1994 Ford Thunderbird Reviews - Page 12 of 12

1994 Ford Thunderbird LX 3.8 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance76500 miles
Previous carFord Thunderbird

Summary:

Performance and power with common car problems

Faults:

Had the head gasket recall done.

Vacuum line break (due to dealership and recall).

Transmission rattles and shakes.

The car was repainted poorly after a minor accident (I was not informed of the accident prior to purchase).

Trunk lid not properly re-aligned.

Power-steering pump a bit noisy.

General Comments:

I love the car, can't beat the luxury, performance, and power (especially for a V6).

I previously owned a 1990 and I can see difference in the luxury, however the power and performance remain the same (I have no problems with that either)!

Really enjoy the rear-wheel drive.

The only major problem I have is that they stopped manufacturing them!!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd August, 2000

1994 Ford Thunderbird LX 4.6 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 4.6 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance108000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Suburban

Summary:

Comfort, ride, power great... everything else sucks

Faults:

Computer fault which caused misfiring which, in turn, caused numerous other components to fail. Had to replace comp (MAF Sensor, etc).

$$$ Transmission overhaul.

Paint (large spots of white spreading all over the car, and getting worse every time it's washed).

Plastic components inside the car warping (glove box and center consoles).

Right turn signal blows chronically, modules been replaced, but still happens.

Possible voltage regulator? Voltmeter moves erratically any time any electrical component is used: locks, windows, signals( R signal doesn't even work anymore....)

Plastic headlight lenses cracked and brown - replaced.

I can't even think of it all right now!

General Comments:

I love my car for its comfort and power, but it's cost me a fortune in repairs.

BEWARE THE PAINT!!! I have no idea what's causing this, the dealer says it's normal - yeah right. Maybe normal for Ford...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th June, 2000

27th Apr 2004, 20:25

The head light lenses can be cleaned with the polish cleaner used on motorcycle windshield

It removes the cloud from the lenses

Lights are brighter after cleaning

And they look a lot better too!

1994 Ford Thunderbird LX 4.6 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 4.6 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired29 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carBuick Regal

Summary:

Exceptional value in performance and comfort for the dollar

Faults:

Tansmission overhaul at 75000 miles.

General Comments:

Very comfortable coupe with excellent handling. The stock 4.6L V8 has 205hp which provided robust performance. Taking out air restrictor at the air filter and replacing OEM mufflers with Flowmaster brand muffler greatly enhanced performance, and also boosted fuel efficiency to 28mpg on highway mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd May, 2000

1994 Ford Thunderbird LX 4.6L V-8 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 4.6L V-8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired36000 miles
Most recent distance101000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Eclipse

Summary:

Very comfortable, powerful ride

Faults:

I had to replace the windshield wiper switch shortly after I purchased it. There was a problem with the ignition system at about 75,000 miles. Otherwise I had no real problems other than general maintenance e.g. oil changes, replacing tires, battery, belts, etc.

General Comments:

A great car to take on the open road. The V-8 has lots of power and isn't strained at all by sustained speeds of 70 mph. on an interstate. Brakes very well. Very comfortable over long distances. Solid well-built car that only had a few minor rattles even at 100,000 miles. Only minus is the fuel economy, about 24-25 on the highway, and under 20 in town, but that's still not bad for an 8 cylinder.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th March, 2000

6th May 2001, 22:20

I own a 1994 Thunderbird LX, 3.8 V-6, Automatic, loaded, the only option not included with this particular car is the passenger power seat...But, your mileage, I have to say, is way beyond that of mine, this car is stock, I have done nothing (excluding normal maintenance) to the motor, and mine only gets about 19 miles per gallon on the highway, I would love to have 25-27 mpg... Count your lucky stars!!! :)

1994 Ford Thunderbird LX 4.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
Engine and transmission 4.6
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10

Faults:

Front brakes, rough transmission shifts, mass air flow sensor, spark plug wires, h-vac blower (3 times), AC leak flooded interior floor, shaking at highway speeds.

General Comments:

Could use lumbar support.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd September, 1999

1994 Ford Thunderbird LX 3.8 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10

Faults:

Air conditioner cycle switch failed, compresser failed.

Loses coolant - suspect head gasket problem that so many of these 3.8 motors have. $$$ to fix.

Glove box latch broken.

Seat headrests rattle noisily.

Both headlamp assemblies have bad seals allowing water to enter, and erode chromed plastic reflector coating inside the housing.

Rear suspension noisy.

General Comments:

I loved the car, but the minor defects, along with the major problem of the head gaskets would prevent me from ever buying another of this model. And for pete's sake everyone, stay away from any Ford with the 3.8 Liter V6. The EPIDEMIC head gasket problem with this engine goes back a few years from what I have learned, and Ford has not done much to remedy the situation with it's customers. Some models (Windstar, Continental, Sable, Taurus) were repaired free of charge under a hidden recall program, but others (T-Bird, Mustang) with the same engine, and same problem were left out of the recall. And the customers left out in the cold. All models were limited to 60,000 miles to qualify for the recall, but by now, most of the 94 models (which is where the recall started in the range of model years) will have exceeded that figure by now, so like me at 68,000 and just now learning of this problem, and the recall, and having a non-qualifying vehicle, have no choice but to pay the extremely expensive repair bill to fix it. $1200 to $2300.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th January, 1999

7th Dec 2000, 04:34

My father owns a 95 bird and we had the head gasket problem paid for by Ford with more like 70.000 miles on the car. You may want to call Ford now and see if they have expanded the recall, as the repair my father had done was fairly recent.

25th Apr 2001, 19:20

I own a '94 and just had the problem with the head gasket at 80,000 miles. Ford sent me a letter a while back that I could get it repaired if I still had less than 100,000. So look into it. It was a $900 job, but Ford footed the bill.

4th Aug 2001, 21:17

Fords singleing out a few models to warranty for the defective head gaskets on the 3.8 liter engines is a slap in the face for people owning a vehicle with the same engine. Wake up Ford! Do you think you will get my business any more?

15th Sep 2003, 08:04

I just would not get ford from now on. Stick with the other car making company's from now on.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 54 reviews