2000 Ford Windstar SEL Not sure from North America

Summary:

I will not buy another Ford

Faults:

At 60,000 miles the Engine light came on. Vehicle needed extensive smog device work.

A heater door was inoperable at 60,000 miles and had to be replaced. The cost of this and the above repair was $1,100.

At 70,000 miles the transmission blew without any warning at all. This will cost $3,000.

General Comments:

The Windstar is a comfortable vehicle and it rides well.

However, it is not terribly economical.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th March, 2005

2000 Ford Windstar LX 3.8L from North America

Summary:

Do not ever buy this van. Stick with Chevy

Faults:

1). Reverse sun gear of the transmission. This seems to be a re-occuring problem, and so far I haven't heard a comment from Ford. I stopped at a stop sign in town, hit the gas to get through the intersection, and heard a "BANG". Then nothing worked. You could put it into reverse, but otherwise no power at all. Cost to us: $2500 and counting. Also had problems with Tie rod ends, power steering fluid leak, Antifreeze mysteriously leaking, then stopping. Do not ever buy this van. Over 50% of them end up with transmission problems. It is not worth the time or money. I for one will never buy a ford.

General Comments:

Never buy this van, even if you are desperate for a vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th March, 2005

12th Apr 2005, 00:23

I completely agree with this post. I just got back from my dealership: they say my transmission needs to be replaced at a cost of $3300!!! what a scam. never a ford.

6th Jun 2005, 13:07

My van had exactly the same problem. Just over 3 years old, 38,000 miles. Stopped at an intersection, light turns green, I apply light acceleration, BANG! No forward movement, only reverse. Ford wanted about $3500 for rebuilt transmission. I had a local shop repair it for $2500.

Sometimes the transmission would thud loudly when pulling the lever out of park. I think this is related.

Same overall conclusion: This will be my one and only Ford, ever.

2000 Ford Windstar from North America

Summary:

A disappointing car mechanically, but it has a nice look

Faults:

Transmission failed at 54K. This repair cost me $2350.

Power steering pump failed at 41K miles. This was less than $300 to repair.

The am radio receives static heavily when the headlights are on.

General Comments:

The seats are hard to remove, and the rear most seat is very heavy. One person really cannot remove it alone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th February, 2005

2000 Ford Windstar LX 6 Cylinder from North America

Summary:

Lots of Room: Mechanically Sound

Faults:

Nothing, this van has been perfect no problems at all.

General Comments:

I love the seating room, head room and no mechanical problems on the vehicle at 90,000 plus miles.

Van handles well, could get better gas mileage. Very pleased.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st January, 2005

12th Feb 2007, 14:42

Hey, genius, your Honda Odyssey was built in Ontario, Canada, just down the road from the Ford Windstar plant. There goes your theory shot all to heck. When it comes to vehicle production today, I don't think it really matters geographically where the product was made, and whether it's union or non-union labor. It has everything to do with good engineering. Ford couldn't engineer its way out of a paper bag!

2000 Ford Windstar SEL 3.8L from North America

Summary:

Comfortable, safe van that has an extensive repair hx. Thanks for the forum

Faults:

The Tie rods needed full repair around 15,000 miles.

The manifold (not sure if intake or exhaust) repaired twice- 30,00, 50,000 and now replaced completely at 82,000 also tie rod adjustment again 82,5000.

Wheel bearings 60,000.

Now full Transmission at 82,500.

Power doors 20,000.

Power seats 65,000.

General Comments:

The plus side-this van kept us safe in a severe crash and did not roll with impact. Its comfortable and plenty of room. Thank God for extended warranties.

I'm a life long Ford customer and was hoping to buy the Freestar, but may go with a Honda or Quest instead.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th October, 2004

2000 Ford Windstar LX from North America

Summary:

Never buy one ever again

Faults:

My transmission blew at 50,000 miles (80,000 K). Diagnosis: Faulty Reverse Sun Gear. Cost to repair: over $3,000 Canadian - cost to me - almost $1000.

General Comments:

The history: Under warranty it was brought in many times with complaints of the transmission (at least 10 times). The most recent time was four weeks ago. Continual diagnosis: nothing wrong. The vehicle is now not under warranty.

My issue: I have experienced an unreasonable, premature failure of a major vehicle component. When I paid $28,000 four years ago for my vehicle, nowhere in my wildest imagination did I think that I would have to replace the transmission in such a short period of time. And now Ford is stating that because I do not have an extended warranty, that I should be responsible to pay almost $1000 of the over $3000 cost of replacing my transmission. And this is even in their knowledge of the court decision over the '96 Windstar.

I can ill afford the cost of putting $1000 into a vehicle which has prematurely malfunctioned (it is a known manufacturers fault.. the "reverse sun gear malfunction") at absolutely no fault of my own. I have serviced and maintained this vehicle from day one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th September, 2004

3rd Oct 2004, 20:34

I own a Windstar LX 2000. It has about 60,000 miles and it has been faithfully maintained. I have already replaced the steering fluid pump, start motor and one front wheel bearing (a potentially life-threatening failure). I am scared to hell that the next thing could be the transmission. I am planning to trade it in, but a dealer would not offer too much for it. I will never buy this type of cars again. The quality culture and expectations are so bad that the average folk expects that from time to time is normal to get a bad car. This is why we are loosing sales to Japanese made cars simply because their manufacturing culture deliver CONSISTENT quality. For obvious reasons we are unable to produce consistent quality.