1999 Ford Taurus Reviews - Page 24 of 42

1999 Ford Taurus from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Most recent distance95000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

If I have another problem with this car, I will not by another Ford Taurus SE

Faults:

I don't know a lot about cars. However, I just bought my '99' Taurus SE at 94,000 miles at the end of February of this year '05'.

Few weeks ago my wheel was hard to turn and my car was leaking tremendously. My mechanic informed me that my power steering pump went out and rack and pinion. $700- fix. It seems to be having the same problem.

My car and steering wheel shake when I brake, and when I come to a complete stop my car jerks as though it wants to drive on its own.

I called Ford and asked them if there were any recalls on a rack and pinion and she apologized and told me NO!

General Comments:

Overall, so far I am angry, especially when I got on the Internet to see that I wasn't the only one with this problem.

Too many, people is having this problem and it needs to be a recall. We need to do something about this. Ford need to take responsibility. Please feel free to contact me at heven08@aol.com. Thank you!

If we dont complain or take the action then who will?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd April, 2005

20th May 2005, 09:10

I also had a problem with my rack and pinion and pump, all needed to be replaced on my 99 ford taurus. It is too bad that Ford doesn't have a recall for the rack and pump. I am extremely disappointed with my car. It has cost me a lot of money and a lot of headaches.

15th Sep 2005, 11:50

I had to have my rack and pinion steering replaced last week. I have owned my 99 Taurus for 5 years, bought it in 2000 used with 21k miles on it. It has been dependable until this summer. it now makes a loud whirring sound which my mechanic replied, "fords do that"... I have spent close to $1700 in repairs in the last year on my car, but can't afford a new one. FORDS suck I will never buy another...

30th Dec 2008, 23:28

Same here. I have replaced the rack, pump (3 times), serpentine belt (3 times), pulley on the pump (3 times) hose.

1999 Ford Taurus SE 3.0 12 Valve from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 12 Valve Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 miles
Most recent distance144000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

One of my favorites

Faults:

Have already posted a review, but forgot some things.

Replaced CV joints.

Tie-rod ends.

Replaced front wheel bearings.

Replaced ball joints.

General Comments:

Once on a trip from NC transmission would not go into overdrive.

Drove almost the whole distance in 3rd gear at 70+ mph back to Ohio.

Has not done it since. Engine runs like it's new.

It will do every bit of 110 when asked.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th April, 2005

1999 Ford Taurus SE 3.0 V6 Single overhead cam from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Single overhead cam Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired88000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carChevrolet C10

Summary:

Not worth the money

Faults:

Coolant reservoir replaced right after buying the car due to a crack in it.

Tensioner was bent and had to be replaced in order to keep the belt on.

Had to replace alternator at 90,000 miles.

Wipers seem to come on by themselves at random times.

The front passenger door at times doesn't register that its closed leaving the "door ajar" and dome lights on. (this can be fixed by spraying WD-40 on the hinges.)

General Comments:

Overall, I like the car, but its sad that I have a truck with 290,000 miles on it, and I haven't had to put any money into keeping it running. In the 2 months I've owned this car, I've put over $600 into it.

Its comfortable to drive though and has plenty of leg room.

I like the access to the trunk through the back seat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th April, 2005

22nd Aug 2009, 17:41

I'm pretty sure the Taurus has an overhead valve engine, not an overhead cam.

1999 Ford Taurus SE 3.0 Liter Vulcan V6 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 Liter Vulcan V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired82000 miles
Most recent distance112000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Dependable car with cutting edge looks

Faults:

Steering rack replaced at 97,000 miles. Battery replaced at 110,000 miles.

Brake pads may need to be replaced soon.

General Comments:

This update comes as the car has just passed 112,000 miles. I will provide future updates as I continue driving the car.

Overall, I'm very happy with the Taurus. It has been a reliable and smooth running car and the interior/exterior are in such good shape some people think the car is brand new.

The acceleration is good for a car with the base engine, and the handling is excellent. A good car to drive on long trips.

I change the oil regularly, and keep up with all the scheduled maintenance for the car, including transmission fluid and coolant flushes, tire rotations, and the car seems to be holding up very well. I drove my last Ford up to 211,000 miles before giving it to a family member who still uses it every day.

Other than the steering rack (which I feel was a little ridiculous to have to replace), I feel the limited wear 'n tear repairs (battery/brake pads) I've had are fairly typical and I've had to do the same things to every other car I've owned, foreign or domestic.

PROS: Excellent paint/fit and finish. Comfortable interior that still looks new. Great factory stereo system, good performance and handling. Adequate power from the standard Vulcan V6. Transmission shifts as smooth as butter.

CONS: Steering rack replacement was a MAJOR expense ($800 worth)...and when is the last time you heard of a steering rack going bad anyway?! This problem should be recalled as a lot of late '90s Tauruses seem to have it. Driver's seat is a little wrinkly looking.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd March, 2005

11th Aug 2005, 08:45

An addition to my comments above: belt tensioner went bad, caused the serpentine belt to break, and was replaced at 117,000 miles.

21st Apr 2006, 12:39

I had to replace my steering rack at 40,000 miles. Ford should issue a recall for this problem, since it is obviously a defect in design. My heater stopped blowing hot air at 42,000 miles. One mechanic said that the heating core had to be replaced at a cost of $525 I took it to a radiator shop and they blew out to core for $70. Now it is as good as it was when it was new.

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 149 reviews