1991 Geo Metro Reviews - Page 7 of 10

1991 Geo Metro 2 door hatch back 1.0 3 cylinder. from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership1991
Engine and transmission 1.0 3 cylinder. Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance1200000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Chevelle

Summary:

Great go getter , student, or delivery car

Faults:

Catalytic converter, bad thermostat at 120,000 miles, window handle, one hose broke. Also forgot to close hood and then hood opened on freeway breaking my windshield.

General Comments:

This car should replace the best selling VW bug because it is more reliable, better gas mileage, cheap to fix and more room in the back with seats folding. why spend $20,000 for a hybrid when you can get a $2000 used Geo that gives you average of 45 mpg! This car is not safe in an accident, but I think when your time is up you can die in any car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th April, 2003

8th Oct 2004, 00:01

They might not be safe in an accident, however most of the time you can just zoom right out of the possible accident.

1991 Geo Metro LSi 1.0L 3 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.0L 3 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles
Previous carGeo 1995 Ford Mustang

Summary:

You will never need to look for another big parking space again

Faults:

The only item that had to be change was the convertible top. It was ripped when I bought the car.

Engine is starting to leak oil. The desert is bad on gaskets.

General Comments:

This car is great if you are looking for a reliable, fun, economical car.

I purchased this car, $1150 including tax, so I could make money on an expense account. I worked and internship that required driving to different accounts. I would make around $13/gallon of gas. Good incentive to drive economical car.

I recently decided to buy a lifted Chevy Z71. I returned the truck, loan was not complete, when I filled the tank for a week and that was my normal monthly gas bill in the Geo.

I am now replacing everything that needs to be fixed and keeping the car till it dies.

I beat this car beyond normal were and tear it always gets me were I need to go. Car is pretty good at light rock crawling.

The only bad thing I have to say is that tire manufactures stopped making OEM size tires. I had to install larger diameter tires. The larger tires gave a better ride, but I lost some of the scarce power.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd April, 2003

6th Jun 2004, 18:45

Did using larger tires give better gas mileage?

25th Jun 2004, 07:18

I purchase 13" tires for my GEO convertible at Wal-Mart for $18-$29 each. They are 40,000 mile tires and with the road hazard coverage, the cost is $28-$34 each. A GREAT buy when they are on sale! The name is Xtra-Trac are Wal-Mart brand made by Kelly Tires.

Blessings

Rev. Mike.

1991 Geo Metro lLsi 1.0L from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.0L Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired139000 miles
Most recent distance140000 miles
Previous carFord Festiva

Summary:

One step above a roller skate

Faults:

Replaced top, engine, taillights, transmission, instrument panel & gave it some seat covers!

General Comments:

A toy to play with, but take an auto mechanics class first.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd March, 2003

1991 Geo Metro Xfi 1.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired165000 miles
Most recent distance170000 miles
Previous carFord Aerostar

Summary:

An efficient, reliable, and fun commuting vehicle

Faults:

I noticed that the interior of the car started to come apart, and crack.

The doors drop slightly when opened, bad hinges?

The front wheel bearings needed to be replaced shortly after my purchase of the vehicle.

General Comments:

This low priced car is affordable, reliable form of transport, even a tight budget.

I absolutely loved this car, it was like driving a go-kart on the road. The tight turn radius added to the effect. Surprising this little 3-cylinder engine was pretty zippy, due to the cars ultra-light weight design.

The truth holds about this being a super fuel efficient car, I only had to fill up the 10-gallon tank once every 500-550 miles or so (50-55 mpg).

One of the things that surprised me the most is the amount of room inside this car, there was plenty of room to stretch out, even with 4 people. It is a well designed ergonomical, and economical car.

If you have trouble parallel parking, just get out and lift the car into the parking space :) just kidding.

I would recommend this car to anyone!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th February, 2003

1991 Geo Metro LSi 1.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired154000 miles
Most recent distance189000 miles
Previous carBuick Skyhawk

Summary:

Pure economical fun

Faults:

I had to replace struts and shocks at 179,000. Front end would shake violently at any speed over 45mph, even after having tires rebalanced. I replaced front struts and rear shocks at a cost of about $150. Well worth the cost.

This car had a crate engine with about 50,000 on it when I bought it.

Had rear window replaced when purchased at a cost of $200.

General Comments:

This is one of the most fun cars to drive I have ever owned.

I am 6'4' and am surprised how much room there is for such a small car.

Impressively spunky for a 1.0.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th January, 2003

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 44 reviews