1999 Ford Taurus Reviews - Page 18 of 42

1999 Ford Taurus SE V6 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Silverado

Summary:

Good car

Faults:

We have been driving our Taurus no stop for the year and 1/2 that we have had it, and have had no complaints except the wipers having a mind of their own, until last week.

I was going down the highway at 70 mph, when I realized the car was slowing down. Pulled to the side of the road and turned the car off. Started back up with no problem until I shifted into Drive. The car did not move. Had to have it towed in, still waiting for the answer to what happened. Can't seem to find a transmission shop that wants to work on FORD transmissions.

General Comments:

The car has been very reliable until now...

Plan to fix the transmission and drive for a couple more years...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th July, 2006

1999 Ford Taurus SE 3.0L V6 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.0L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired108012 miles
Most recent distance111235 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

PERFECTION

Faults:

NOTHING, this is a well made car, and if cared for won't give you the slightest problem.

General Comments:

Takes bumps and bruises like if they were nothing, trust me I know, I abuse my poor car.

Quick on the line for the small motor.

Handles perfectly.

Great car for driving, that from a drag racer, so there!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd July, 2006

21st Aug 2006, 12:05

I for one own a Taurus and I guess you could call me a drag racer, considering my back bumper drags the asphalt.

1999 Ford Taurus from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired133000 miles
Most recent distance190000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Van

Summary:

My next car will be a ford

Faults:

Well the first day I got the car I changed the oil and had to replace lower ball joints.

General Comments:

This car has been a dream the only thing I had to do was replace lower ball joints.

The gas mileage is great for as big a car 20 in town 28 hwy.

A lot of get up and go compared to Lumina or Camry.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd April, 2006

1999 Ford Taurus SHO DOHC 3.4L 32 valve V8 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission DOHC 3.4L 32 valve V8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired9500 miles
Most recent distance96000 miles
Previous carDodge Durango

Summary:

This car has reliability issues, but if well maintained it is an excellent vehicle

Faults:

Transmission slips occasionally and has had several problems in the last few months.

There are occasional strange noises from the engine and elsewhere from the car, only noticeable when the car is moving very slow or not at all.

The car is very difficult to service due to the large engine.

General Comments:

The car is not a super car, but the performance is very good. It accelerates fairly quickly (0-60 in 7.5 sec - 1/4 mile in 15.5 sec), and is able to maintain a high speed easily. It also has a lot of power available at almost any speed. (max speed: 140-145)

The front seats are very comfortable, although the leather does tend to wear down. The climate control system works well.

From the drivers position all areas around the car are easily in sight with little obstruction of vision.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th February, 2006

25th Feb 2006, 16:09

I don't know why Ford would make a 3.4L V8? wouldn't it be easier to just go with a bigger V6?

6th Mar 2006, 00:01

No one said it was a cool car...?

So what's the beef?

11th Jul 2007, 13:14

The 1998 Ford Taurus Wagon SE I have is very reliable and runs great. I get regular oil changes every 3,000 miles and check my fluids every week. I bought this car used and have had it for almost 2 years now. I haven't had one problem yet. I believe the Taurus is an overall good vehicle if you treat it well.

1999 Ford Taurus SE 3.0 Liter from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.0 Liter Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired87544 miles
Most recent distance89000 miles

Summary:

The biggest waste of money I have ever seen

Faults:

First got the car with a broken mirror and replaced it for 118 dollars.

My windows quit rolling down. None work now.

Heater has gone out, Heater core suspected.

Radiator fill drains all the coolant.

Needed a new transmission filter.

General Comments:

Never buy this car. It was my first car and I just found out it's a lemon.

Car is decent for driving... nothing else...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th January, 2006

1999 Ford Taurus 3.0 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.7 / 10

Summary:

Okay

Faults:

Since brought this car from a dealership, I have had to replace the front and back brakes two months after I purchase the car. 6 months after that I had to replace the brake line in the front. Just recently My heat stop workin blowing out hot air. I put engine coolant in there, it cool down. I took the car to the shop. My heater pipes had busted, My engine check light never warned me. Until my car had shut down on the express way because it had over heated. After The pipes were fixed the gasket blew, but there is a missing link and it's something to do with the mechanic. White smoke has been blowing from my car ever since I left the shop.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th December, 2005

11th Mar 2008, 12:40

Sounds like your car blew a head gasket when it overheated. This is typical of Fords anyway and it will happen on many cars when they overheat. You are probably looking at close to $1,000 to fix this, then I would dump it.

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 149 reviews