1994 Ford Thunderbird Reviews - Page 10 of 12

1994 Ford Thunderbird LX from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired58000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carFord Thunderbird

Faults:

Vibration - usually the torque converter. I had mine replaced and then it went away.

Now I have to have the catalytic converter replaced, usually $200-300. Wrong, $1600 because of the bad design of the converter. I would not recommend this car to ANYONE.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th September, 2001

1994 Ford Thunderbird LX 3.7 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership1995
Engine and transmission 3.7 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired175 miles
Most recent distance1703 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

A piece of crap

Faults:

Pistons were scored.

Tranny needed a rebuild.

Oil injection was causing the engine to flood.

My head gaskets blew out.

Needed new crank shaft also.

All round Ford piece of crap.

General Comments:

The car was nice when it wasn't in the shop getting fixed. Also the car handled very well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th June, 2001

1994 Ford Thunderbird LX 4.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired67800 miles
Most recent distance83200 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

This car is a better value for comfort, speed, reliability (if you take good care of it), and fun

Faults:

The air bypass valve needed repair due to it's annoying humming sound.

Brake dust tends to cover over the front rims frequently (I.e. 3 days after cleaning them perfectly)

O/D button on shifter doesn't work.

Moon roof gets stuck when trying to open it every 100 times.

General Comments:

This car has an excellent ride! It's smooth throughout your trip, makes "U" turns you wouldn't expect, and corners great!

The pick-up on this car is perfect for getting out of tough situations if you know how to use it.

Plenty of room in the cabin (especially for someone 6 feet 6 inches).

This car is for the common person who feels they can take on those high headed drivers with those Mustangs, Corvettes, especially those high school kids who think upgrading a Honda with loud exhaust will make their cars faster than the speed of light.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th June, 2001

22nd Jun 2001, 13:08

You can take the car in and have the sunroof realigned so it does not get stuck. I doubt that it would cost an arm and a leg to adjust.

1994 Ford Thunderbird LX 4.6 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.6 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired66150 miles
Most recent distance103500 miles

Faults:

The transmission had to be rebuild at 75,000 for a pressure loss shifting from 2nd to 3rd, a bad torque converter, and cracked case to name a few things.

Rotors warp excessively, like every 9,000-10,000.

Both upper control arms had to be replaced due to bad ball joints at 70,000.

There is always something in the suspension knocking and clunking.

Leather seats are wearing pretty bad in the front.

I had to have the idle speed control valve replaced twice at 67,000 and 69,000.

General Comments:

It is definitely a whole lot of car for the money I paid for it.

I am very satisfied with the motor, it just that &^%&($ transmission.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th May, 2001

1994 Ford Thunderbird Sport Coupe (SC) 4.6 L 281 ci V8 SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.6 L 281 ci V8 SOHC Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 miles
Most recent distance92000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Truck

Summary:

Get in, sit down, shut up, and hold on!

Faults:

Just little insignificant things like side seat panels broke and automatic fuel door broke. Little things, yet bearable.

General Comments:

This car is freakin awesome. I love my T-bird and it is so easy to turn into a hot-rod. It is fast yet comfy at the same time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th April, 2001

13th Aug 2001, 22:38

Hey guy, my dad just finally got the ignition control modulator for his SC. Apparently they had a big to-do at Ford in CA. They were on back order for over a year and my dad got one last week. You should get one soon, just in case. And check that silicon diode gel or whatever it is that protects the ICM from heat every year!

Mike Furlong.

1994 Ford Thunderbird LX 3.8 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 miles
Most recent distance107000 miles
Previous carGeo Prizm

Summary:

A great car, but very unreliable

Faults:

The head gasket blew after the first time I had it on the highway.

The transmission was constantly slipping in second gear, it had to be completely rebuilt.

Moon-roof leaks.

Long part of rear tail light where the Thunderbird symbol is has the lights out, but they cannot be replaced, you have to buy the entire piece.

Rotors warp badly, causing the steering wheel to shimmy.

General Comments:

I love the looks of the car, it is very aerodynamic and it turns heads, that's the reason I bought it.

I bought it to replace my second car, I'm just thankful it is only a second car because it is not very reliable.

Due to insurance, I had to buy a V6, but now I wish I had gotten the V8 because my acceleration is very sluggish.

After the car hits second gear it really begins to move.

It is just one of those thing that you want to hate, but you can't help loving it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th January, 2001

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 54 reviews