1999 Ford Taurus Reviews - Page 23 of 42

1999 Ford Taurus SE 3.0 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 miles
Most recent distance54000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Caprice

Summary:

Don't bother with this one

Faults:

Had the car less than a year and the front and back brakes are bad.

The front brakes have 70% life, but are too warped. the back brakes disappeared which cost $400.

The steering wheel shakes so bad when braking I have to hold on for dear life.

There is this noise coming from the back near the back tires. sounds like a tire rubbing or something.

The light switch gets super hot it kinda makes me nervous.

Some times car shifts badly and idles badly. but there are other times its so quiet you can't tell its running.

The wipers come on and off every once in a while.

Rear doors are very hard to open.

Driver window rattles like its going to fall in the door.

Replacing the radio is a total hassle the hookups are in the trunk.

Have to use 93+ Octane or it will run like crap.

General Comments:

No pickup, bad gas economy, starting to have problems at 50000 miles. Typical Ford! my 96 Caprice had over 120000 miles on it have had less problems with that car, and it got better gas economy with a 5.7 V8. I thought I got a diamond, but it turned out to be a $7000 dollar cubic-zirconia.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th May, 2005

29th Jan 2006, 02:53

I had the same problem simply because I drive the same lemon as you. This is your shifting problem and idle problem though. Your transmission filter is shot. You can pick up a new one for about 10-20 bucks. You don't need a new gasket because it's "iron clad". Expect to put about 3 1/2 quarts of transmission fluid back in your car though after doing the job.

30th Jul 2006, 15:53

I own a 99 with the same shake in the wheel. I was told by another owner of a 2000 with the same problem that it's poor design by Ford.

Same clunk noise in the rear. Have yet to find it.

As for the shake in the wheel, advise you to go to your local auto parts store, buy the premium pads (preferably ceramic), not cheap brake pads, as well as premium rotors. Cost of all this - almost 100.00, pads 27.00, rotors 25.00 a piece. Solved my shake in the wheel. The car has 84,000. Stop's now almost on a dime.

17th Nov 2006, 17:27

We are having the same brake problems with my daughter's 1999 Taurus. This has been a very disappointing purchase. We have replaced the pads about 5 times in the last 2 years, the master cylinder has been replaced and the rotors have been changed. Still having problems. We're thinking it's time for the salvage yard.

30th Nov 2006, 15:38

I have a 1999 ford taurus and I have a problem. When the car is started, there is a vibration noise while the car is idleing that sound like its under the hood and felt under the brake. What is the problem? Is it with engine?

4th Sep 2009, 21:15

To 15:38: Well, if it sounds like the engine it probably is. However, you say it can be felt "under the brake." I'm assuming you mean under the brake pedal. If you step on the brake while starting your car, then it could be your brake booster. These are just ideas however, I have never seen your car so I can't be sure what is really wrong with it.

1999 Ford Taurus SHO 3.4 liter quad cam V8 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.4 liter quad cam V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired55000 miles
Most recent distance77000 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

This would have been the finest car ever by ford if it were not for the Cam Failure problem

Faults:

Since I owned this car only thing I have had gone wrong is warped brake rotors,

Dirty MAF sensor caused P0172 code,

Other than that a beautifully high tech designed car co built by Yamaha. There is a major problem with the CAM SHAFT spinning gears. Any 1 of the 4 cams can go bad causing the whole engine to blow. Since this is a interference engine. Have them Welded ASAP. After this is done the car is rock solid. Ford never stood by any SHO owner and never had a recall for this problem. Over 600 documented cases of cam failure happening.

General Comments:

This car with a few after market modifications like cold air intake, and exhaust mods, is extremely fast and wonderful sounding. The 60 degree v8 really has a wonderful like no other v8 sound. The transmission which is computer controlled Shifts wonderful with timing retard during shifting of gears to reduce wear, Smooth ride from it's computer controlled Semi Active ride control Struts. Very comfortable leather seats, This car has everything I could ever need. My 0-60 time on this car now is down to 4.8 seconds. Yamaha built the Small displacement 3.4liter v8 for a High 7000rpm engine. Computer Controlled Secondaries that open at 3500rpm make this car have more power the faster you go. I love it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th May, 2005

19th Jul 2010, 09:34

You said you made intake and exhaust mods. Could you please be more specific? I own a 99 SHO as well and would appreciate the info.

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 149 reviews