1994 Ford Thunderbird LX 3.8 from North America

Summary:

Fix Or Repair Daily. (F. O. R. D)

Faults:

My "Check Engine" light has been on for as long as I can remember. I covered it with my family portrait as no dealership seems to know what the problem is.

The power seats simply don't work!

Front headlights are faded badly.

The paint on the roof above the rear seats has worn off.

The position of the cup holders makes no sense at all.

I've had to have my head gaskets twice as I could smell my engine oil from inside the cabin.

General Comments:

My experience is that there is always something that needs fixing under this car's hood.

Yes, is it comfortable and enjoyable to drive when it drives.

Reliable, no! Whenever planning a trip, bring all your tools, a tow rope, and your cell phone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th July, 2003

24th Jul 2003, 21:41

Hey man,

I have a '94 T-Bird. I've got almost 200K on the odometer, and the only thing I've done is changed the brakes on the car. It still gets over 20 mpg. It's got the 4.6L engine and I love it. All they need is a little TLC.

1994 Ford Thunderbird LX 3.8 V6 from North America

Summary:

The car is all around good

Faults:

When I got the car, there was a small knock in the engine. It was a lower right bearing.

Seals on the headlihgts were horrible. I fixed it myself by adding more and better sealer to them.

General Comments:

The car is much better than I thought it would be. I didn't think that it would have as much power as it did. It accelerated like a champ. It is by far the most comfortable car that I have owned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th June, 2003

1994 Ford Thunderbird LX 3.8 V6 from North America

Summary:

Safe, Quick (when needed), and Comfortable -- a bargain

Faults:

- Transmission Shimmy/Shake between 20-30 MPH (since new)

- Probably gonna have to replace the head gasket (recall item) as coolant light stay light all the time.

General Comments:

- Outstanding Ride! Most comfortable car I have ridden in. Interior "wraps" around the driver.

- Great gas mileage, up to 33 MPG Highway. San Antonio Dallas trip.

- Extremely reliable. No major or minor repairs since new (but things are beginning to happen -- expected)

- Will own and rebuild this car as needed until the day I die.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th May, 2003

22nd Aug 2003, 20:43

I experienced the same problem (transmission chatter) during shifting. I replaced the transmission fluid with synthetic oil. (Mobile) The problem has completely gone away. I have now driven two years with no problem. One cautionary note is not to expect the fix to take hold immediately after changing the oil. It seems to take a hundred miles or so after going to synthetic to achieve the full benefit.

1994 Ford Thunderbird LX 4.6L from North America

Summary:

The style of the car is very nice,but the engine and it's components leave much to be desired.

Faults:

The transmission began slipping at about 85,000 miles.

The transmission has a very hard shift from first to second gear. This problem comes and goes.

The check engine light has come on several times due to faulty sensors or vacuum leaks.

The paint has faded in certain spots.

General Comments:

This car looks very sporty.

This car is very comfortable. I drove it to Mississippi which was about a 13 hour drive.

This car is very fast. It has very good acceleration once it is in second gear.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th May, 2003

1994 Ford Thunderbird LX 3.8 V6 from North America

Summary:

Conforms to all Ford stereotypes

Faults:

Constant transmission problems. Been serviced twice. Apparently not uncommon. Always shift rather late and abruptly.

Head Gasket problem (known "recall" from Ford).

3 starters in the past three years.

2 Start switches.

A/C looses coolant every other season (been doing this since purchase). Been inspected several times by several different shops, with no explanation as to where the coolant is going (suspected it is leaking somewhere past the firewall, but huge $ to find exactly where).

Second set of rotors. Numerous pads.

Rubber window seals rotten, causing difficulty rolling down window and sealing when up.

General Comments:

Like many of my associates writing their opinions, I am more disappointed with Ford's customer service than the car itself.

I was never informed of the "recall" related to the head gasket until it failed. This was, no joke, less than 2 days out of Ford's "extended warranty". But this was the final insult, the "recall" extended coverage to 7 years or 100,000 miles. My car had 98,000 miles, but it was December 2000. Ford informed me that this vehicle had a build date of November 1993, and was therefore out of their "recall". I of course argued that it should be base on, at the minimum, actual manufacture date, if not in service date, but excellent customer service prevail, and I got nothing. $1200 later (because I had the mechanic do both), I was back on the road.

It has been riddle with small problems aside from this. Starters, switches, pumps, leaks, squeaks, and odd electrical glitches. A/C is rather annoying, having to add coolant every other season (expect to fill again this summer).

Car shifts hard from first to second, and any gear if you have to get on it, but have gotten the impression from other Ford owners of the same engine and transmission type, that this is common. This has been happening for 70,000 miles, however, I have a queasy feeling it will fail here shortly.

The car also tends to roll down the road, not much transmission braking, so when you take you foot of the gas, be ready to brake. I think this is why rotors/brakes tend to go quickly.

To give some positive feedback, this car is the most comfortable car I have driven. I have taken many long trips in it, and have never been uncomfortable.

It has also never left me stranded, but attest that to diligent mechanical attentiveness and care.

I am third generation Ford family, and I too, will never buy a Ford again. With all of the problems Ford is having with quality and customer service, It amazes me anyone would!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th January, 2003

18th Feb 2003, 20:10

I own a 94 T-bird and have had it since 1997, a very nice car with 125,000 miles.

Yes, the transmission was shuddering when shifting, the dealer shop said that a service document was put out. The fix? Change fluid and filter, cost me 78.00

Head gasket problem? A problem on the v-6s not the 8s.

A/C problems, rotors, pads rotten window seals? Spray your seals with 100% silicone keeps them pretty and pliable. Multiple starters? Dude!! Sounds like you are being taken to the cleaners by your dealer or your backyard shop. FIND A NEW SHOP!

30th Jul 2003, 19:26

I also own a 1994 Ford Thunderbird and I was a little surprised to find out that other people were experiencing similar problems. I bought my T-bird in 1995 right off the lot with 4 miles on the odometer. The car now has over 198,000 miles on it and I am damn proud of it.

Yes, I have experienced many if not all of the symptoms mentioned above. I had the head gaskets replaced at 105,000 miles (shop found coolant on the plugs and caught it just in time!) The one problem I am experiencing now is the transmission issue. It drops out of overdrive all of a sudden. This has been happening frequently lately. It started about 3 years ago and usually only occurs during the warmer months (between June and August). Then it strangely disappears. I have the tranny fluid changed every 30,000 miles (I put 110 miles on the car a day for work). I have had Ford install tranny "packs" as they call them, twice.

My question is, is there a defined problem here?? Does anyone know of a solution?? The car actually runs perfectly, and still gets 26 miles to the gallon (V6 3.8L LX model) except for the transmission nuisance.

Thanks. Kevin.