1995 Ford Windstar GL 3.8 from Mexico


A high cost and high risk investment


The head gasket blew at 104000 miles.

General Comments:

The head gasket blew without any reason.

I didn't overheat the engine.

The van had a cold thermostat and the mileage was poor.

When I changed for a hotter one, the mileage improved but the gasket blew.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th November, 2001

1995 Ford Windstar GL 3.8 from North America




First transmission at 20,000 miles, second transmission at 59,000.

First head gasket replacement at 34,000 miles. Second head gasket replacement and time cover gasket replacement at 78,500 miles.

Crank and rod bearing failure at 84,500 miles. Vehicle dead!!!

5 recalls, a total of 18 trips to the dealer for warrenty or expensive repairs.

General Comments:

The engine has failed at 84,500 miles. If Ford won't fix, it's is going to the junk yard. What a terrible vehicle. The only thing worse than this vehicle is the way Ford Motor Company treats its customers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th October, 2001

27th Feb 2002, 14:38

Your transmission went out with only 20,000 miles on it? You must have done something wrong. I have never known a transmission to only last 20,000 miles if treated properly.

3rd May 2003, 11:03

The same thing happened with our '95, Ford has treated us like dirt. One month after the warranty was up, the engine blew... not covered. We have called the Service Center to no avail, they said it depends on the dealer, the dealer says it depends on Ford. Don't stay away from Ford, run away!

9th May 2003, 09:12

My 1995 Windstar has been in the shop more than out. New engine, new head gasket, transmission problems. Just called again about the transmission slipping and was told by the transmission shop "Get rid of that vehicle immediatly - It can't be perminantly fixed" I'm off to look at new cars. Just not Fords. Too bad it's worthless as a trade-in. By the way, I have always been treated poorly by Ford.

4th Jun 2003, 14:49

I also have a 1995 Ford Wind star. At 71,000 miles the head gasket blew = a $1700.00 job.

It now has 75,000 miles and I have already replaced the sway bar, the fuel line and have had to replace almost the entire front end. It's forever leaking oil.

So far, I've spent more than $4,000.00 in repairs to keep it roadworthy and so it passes New York State inspections.

What a hunk of junk on wheels!! I don't know whether to keep it and keep dumping money into it or junk it.

1995 Ford Windstar GL 3.8 from North America


A complete and utter money guzzler


Transmission - 52k.

Lower-end engine failure - 92k.

Transmission - 98k.

Transmission - 137k.

Head gasket on new engine - 45k.

Engine computer - 160k.

General Comments:

Hard to believe I have been driving this vehicle for seven years, but I have tried to get rid of it for the last three. I seem to get 40 - 50k out of each transmission repair, which entails $1,200-1,500 and a lot of inconvenience. This car has been a highway transporter, hence the amount of miles, yet the transmission will not hold up. Now, at 181k it is once again aimed for the shop, but I may just bury it! I couldn't even donate the car to get rid of it!

The complete engine replacement was due to the head gasket problem, and while they were installing it I asked for the dealer to change the head gasket in the new engine. They refused saying, "It should not be a problem". Well guess what? I had to have the head gaskets done 45k later!

Through all of this time and money, FORD has reimbursed me a whopping $1,200! While I have invested close to $10,000!

I have since bought a GM product with NO concerns.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th October, 2001

1995 Ford Windstar GL 3.8L V-6 from North America


A piece of junk that is becoming a money pit..


Total disappointment thus far. Ever since we drove it off the lot it has had brake problems. The dealership claims they did a thorough inspection for safety.

Now the head-gasket and several other things have plagued us. It seems like once every 30-40 days the check engine light is on and we are spending more and more out of our pockets to keep it running. The vehicle has no power for a V-6, it accelerates like a little 4 cylinder engine.

Now I have learned that the head-gasket was under a recall and the dealer never disclosed whether it was fixed under that recall or not.

General Comments:

Please do not ever buy a Windstar or a Ford for that matter.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th October, 2001