1991 Geo Metro Reviews - Page 5 of 10

1991 Geo Metro 2dr hatchback 1.0 3 cylinder from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.0 3 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired105 miles
Most recent distance283000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Type II

Summary:

All time best auto bargain

Faults:

Windshield washer failed early.

Muffler lasts less that 100,000miles.

General Comments:

I bought the car for for gas economy at which it has always excelled, with a lifetime average around 50mpg.

The bonus I discovered over the miles was amazing durability. With inexpensive, but conscientious maintenance car is approaching 300,000 miles and still performing respectably.

Performance and comfort have always seemed more than adequate.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th June, 2005

1991 Geo Metro LSI convertible 3 cyc from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3 cyc Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles
Previous carRenault Allience

Summary:

I love this little car

Faults:

Engine blew after 100,000 but still got me home. Rebuilt for $450.

The transmission gave out after getting me home. Rebuilt for $250.

The convertible top needed to be replaced for $200.

General Comments:

This car has never left me stranded.

It does not have much speed for pickup, but once it picks up speed it cruises. It does not like hills.

It is fun to drive and looks cute.

It is very inexpensive to run and repair. Does require regular tuneups and oil changes to run forever.

This is such a great little car that I bought another one for my grandaughter's first car. She wanted mine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th March, 2005

15th Mar 2005, 06:44

Oh, yeah they're great cars all right... unless you get in a collision with anything other than a bicycle...

7th Jun 2006, 08:45

A friend was sitting at a light in her GEO behind another car.

She was rear ended by another vehicle. Air bag deployed and the car was totaled. She was wearing her seat belt and walked out of the car without a scratch on her. Side impact would be a different matter.

Result: She bought another Geo, I bought my daughter a Geo, my Wife is on her second Geo and I have a 91 'vert. Watch out, drive carefully and get up to 50mpg!

1991 Geo Metro lsi conv 1. from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1. Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired276000 miles
Most recent distance307438 miles
Previous carFord Econoline

Summary:

May I say go-cart

Faults:

Replaced whole exhaust system after purchasing car $160. Full tune-up at 288,000 miles. Speeding ticket believe it or not. Rocker panels rusted out need to fix. Replaced fuel-neck $15.

Mom failed to latch hood it flew off and broke windsheild on its way. Bought hood pins $5 autozone.

General Comments:

Fun car, top speed is 106 mph. Does not turn after 95mph. Thinking of changing timing belt. Great gas mile age, considering SPEED,40-45 mpg. Does not clime big steep hills to well, but fun going down.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th January, 2005

1991 Geo Metro 1L from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1L Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carGeo Metro

Summary:

The Metro is the most sensible car ever released

Faults:

My dash buttons snapped off early in the car's life.

Engine began to smoke at 88,000 miles, but I did the overhauling myself, which was a real treat since the engine is so small that I was able to hoist it out of the engine compartment using my own brawn.

General Comments:

The Geo Metro is strictly a no-frills, low-cost, personal transportation device.

After 10 years of service, I gave my 1991 Metro to a friend, only to immediately buy another one, a 1993 Metro, which runs reliably.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th August, 2004

1991 Geo Metro 2dr hatchback gas from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission gas Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles
Previous carGeo Metro

Summary:

One of the best vehicles I have ever owned

Faults:

Small radiator hose replaced.

General Comments:

This is a great car. I replaced the spark plugs with Bosch Plat Plugs. I am running 100 mpg. Is this possible? Last check-70 miles used.7 gal gas. I didn't think this vehicle could get this much mpg.

I'm afraid to look under the hood except to check the oil. Afraid it will change my mpg.

Has anyone else had that good of mpg.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th July, 2004

27th Jul 2004, 19:57

You used 7 gallons of gas to go 70 miles? That's terrible mileage. Should only take around 2 gallons on the highway to go 70 miles. Man, get your car looked at!

28th Jul 2004, 13:20

You missed the decimal point in front of the 7. He is claiming he went 100 miles on 7/10ths of a gallon of gas so he is getting 100 mpg.

Unless he was coasting downhill in neutral the whole 100 miles there is no way anyone would get even close to that kind of mileage in any car even a Metro. Either the odometer is way off or someone is adding gas to his tank to screw with his head.

Or maybe (most likely) it is just bs.

16th Aug 2004, 09:53

I had an 86 Sprint (similar to metro) that averaged 59 mpg on a 500 mile trip when it had appx 50K on it. That would have to be the high end of what these cars can get, although I have heard of Metro XFI models getting around 60 mpg. A lot depends on how you drive. Driving 75-80 will obviously deminish mpg. Any other mpg stories out there?

15th Dec 2004, 09:32

Just bought a 1991 metro for a winter beater... i get 59 mpg.

Best mileage I ever got.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 44 reviews