1991 Geo Metro Reviews - Page 6 of 10

1991 Geo Metro LSi 1.3L 3 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.3L 3 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired108000 miles
Most recent distance117000 miles
Previous carGeo Buick Skylark

Summary:

Cool Car

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

It's fun to drive.

Great gas mileage.

Nice Looking.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th March, 2004

15th Mar 2004, 06:45

Sucky review for a sucky car.

1991 Geo Metro LSI Convertible 3 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired87000 miles
Most recent distance159000 miles

Summary:

Very reliable! With outstanding mpg

Faults:

I have had to replace the catalytic converter at 142,000 miles. Minor repairs such as latch on the convertible top had to be replaced because of wind catching the top and ripping it out. The cost was 20 bucks. Also, the knobs for the windshield wipers on dash come flying off when switching speeds.

General Comments:

Geo Metros have ran in my family. The oldest one in the family is a 1989 2 door hatchback with a current mileage of 368,000 miles on it still running strong. Also, a 1994 2 door hatchback with a current mileage of 234,000 miles on it still no problems with one clutch replacement. Besides my 1991 Lsi, my sister has a 1998 Lsi 2 door hatchback with mileage of 56,000 miles on it. It hasn't burped once.

They are a great commuter cars. But, nothing to race with.

They don't have a much get up and go, but getting around is what you want with very high mpg, this is your car.

My Lsi automatic convertible gets 45 mpg. The oldest Geo Metro mentioned, 1989 gets around 50 mpg stick shift of course.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th November, 2003

2nd Jun 2004, 23:00

Could anyone tell me where you can get the latch for a 93 Metro convertible? I just purchased a 1993 Metro convertible with 80,000 miles and it is great except the convertible top comes unlatched while driving down the highway. In the first review the gentleman said he purchased one for $20 and now it works great. Please, please help me. I love my little convertible, but cannot drive it with the top up for fear I will ruin my top when it comes unlatched. Thank you so much.

1991 Geo Metro from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance4600 miles

Summary:

The best car in the family!

Faults:

The window handle as well as the actual mechanism that makes the window rise broke.

All four hubcaps fell off.

Normal wear and tear like doors squeaking, stained seats, but nothing that can't be easily taken care of.

General Comments:

I've had this car for 12 years and I love it!

The seats are comfortable, and the backseat has a lot of leg space.

It gets great gas mileage.

It drives well!

It is easy and cheap to maintain.

Looks brand new after its shiny new paint job!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th July, 2003

1991 Geo Metro LSi 3 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance78000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Economic

Faults:

My water pump blew at 62 000 miles

My starter had problems at around 69 000 miles

General Comments:

I've heard a lot of people say bad things about this particular car. But I used this car to make a transcontinental trip from Michigan to Seattle to arizona and then south all the way to panama. Nothing went wrong with the car that cost me over 50 dollars to fix. (only 1 thing went wrong on the trip)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th June, 2003

20th Jul 2005, 12:30

I bought a 1991 Geo convertible in August of last year.. the chassis/auto transmission had about 34,000 while the engine was a used replacement with unknown mileage.. The dealer where I bought it put a new top on, timing belt, tires, misc. parts/gaskets etc..and I drove away in a nearly new 'appearing' car for $2,200 About 1,000 miles later I had to replace the valves and lifters, and now this week (after about 6,000 more miles) I replaced the oil pan gasket, crankcase gasket (it was leaking/using oil) and a few parts in the steering... The check engine light started coming on about 2 months ago, but the engine continues to run fine and emissions tests are unnecesary on this car where I live...those are the downsides.. The Good news is that I genuinely Like this car and will continue to put money into it as necessary. With the auto trans I average 33mpg around town and 37 to 40 on the highway. It's a funky, rare, little convertible (the poor man's Miata) that gets stares and 'cute' comments from the ladies. To anyone contemplating a 3 cylinder Geo, the performance is comparable to a strong 250 cc motorcycle. That means it will hold highway speeds easily enough, but will move off from a start slowly-particularly if starting out uphill. I am not a hurried person so it fits me fine. After the valve trouble it has never failed me, and even then I was able to limp to the garage..

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 44 reviews