1995 Geo Tracker Reviews - Page 6 of 10

1995 Geo Tracker Base 1.4L 16v from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.4L 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance49000 miles

Summary:

A good basic SUV

Faults:

Cross member of frame rusted out at 48000 miles. Dealer wanted over $1000 to fix it, I found an independent mechanic who repaired it for $200. I decided to sell it before anything else rusted out.

If it was below freezing outside, you had to hold the transfer case lever in 4WD Low, otherwise it would pop out of gear. 2WD and 4WD High were OK.

General Comments:

This car was the last of the two door hardtop models. Only the front seats were comfortable for adults, the rear seats are only suitable for kids.

Although it was a nuisance to get out to lock and unlock the manual hubs, they never gave me any trouble the whole time I had the car.

If it were not for the rust problem, I would probably still own this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th April, 2004

1995 Geo Tracker 1.6L from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6L Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired9 miles
Most recent distance146510 miles

Summary:

Very dependable 4x4

Faults:

I have had very few problems with it. The brake light won't turn off and the dealer can't figure out why, but, there is no issues with the brakes at all.

I have had to replace one 4x4 hub and the clutch one time and little transmisson parts due to wear and tear and poor upkeep on my part.

The driver seat support broke and I replaced the seat.

Needs a new top after 9 years.

General Comments:

The 95' Geo is very reliable and gets great gas mileage. It is a good short distance driving car, but, I would not recommend it for long trips. Nothing over 750 miles. It has a very stiff suspension and you can feel every bump in the road. Not very quiet on the inside however you can manuver through the busy city streets easily with its quick 1.6 l engine because it has great acceleration.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th February, 2004

22nd Jun 2005, 19:55

Just so everyone knows, the parking brake light in the Tracker is notorious for staying on.

1995 Geo Tracker LSi from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance178000 miles
Previous carGeo Nova

Summary:

One great little vehicle!

Faults:

Headlights replaced twice.

Tires replaced.

Original battery replaced this summer.

Cigarette lighter does not work.

Interior lights sometimes come on, then again, sometimes they don't.

General Comments:

I really love this car. Although at first I was ready to trade it in. Comfort of ride is not that great, but dependabilty far exceeded the comfort zone. It seems built for a woman (I am 5'3). We have taken long trips with it, and it is great around town.

Next time though, I am getting a 4-door. Need more room to carry my shopping.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th November, 2003

5th Oct 2006, 13:32

Check the dome light switch at the bottom of each door, as they do wear and sometimes come lose.

1995 Geo Tracker 2 Door 4X4 1.7 Liter from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.7 Liter Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Most recent distance78000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Truck

Summary:

Great little 4X4 SUV for the money!

Faults:

The battery needed to be replaced.

The drivers side window does not roll up properly.

The cigarette lighter had to be replaced.

General Comments:

Great little car. It has a lot of power for it's size. I can't wait to see how it does off road. Great gas mileage. I have a Chevy Silverado 4X4, but the gas is way to expensive to use for this truck work. That's why I bought this little tracker and I'm glad I did. 28 miles to the gallon is great. I get as far with my Geo Tracker as I did with my Silvarado and it costs me under $20.00 as opposed to $55.00. Also with the back seat up and a hard top I still have room for my tools. I would recommend this car to everyone. It runs very strong, and is very fun to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th September, 2003

6th Jan 2004, 10:53

This was almost comical to read the review of the 1995 Tracker. I live in Kentucky and also own a 1995 Tracker. I too replaced the battery in 2002. My drivers side window doesn't roll up when it is wet or raining out side. I had my cigarette lighter replaced also. I now have to have my soft top replaced due to some severe weather conditions from a trip to Texas. But I am at 85,000 miles and going strong. Original owner and never want to sell. :-)

Cassy.

15th Jul 2005, 16:51

This is funny. I have a 95 tracker also and the cigarette lighter is fried, and the driver window goes out of wack too. So far the battery has been fine. When the window jams, I just grab it and pull it up till it rolls up smooth. LOVE my tracker at 115,000 miles and still counting!

Jo.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 44 reviews