1999 Ford Taurus Reviews - Page 17 of 42

1999 Ford Taurus LX V6 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Previous carhonda accord

Summary:

What you see is what you get

Faults:

Windshield wipers turn on for no reason. must switch on and off to get them to stay off.

Steering is not very good, and brakes are not working the greatest.

The car is jerky, especially when stopping and also when changing gears.

General Comments:

This car has been reliable so far. has over 100,000 miles. the gear shifting is really strange, the car is also very jerky. good cheap car so far, but not fun to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st September, 2006

1999 Ford Taurus SE 200 24 valve from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 200 24 valve Automatic
Distance when acquired20 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles
Previous carFord taurus

Faults:

We, too, have had the inadvertent windshield wipers on this car since day one.

Now we have some type of electrical problem. The A/C blows incredibly hot air... even when you only have the vent on. Anyone have a solution?

Timing chain had to be replaced at 95000. That was a $1500 expense.

General Comments:

Car handles great... but too many problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th August, 2006

20th Oct 2006, 06:58

Save your money and invest it in another car. Once real problems start on this vehicle, they never end.

1999 Ford Taurus from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic

Summary:

HELP

Faults:

I am having terrible electrical problems with my 1999 Ford Taurus.

The windshield wipers go on and off all by themselves which isn't too bad just every once in awhile.

My second problem which has become a major one is that my taillights work, but when I turn on the lights I do not have running lights. We put in a new switch and my husband has checked everything and nothing seems to be "bad". I am wondering if anyone else has had this problem and if you could suggest something.

By the way the car has already been through the whole new transmission deal and all that.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th August, 2006

2nd Sep 2006, 12:26

I had an incident where my vehicle just started slowing down from 50 + to near 0, and the speedometer quit altogether. After coming to a complete stop, everything went back to normal except the speedometer would not work and the check engine came on. The repair shop kept it for 2 day's and drove it more than 50 miles, and it would not do it again.

1999 Ford Taurus 3.0 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired43000 miles
Most recent distance115600 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Excellent car

General Comments:

I love this car. I have had nothing but good luck with it and I drive a lot of miles. I feel it is a safe car for me and my family.

It is very good on gas mileage 26-28 mpg.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th August, 2006

1999 Ford Taurus SE 6 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired21000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Wise buy

Faults:

We own a 1999 Ford Taurus, and as with all of our previous Fords, it has been almost perfect. We have owned 4 Escorts and 1 Escape, 2 Contours and 1 Taurus. We switched after owning true lemons - Hondas and Volkswagens. I now own a 92 Volvo (troublesome constant repairs) and my husband owns a 99 Taurus.

We have never needed even one repair on the Taurus except brakes (same with every Escort and Contour, except one Escort at 167k needed a starter).

However, my daughter just broke down (possible engine failure) and we think she put too much oil in it on her way home from college orientation 2 hours away. We feel like we may not have trade in value on it and will have to buy a new car.

General Comments:

Reliable dependble car until now 120k.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st August, 2006

1999 Ford Taurus SE 3.0 liter efi from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.0 liter efi Automatic
Distance when acquired78000 miles
Most recent distance82000 miles
Previous carBMW 528e

Summary:

The car, you mean the company. Horrible!!

Faults:

I have got a 1999 Ford Taurus SE. I received this car from my roommate, who drove back and forth to school. Maybe 12 miles round trip. Simple errands in town, San Clemente, Ca. The car was taken care of oil changes, good tires, etc. Well maintained.

All the sudden, a blown head gasket at 52,000 miles. That problem was repaired.

After the car had been driven to 75,000 miles, another blown head gasket. I get the car and rebuild the motor, 2,200.00, now the transmission is horrible, slipping.

My power steering I thought was gone, new power steering pump, evidently not the problem. Turns out my rack and pinion need to be replaced.

That's too much for a car with such few miles. On top of that, stupid mil light that is still on because only Ford has a breakout box to fix the p1309.

General Comments:

This car has too many of the same problems that Ford obviously will do nothing about, except charge you lots of money to fix, because they are the only people who have the "tool" you cannot buy to do it yourself, so the job gets done right!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th July, 2006

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 149 reviews