1995 Geo Tracker Reviews - Page 5 of 10

1995 Geo Tracker LX 1.7 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.7 Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
0.8 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance54000 miles
Previous carSaturn SL

Summary:

Should not have been sold to the public

Faults:

Valves replaced 3 times, head gasket, brakes, air conditioner, water pump, transmission worked on, battery, rattles, floor rug.

General Comments:

Rides like a wooden roller coaster...

Cheaply made and expensive to have if you get the LEMON of the group... noisy to the extreme it will even drown out the mother-in-law.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th September, 2004

24th May 2005, 10:34

Cars do need maintenance and if they are used... they need it more, I wouldn't complain that much if I were u.

4th Aug 2007, 11:04

"Rides like a wooden roller coaster..."

I take it you didn't notice the ride in the test drive you did BEFORE you bought it? You remind me of those folks who buy a house next to an airport, then complain about the noise (well, duh...) and want the airport closed...

"Cheaply made and expensive to have if you get the LEMON of the group... noisy to the extreme it will even drown out the mother-in-law."

Couldn't disagree with you more. I have a 97 Sidekick and a 95 Tracker, both have been very reliable. Any vehicle will cause problems if they are not treated well or maintained properly.

1995 Geo Tracker LSi 4.1 FUEL INJECTION from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.1 FUEL INJECTION Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired91000 miles
Most recent distance103000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Monte Carlo

Summary:

It's fun, but I wouldn't recommended it

Faults:

I owned the car for about 4 months and the engine blew, I had just had the oil changed a few weeks prior, and it went from running great to dead in a matter of minutes.

General Comments:

I do love driving it, its cute and fun when the top is off, wind blowing through my hair, cute little horn, my kids think it's fun. It does ride a bit rough and is not designed for long distance. A bit noisy of a ride do to the soft top. No power window and locks or mirrors is a bit annoying. And it isn't a very safe built vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th August, 2004

1995 Geo Tracker 1.6 gasoline from Guatemala

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 gasoline Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired95800 kilometres
Most recent distance97900 kilometres
Previous carToyota Tercel

Summary:

Nice little all track toy

Faults:

The car did not give me any trouble at all, but I had to sell it because a very drunk teenager crashed with me face to face and practically destroyed it.

General Comments:

I would describe it as a "fun car", ideal for a guy in his early twenties, which will give you comfort, style and high mileage.

A real head turner.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th June, 2004

1995 Geo Tracker 1.6 16v from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 miles
Most recent distance135600 miles
Previous carDodge Caravan

Summary:

A great vehicle with good performance

Faults:

Replaced the transmission at 84000 miles.

General Comments:

This is a very nice little SUV. I have had this one for about four years now and has given me very little problems. I have replaced the transmission (5 speed manual) twice. The first replacement was a used one from the salvage yard and it was no good. As far as the other reviews for its size and weight it handles very well I have had it up to approximately 95 - 100 mph without problems (speedometer only goes to 85), on level ground of course. Over all I am very happy with it. The soft-top is the original from 1995 it has been repaired twice and is in need of repair. It is a fun vehicle to drive and very reliable, I have around 135,000 miles and never uses oil between oil changes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th May, 2004

1st Mar 2005, 21:23

I was in my son's GEO tracker, 5 speed and was going 60 MPH (in a 65mph) on a downhill 6% pitch road in Arizona. When I let the clutch out, the wheels locked and I was thrown out of vehicle. It happened on Sept 17th 2004.

I was in ICU for 3 weeks, almost died. Is this common? Should I sue? Any info please call me @ 928-565-4494. Ask for Joe Copia.

2nd Mar 2005, 15:27

To the above comment: how would letting the clutch out cause the wheels to lock? unless you had downshifted to first gear while driving at 60 mph?

Sorry you got "thrown out of vehicle"...is this common, you ask?

Yeah, when you don't wear seat belts, getting thrown out of the vehicle in an accident IS common. Especially an open vehicle like a Tracker. Try wearing yours next time.

Should you sue? By all means!

You should sue GM, the tire manufacturer, the dealer you bought the Tracker from, and... oh what the hell, the state of Arizona, too. You should sue all them because they failed to protect you from your own stupidity!

8th Jul 2005, 21:10

The transmission locked up in my daughters 1995 4X2 tracker just about the same way as you describe. She had to down shift in traffic, but was only going about 20 so no bad accident occurred. I have read comments where the transmissions have gone bad and been replaced. I did not get to see the old transmission. I wanted to see the gears and shafts, but it was an exchange and gone before I was able check anything.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 44 reviews