1995 Ford Windstar Reviews - Page 12 of 31

1995 Ford Windstar LX from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.0 / 10
Distance when acquired36000 miles
Most recent distance97000 miles
Previous carToyota Tercel

Summary:

A Lemon

Faults:

Head Gasket replaced in 2000 Transmission replaced in 2002 at our expense. Leaks transmission fluid. Money Pit. Now the drivers side power window is stuck shut. Has anyone had this problem with the power windows? Would never buy a ford again. It will be back to Honda or Toyota from now on.

General Comments:

Has anyone had problems with the power windows? Any suggestions?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th July, 2003

23rd Jul 2004, 17:31

Every ford I have owned has had the power window motor go out on the driver side, its seems to run in all there lines or at least the ones I have acquired.

27th Aug 2004, 10:12

I'm an original owner of 95 Ford Windstar. Both driver and passenger side power window motors broke two years ago after having intermitten problems for a while. I had the driver side window motor replaced then (left the passenger side window in closed). Just yesterday, the driver side window got stuck open. Had to replace the motor again ($333 at the dealership) this morning. Would like to know if Ford is aware of the problem. Alex Basin, Duluth, GA.

1995 Ford Windstar GL 3.8L from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.8L Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired37900 miles
Most recent distance223000 miles
Previous carDodge Caravan

Summary:

Due to overall history would be very difficult to purchase this brand again!

Faults:

ABS malfunction at 47,000.

Tie rods ends replaced at 65,000.

Left door ajar switch malfunction at 107,000.

ABS malfunction at 122,200.

Both rear hatch switches bad 122,200.

Timing cover coolant leak at 122,300.

Replaced engine at 122,600.

Replaced oxygen sensor at 124,000.

Transmission replaced at 153,000.

Replaced front axle at 162,000.

Replaced motor again at 188,000.

ABS malfunction at 193,000.

Replaced drive axle at 196,000.

Fixed both head gaskets leaking at 223,000.

General Comments:

Overall pleased with vehicle except for manufacture flaws in head caskets. Expect to have maintenance when given the miles driven, but not to have to replace motor twice in less than 65,000. As well as replacing gaskets in additional 35,000.

Fords way out of the engine/gasket problem was to bail out at 100,000. Knowing full well major problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th April, 2003

1995 Ford Windstar LX 3.8L from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.8L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired35 miles
Most recent distance182000 miles
Previous carGMC Safari

Summary:

Am planning to buy another

Faults:

My head gasket blew at 85,000 miles. Factory installed defect.

General Comments:

Other than the head gasket problem has been the only major problem. Is a very reliabile vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th April, 2003

1995 Ford Windstar GL 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance63000 miles
Previous carSAAB 900

Summary:

Don't buy it because of head gasket problems

Faults:

Engine Temp gauge failed at less than 1,000 miles.

Head gasket blew at 42,000.

Steering pulls noticeably right 45,000.

Slow to start, 60,000.

General Comments:

This car is versatile with family. I like being able to take out one or two rows of seats to haul things, or have all the seats in for people.

Quality of car is lacking.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th March, 2003

1995 Ford Windstar LX 4.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance96000 miles
Previous carFord Windstar

Summary:

A very high priced driveway ornament

Faults:

We have had 5 blown head gaskets.

We have replaced transmission twice.

The engine has been replaced twice.

Door ajar light stays on.

Speedometer needle goes crazy over 55.

General Comments:

This has been the worst vehicle I have ever owned.

I have tried to be patient, because I am a Ford man. That is no longer the case.

The current engine with less than 20,000 miles has just blown a head gasket. Now the dealer says they want to see proof of all my maintenance records. I alway change my own oil, and always between 3000-5000 miles. Of course I don't keep my receipts, so they tell me they won't cover any repairs. So long Ford.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th March, 2003

1995 Ford Windstar LX 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance103000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Faults:

The transmission has failed twice.

The head gasket has now failed for the third time. The first failure was at 56000 miles. The second was at 88000 miles and the third and final is at 103000.

Both front coil springs failed completely and damaged the front end of the car.

The ABS system failed.

The starter failed at about 50000 miles.

The hood de-laminated at about 25000 miles.

The ignition system failed at 68000 miles.

The sliding door warning syatem failed repeatedly over the years.

This is by far the worst car I have ever owned. It is simply beyond belief. The worst thing is that Ford keeps telling me that my driving habits are what must be the cause of the problems. The car now sits in my driveway and I am happy to say I just replaced this wreck with a new Toyota van. As soon as I find a cliff to push off of, the Windstar will be just a bad memory. I recently wrote to William Clay Ford and told him all of the above relative to Ford's pitch that Quality Is Job One. They called with small talk and no apology.

What a company.

General Comments:

This is a very bad car and only a fool would buy one. I will never buy another Ford as long as I live. I have a 2001 Impala and it runs fine as does the new Toyota. Both are unlike the Windstar which was a wreck from day one. With that pile of junk, I tossed 26K$ down the drain.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd February, 2003

Average review marks: 4.7 / 10, based on 117 reviews