1999 Ford Taurus from North America


Heater stopped working. Would get hot for a few seconds, then cool off.

A solution found after several wrong efforts.

New water pump - wrong!!!

New thermostat - wrong!!!

Temperature control motor under the dash - wrong!!!

Correct answer!!! Stopped up heater coil. Pinched off bypass hose with c-clamp next to fire wall to start flush attempt. Took hose loose at water pump and at thermostat. Flushed with garden water hose back and forth several times. Big time rust came out from the engine casting. Yeah!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd December, 2006

1999 Ford Taurus SE 6 from North America


Won't buy another one


Between the door-ajar and dome light, no heat and poor gas mileage, all the same. Can't defrost anything in cold weather. Is this another Edsel???

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th November, 2006

2nd Dec 2006, 06:56

This friggen review is an "Edsel". If your going to write a review, by all means feel free to make it longer then one sentence, and mention the good along with the bad, or don't bother. More information than a single SENTENCE for god's sakes. How long have you owned it? What's it gonna cost to fix it? What's the ride like? Theres a place for one-liners and angry venting, that's the "comments" section like I'm doing now.

3rd Jan 2007, 14:54

Trust me on this one, when things start to go wrong it never stops particularly with this model. I bought my 1999 Taurus SE with 68K mile on it used 2.5 years ago. I loved it for almost 4 months. In the first year above normal maintenance I spent $400 on repairs. In the second year, I spent about $2000 and in the last 6 months I've had estimates of at least another $2000+. The mechanics agree that it's not worth sinking anymore into this car with a roomy interior/trunk and not much else.

1999 Ford Taurus SE 3.0 from North America


Buy anything, but a Ford Taurus


When I first got the car, The heat was not working so good. I checked all the normal things, water pump replaced that. Checked the Heater core, Replaced that and checked the hoses and connectors, replaced ALL those at a whopping cost of over $700 for everything to be done. It worked fine for 6 months then the heat started to go again. Now There is a coolant leak, but it isn't coming out from the engine, I have gone through 20 gallons of coolant in over a month and its not going anywhere, but INTO the engine. I called Ford and they basically suggested that I take the car into their repair shop and spend $1250 to replace a headgasket, the coolant resovoir and the hoses that go to and from the radiator. I regret spending the money I did on this car because with all the repairs and trouble I have had with it, I could have bought something else.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th October, 2006

1999 Ford Taurus from North America


I will NEVER buy a Ford car again


69k heater coil had to be replaced.

70k SES light comes on and goes off at irregular intervals.

74k fan only works on high.

80k dome light comes on and stays on for a few hours.

82k the power locks don't work.

85k freeze plug disintegrates.

85k SES light comes on and stays on, low pressure on #5 perhaps.

85k The dome light bulb has been removed because it never goes out.

86k replace battery and black lead to the battery.

87k windshield wipers go off for no reason.

88k groans when I turn.

General Comments:

A lot of electrical problems and others that should not occur on such a low mileage car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th October, 2006

29th Nov 2006, 09:15

I now have to add that the power steering is leaking from the rack and pinion. That's another $750 to fix. I just keep adding in fluid until I can get rid of this $$$$ lemon. My next car will be a Toyota Corolla.

5th Dec 2006, 15:48

Wow, It's not just me! I just bought a 1999 Ford Taurus in November and I was beginning to believe that my car had a poltergeist. My car also has a multitude of odd electrical problems. In the first two weeks I bought it, I had to take it to be repaired 5 times! Now, it is driving me crazy with new and unusual quirks daily. The latest and greatest? For some reason the drivers side door sometimes will not close and latch... very dangerous. I cannot drive with the door open. Sometimes my power locks work, sometimes not. Plus a whole bunch of random quirks. The worst part is that the car I owned prior to this had no problems at all. I thought I was trading up, but I should have kept my 1995 Geo Metro---at least everything worked... no poltergeist. I will never ever ever buy a FORD again. My next vehicle will be Japanese!!