1999 GMC Jimmy Reviews - Page 9 of 11

1999 GMC Jimmy SLT 4.3 Vortec from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.3 Vortec Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 kilometres
Most recent distance110000 kilometres
Previous carGMC Jimmy

Faults:

The Alternator had the be changed in the first week of purchase.

Front and Rear Brake Pads had to be replaced within 10000kms of getting the vehicle.

The shifter assembly ceased up one day while the vehicle was parked.

The water pump had to be replaced, because vehicle was somehow leaking coolant and ran empty for 2 months (no warning light to notify driver).

The doors constantly need to be lubed with WD 40, due to heavy squeaking.

I find that all the interior parts in the vehicle that GM purchases/or makes are really poor quality. The plastic components seem to break easily.

Fuel efficiciency is absolutely terrible, city driving will get to about 450 kms to a 60 + Litre tanks, and on the highway it drops to about 375 kms to a 60 + Litre tank.

General Comments:

Great car, but terrible on gas (Do not buy used) .

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th August, 2005

1999 GMC Jimmy SLE from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired34000 miles
Most recent distance71000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

Lemon

Faults:

Both rear rotors and all brake pads had to be replaced before I drove it off the dealerships yard.

Rear wiper motor gone at 34,000 miles.

Both front wheel bearing replaced at 49,000 miles and the drivers side front is bad again at 71,000 miles.

Air intake motor gone at 50,000 miles.

Front rotors need to be turned or replaced again at 50,000 miles and 70,000 miles.

Gas gage stopped working at 50,000 miles.

Front door hinge need to be replaced at purchase due to rattle.

Rear speakers on my Bose stereo works only when they want to.

Oil coolant lines are leaking at 50,000 miles.

General Comments:

I am completely disgusted with this product.

I think it is a lemon.

When I bought it I was assured that it was a good vehicle. I traded a 1995 Blazer only because of the mileage. I should have kept it because this Jimmy at 33,000 miles is junk.

Too few miles for all the problems I have had. GM should make some compensation.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th July, 2005

7th Jul 2005, 23:35

Only 6 yrs old the jimmy needed oil lines fixed, ball joints replaced 3 TIMES, ball bearings replaced in the front and I only had it for 3 yrs. I wish I bought a jeep instead.

12th Aug 2005, 12:46

I've had the same problems, oil cooler lines leaking, both front wheel bearings replaced 3 times, now the front left axle is going out. I have had to replace the fuel pump at 80,000 miles. And when I asked the dealership about it they told me that I was lucky that they usually go out before 50,000. Lucky uh!

29th Nov 2005, 19:47

Thank you so much for taking the time to enter these comments.

We are debating between a Jeep and a really pretty 2000 Jimmy. My mind is made up after reading the comments on this site.

Again-thanks.

15th Feb 2008, 13:18

I wish I would have read your comments before I bought my GMC lemon.

15th Dec 2008, 05:30

My 1999 Jimmy SLT oil lines were replaced at 60.000. They will have to be replaced again at 97.000. A local shop says they're known for that; and the driver's door pins, also. It costs $80.00 for the lines, so I am glad I can use a wrench. There is supposed to be a lifetime warranty on 'Dorman' oil lines.

The 4WD vacuum switch with check ball is a common problem. The problem is getting to it.

1999 GMC Jimmy SLE 4.6L V6 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.6L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired93000 miles
Most recent distance98000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Delta 88

Summary:

Good car, but I would buy a Jeep Next time

Faults:

After first buying the car, I had to replace the ball bearings. $450.00.

Door pins are all bent and must be replaced.

Back window wiper no longer works and just grinds when turned on.

Weather stripping on passenger door is loose and leaks water in the rain.

Bad seal around windshield and air comes in while driving causing a very loud noise. Have tried to find cause several times and I am unable to correct problem.

Driver's door panel has broken in half and I cannot use the handle to close the door.

Breaks continue to squeal even though I have put top of the line brake pads on.

Break pedal will go all the way to the floor one moment and then back to normal the next. No shop can figure out why.

Front wheel bearings have gone out at 97,000 miles and cost $900 to replace.

Cannot buy single bearing, must buy the entire assembly for replacement.

Back hatch release button does not work and there is no key in the back. Must use interior button.

Driver's outside electronic mirror no longer works. I just move it by hand.

General Comments:

I bought this car because I needed a durable SUV for work that would also be dependable. Most of the problems with the car don't bother me and I don't worry about fixing them. The ball joints and the Front bearings though SHOULD NOT have gone out so soon. I am also quite with the fact that a bearing costs 400 dollars, definitely a design flaw by GMC. Especially since they are about the only ones you can buy a new one from.

I like the car overall, I just hope that things will quit breaking on it and will soon be a reliable car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd June, 2005

3rd Jul 2008, 21:59

You must live in Canada with a very highly paid mechanic. Those hubs are not hard to replace at all. Hubs at aftermarket auto stores are about $135.00 each. If you have or can borrow a 2 jaw puller and an 18mm wrench, you can fix it yourself. Whoever charged you $900.00 for both hubs saw you coming and took you for the ride, not the car.

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 35 reviews