1995 Geo Tracker Reviews - Page 9 of 10

1995 Geo Tracker normal 1.8 4 cylinder inline from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 4 cylinder inline Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired46000 miles
Most recent distance46000 miles
Previous carGeo n/a

Summary:

A cheap car that's very well worth the money

Faults:

I would like to say that the car is perfect. I am 16, so this is my first car, and I do understand that I don't have much experience over the difference in other cars, but I must say that this car worked perfectly. I recently flipped the car going offroading, and I would like to say, that I was amazed by how much damage it took. Ofcourse the car is totaled, but the engine and most of the body is in perfect condition.

General Comments:

If it ever comes to a decision on which car to buy, I would like to say that this car has a nice accelerating kick (from 0mph to about 30mph), and that it may look funny, but when it comes to withstanding damage, it withstands a lot more dmg than many other cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd May, 2002

1995 Geo Tracker 4X4 LSi Convertible 1.6 16v SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v SOHC Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance93000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Very capable off road, cute looks on road

Faults:

The first major repair was a bad set of synchros installed at the factory. These were repaired under warranty at 15000 miles. Also of note are the rear ABS sensors which routinely fail in Chevrolets.

If you are the owner of a Tracker with the optional skid plates be cautious, about half of the time the dealer will incorrectly install them and/or leave them off altogether because of the effort needed to replace them correctly after an oil change.

General Comments:

This has been a very fun little truck. I use the word truck because it handles, rides, sounds, and performs off road like a big truck. However if you absolutely have to go anywhere on earth reliably, in fashion, and to the tune of 25+ miles per gallon, you have found your niche.

I have driven both versions of the SOHC 1.6 motor offered, and finding the higher output 4 valve head motor is a must. Even with 20 more HP, the "bigger" motor is barely adequate. But adequate in most ways and stellar in some is what this Tracker is all about!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st January, 2002

29th Oct 2005, 08:25

29Oct05 Oklahoma:

How can buyer know if engine is higher horsepower 4 valve engine?

Tnx.

Dwilson@wiredok.com.

1995 Geo Tracker 2 door soft top 1.6L from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6L Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance82000 miles

Summary:

One very reliable car

Faults:

With 82,000 on the odometer, nothing has gone wrong with this car. It is a dream to own and maintain. It is so user friendly you will be able to do all the tune-ups yourself.

General Comments:

This is a fun and VERY reliable convertible, it is rough on the ride though but this is a small price to pay for a reliable car.

Make sure you do a tune up every 25,000 as I have. 82,000 with no problems.

It just doesn't feel as safe on the road though you need to get a good feel for its limitations. I don't feel too stable in it over 65 because it is so light.

This is one great car though, I will keep this one forever now that I have just payed her off. GO TRACKER!!!!!!!!!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th September, 2000

1995 Geo Tracker Hardtop 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired80100 miles
Most recent distance82200 miles
Previous carFord 95 Thunderbird V8

Summary:

Get's the job done!!

Faults:

Brakes leaked at the line near the booster - but it stopped when I teflon taped it. Lucky!!

General Comments:

Above 55 it handles sketchy - at big sweeper corners the steering wheel has a slipping feel in the linkage left OR right at about 1/4th turn..

Also lowered rear 2" to level it & it now handles better.

Freed up tail pipe system.. 3500 rpm's at 70 mph is good..

205-75-15 tires. Might go 205-60-15 for better handling?

22 mpg only.

Still great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st August, 2000

1995 Geo Tracker 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired10225 miles
Most recent distance88000 miles
Previous carGeo Metro

Summary:

Very dependable

Faults:

Plastic door handle broke when a friend snatched it way to hard, Geo fixed it for 33.00.

General Comments:

Great truck/car vehicle. Very dependable. Good on gas for an SUV. Better styled than its twin Sidekick. Lots of pulling power in fifth gear that you don't see in most vehicles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd July, 2000

1995 Geo Tracker LSi 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired600 miles
Most recent distance86000 miles
Previous carGeo Tracker

Summary:

Rugged, reliable, and cute!

Faults:

Water pump, the radiator busted at the top and thank god I had a warranty because the radiator itself was 600.00 dollars! I just couldn't believe it but somehow it's true, I couldn't find one anywhere else except for Geo/Chevy. Besides that nothing.

General Comments:

Great truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st May, 2000

27th Sep 2001, 17:35

I had the same problem though my radiator only cost me $175, and I installed it myself.. got it at Pet Boys auto parts store.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 44 reviews