1991 Geo Metro Reviews - Page 9 of 10

1991 Geo Metro 1.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 miles
Most recent distance99000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

We should all be driving

Faults:

Thermostat was bad when I bought it. Headlamp switch was replaced right before I bought. Still had original radiator hoses when I bought, replaced since then.

General Comments:

I was embarrassed to drive at first. After getting to know the car I don't know why the entire country is not driving one. This is the perfect car. I had no idea any car could get this good gas mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th August, 2002

1991 Geo Metro Coupe 1.0L 3-Cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.0L 3-Cylinder Manual
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.4 / 10
Distance when acquired34000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carDodge Daytona

Summary:

The biggest rip off since Milli Vanilli

Faults:

Transmission fluid leaked out (bad rear main seal)

Power steering failed, twice.

Brake lines rusted.

2 wheels fell off within 1 month.

Passenger front seat fell apart when my Grandma got in, broke her shoulder.

Rear view mirror never stays on.

Air filter housing broken 4 times.

Doors sag.

Shifts funny, feels very sloppy.

Valve stem leak, faulty rim.

General Comments:

Very appealing to vandals! Maybe because everything looks loose already. Car has been stolen 3 times in Chicago, and once on vacation in Texas. It appeared that the crooks got rid of it each time because it broke down. The biggest pile of S*** I've ever owned!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd April, 2002

2nd Nov 2002, 21:02

This review is fake and unreal, this car didn't even have power steering available. I worked at Chevrolet and these cars never had any problems. The person that wrote this review must have something against Geo-

20th Dec 2002, 08:58

I have to agree that this is BS. I used to own a 91 metro, and now a 96 metro. Both have run flawlessly. My 96 metro just hit 90k, and has not had one problem.

1991 Geo Metro LSi 3 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired1200 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

It is sporty and also economical

Faults:

Nothing. The little car runs like a top.

General Comments:

The little car is not a speed demon, but when it comes to genuine reliability, it is great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th February, 2002

1991 Geo Metro LSi 1.0L 3 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.0L 3 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired135000 miles
Most recent distance165000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

A very cheap fun car

Faults:

The fuel system caused the engine performance to suffer.

The oxygen sensor blew.

The trim fell off the dashboard.

The plastic trim came off on the drivers side.

The water pump seals leak.

The filler neck on the gas tank rusted through.

All of the gaskets leak on the engine.

General Comments:

This is a great little car.

It was not built for drag racing.

All of the parts are cheap.

This car is a great car for a beginner mechanic.

It is a very reliable car, even when some of the parts on it don't work.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th October, 2001

1991 Geo Metro LSi 1.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired103000 miles
Most recent distance116000 miles
Previous carFord F250

Summary:

Purpose built, and right on target

Faults:

Hood release lever was broken, but was still usable when I purchased the car.

Glovebox has a crack in the plastic hinge.

Radiator has a pinhole from road debris hitting it.

Cluth cable broke, due to me not replacing the hard clutch action, perhaps a pressure plate problem.

General Comments:

I am truly amazed at the reliability.

The car is extremely efficient.

I know that the cost cutting shows mostly in the interior and not the engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th October, 2001

1991 Geo Metro LSi from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance148320 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Great economy car!! Will definitely buy another one in three-four more years!!!

Faults:

Standard oil changes, belts replaced.

Recently replaced the transmission for less than $800.00.

General Comments:

Worth every penny, dependable, reliable, a real gem!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th June, 2001

1991 Geo Metro LSi 1.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.0 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance158000 miles

Summary:

Best car ever made, I love it!

Faults:

I've had nothing go wrong with this little car except a rear wheel bearing at 120,000 miles. This car has always started for me and never let me down.

General Comments:

I have driven 70 miles to work everyday in this car and never had a problem on the interstate. This car has excellent power for a 3 cylinder engine. I have no problems going 75mph on the interstate. I was going to get a new one but why bother when this one runs as good as it did the day I bought it.

A/C still works, radio sounds really good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th March, 2001

1991 Geo Metro from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.3 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance0 miles

Summary:

Junk toy car. No power

Faults:

Wouldn't go over 45 mph.

No power!!!

Timing belt rubbed into something.

General Comments:

Too small. Legs cramped all up. Felt naked on the highway because of short front. Like I had no protection at all.

I knew if I got hit I was a goner. Car drove OK for 2 days then for no reason the engine light would pop on and had no power. Wouldn't go over 45 mph. Embarrassing. Slow taking off. No power. Paid a fortune trying to fix it to no avail. Sold it after a month. I'll never buy another Metro.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th March, 2001

11th Sep 2001, 20:40

The best car in the world because it's easy for doing all kinds of tricks, the hand brake is perfect and the car turns real good.

I got it up to 95 mph. Has a very strong engine, and it's the perfect car to have.

5th Feb 2002, 17:43

I think the biggest problem I see is your car was an automatic. Automatics are not geared well and I would never suggest buying one, but a stick car is the hot ticket.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 44 reviews