1995 Geo Tracker Reviews - Page 8 of 10

1995 Geo Tracker 2 Seater from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired67000 miles
Most recent distance71000 miles
Previous carDodge Grand Caravan

Summary:

Wonderful, tiny, SUV

Faults:

The rear door gets stuck.

Can't always see out of the back plastic window.

Zipper tore on the back plastic window.

General Comments:

This car is small. I mean very tiny. From the center of the car you could touch every other point on the car.

I love this thing I take it mudding sometimes and it handles better than a jeep wrangler. It's So light.

One problem is people in the back seat get very uncomfortable. No air conditioning back there and very cramped leg room.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th September, 2002

1995 Geo Tracker from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired72546 miles
Most recent distance96584 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Buy one!!!

Faults:

Nothing went wrong, it was perfect!!!

General Comments:

Long distance trips were a little uncomfortable, but worth it in the summer with the top down.

A little tipsy in strong winds.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th July, 2002

16th Mar 2005, 19:37

I have driven my 95 Tracker from Maine to Memphis, TN, Pensacola, FL, Yorktown, Va, Swansboro, NC, and Beaufort, SC. My Tracker performed beautifully. By the way, I'm a senior citizen and have problems entering low cars! No problem with my Tracker.

1995 Geo Tracker 2 dr Soft top from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired66000 miles
Most recent distance84000 miles
Previous carBuick Skyhawk

Summary:

Greatest car I have owned!

Faults:

The only thing I have had to do is light maintenance. I did get a new top for it, but other than that, new clutch, and regular maintenance.

General Comments:

Love, love, love this car! This is the third car I have owned, and as I get older, it helps to keep me feeling young. What more could you want from an automobile. It may be a little bumpy, but it is not enough to worry about.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th June, 2002

1995 Geo Tracker 1.6 SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 SOHC Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired41000 miles
Most recent distance97000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Cheap shoddy vehicle

Faults:

Drivers door top hinge rusted out, causing the door to basically fall off.

A/C evaporator blew out, 1 day after owning the vehicle.

Transmission will not shift into 2nd gear when cold.

Plastic frame that holds the convertible top on the vehicle is busting apart.

General Comments:

Overall this is a decent performing offroad vehicle. It's only two wheel drive, without a limited slip, so if your getting into something such as sand or mud, forget it. On rocks, and hard soil it's quite hard to get stuck though, because it has such a short wheel base, and is so light.

I'd recommend this car for someone who needs a quasi reliable vehicle, as a 2nd car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th May, 2002

23rd Jul 2003, 08:51

Same thing happened with the hinge on my 1995 Sidekick. How did you manage the repair on it? I am still struggling a way or someone to do it for less than the value of the car.

12th Nov 2003, 15:41

If you proceed with a web search, Google, Yahoo, MSN, AOL, or any others you should be able to resolve the hinge problems for you doors. Try entering "repair-replace door hinge Geo Tracker."

16th Nov 2005, 00:42

The door of my 1995 Geo Tracker also rusted off, but I was able to fish a strong piece of steel through one of the holes towards the front of the door. Once I got it in the position I needed it in, I bolted the door to it. Since doing this my door has stayed on really well, even better than before. Hope this helps anyone.

14th Mar 2007, 06:58

No transmition will shift if you're beating it up in the COLD weather. If it's Winter time and it's cold out, you're supposed to know to let your car run for a little bit; Let it heat up. You don't start it up and punch it. That's why you're having this problem. Take my advice, let it warm up and I garuentee you won't have this problem again.

19th Apr 2007, 08:48

I have the same problem with mine and it has nothing to do with letting it warm up. Still haven't found a solution and still looking for one.

4th Aug 2007, 10:26

Sorry, but it has a LOT to do with warming it up! My 97 Sidekick and now my 95 Tracker both do the same thing with shifting when cold. Both of them shift fine after a little warm-up. A lot of manual transmissions will be hard-shifting when cold. In some colder environments some folks opt to put in lighter-weight gear oil to help with shifting, but only if they are not going to do long highway cruising.

Maybe you haven't found the solution because you're not willing to accept the solution.

1st Apr 2008, 19:23

You could also try changing the tranny fluid and putting an additive in it. I helped with both of mine.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 44 reviews