getting a bit clogged, but still halfway works.

General Comments:

Good all around every day driver, family sedan, decent milleage. Hopefully with little effort to keep it that way. Very comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th October, 2007

1999 Ford Taurus SE 3.0 V6 from North America

Summary:

Okay, but starting to be a pain in my side

Faults:

WE had the alternator replaced last year and of course it failed 1 month after the warranty had expired. Up until this point we didn't have to do any repairs other than regular upkeep.

Now we replaced the alternator for the second time and less than ONE WEEK later the power steering failed. Strange how the alternator sits on top of the power steering, but it must just be a coincidence.

It now is currently in the shop with that hopefully being not too major, but the technician did say that with the way the fluid looked it may be the rack-in pinion steering. Now THAT is not going to sit well with my finances.

After the tune up that they are also doing... we will have spent almost $1000.00 on a car on still have over $4000.00 yet to pay on. I'm hoping this is the end of the repairs until I have it paid off.

Another big gripe on this car is the door/window seals. I cannot go through the car wash without have literally a rain shower drench my left leg. I go down the freeway and the wind howling through the seals is almost deafening. I hope to get this fixed before winter, but the all the other recent repairs, I'm holding off.

General Comments:

I love how it drives and it is pretty comfortable. With 2 small children its very economical and easy to cart everyone around.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th September, 2007

20th Sep 2007, 21:15

The problem with the door seals might indicate a previous accident if you purchased this car used. But to fix it all you do is go to a junkyard, pull 4 door seals, and slip the new ones into place on your car.