1986 Honda Accord Reviews - Page 11 of 12

1986 Honda Accord LX 2.0 carb from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 carb Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance97500 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

Very reliable car

Faults:

Power window broke.

Power locks don't work.

The thermostat was stuck closed.

General Comments:

This is a great car.

All of the problems I have had are very minor.

I wish it had a little more power, but it is very reliable.

Mine only has 97500 miles, which is really low for its age, and it hasn't rusted at all.

If you can find a good deal on one, go for it. You might pay a little more in the beginning, but in the long run, you will be glad you did.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th October, 2001

1986 Honda Accord LX 2.0 12v from Chile

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 12v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance0 miles
Previous carRenault 9

Summary:

A very dependable car

Faults:

The car has a pulsating brake pedal when the brakes are applied, but this started after a visit to a brake shop, so I think it's their fault.

General Comments:

The car is very well built, everything looks fine, the upholstery looks like new.

I recently hit a 1.5 feet high rock that I didn't see, the car went through over it, the oil pan was seriously damaged as was the exhaust pipe, the engine hit the hood making a dent on it, also the engine mounts were bent. But the engine kept running allowing me to return safely home. I wonder if another car would have survived in an accident like this.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th August, 2001

1986 Honda Accord DX from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership1997
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired240000 miles
Most recent distance303000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Excellent buy, excellent fuel mileage

Faults:

The Honda Accord DX 1986 model really took a beating. The flip up light shorted out, fuel pump, brakes, radiator.

General Comments:

This car handled really well to the day that I traded it in at 303,000 miles.

Pretty much all the problems I had with it were self inflicted.

I thought that the car seemed very modern compared to other 1986 models. I really wish that I could find another one exactly like it, I see them all the time but they're not for sale.

The car started in -50 F weather all winter.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd July, 2001

1986 Honda Accord LX 2.0L gasoline from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0L gasoline Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired129000 miles
Most recent distance135100 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Achieva

Summary:

Excellent car overall

Faults:

I absolutely love my Honda Accord. The only thing that irritates me slightly is that it is leaking oil a little bit, but I can live with that for the excellent gas mileage it gets.

The cruise control also did not work, but I easily fixed that with a $2.00 cost to put a new button in the thing.

General Comments:

I bought this vehicle used, at an auto-auction for $680.00. It has paid for itself already in about one month.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th June, 2001

25th Oct 2011, 01:00

I own a 1982 Accord LX. I bought it with 238000 miles on it. The car is solid and runs great. I would definitely buy another one.

1986 Honda Accord LXi Don't know - 2.0? from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Don't know - 2.0? Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired47000 miles
Most recent distance187000 miles
Previous carDatsun 510

Summary:

It has served me well in trips cross country and many times to the mountains, as well as commuting

Faults:

The fuel pump died, in the car wash (circa 80K).

The timing belt broke twice, both times just before I took in for servicing. Once at 70000 and another at 180 (there was another belt in there that was replaced normally). Both times, no damage.

It is getting hard to find parts for it; the paint job is going, going...

General Comments:

This car has been great, despite it's occasional breakdowns. But few in 12 years.

I change the oil faithfully; I stopped going to the dealer years ago because everytime I did, it was $400 and once they broke my turn signal knob ($400) and claimed no fault.

I wish Honda still made this zippy hatchback, because I would buy one in a second. The new Accords are well, dumpy. When the LXi finally gives up, I'll probably inherit my mother's '83 hatchback Accord - 45000 original miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th March, 2001

25th Aug 2001, 23:47

I'm only sixteen and I got this car around July, 2001 from my step uncle, it has 211,000 miles on it and it still runs perfect. It oddly fast too, even though only a 2.0 liter, 4 cylinder I have raced many new hondas just for fun and beaten them by a landslide, I really love this car.

28th Aug 2001, 13:04

I just bought a 1986 Accord LX with 200k~ miles and it runs great but I was wondering why it sounds so loud when you accelerate speed. It sounds like it is winding up and then the winding sounds gets really fast. Is this normal? And is the loudness of the engine while it is sounds like it's winding up normal? I have never owned a Honda and have no clue if this is normal or if there is a problem.

22nd Nov 2001, 07:59

I got a question on an 1986 Accord LXi. When I start the car, the pgmfi light is coming on for few minutes, what does that mean?

31st Mar 2006, 09:37

Your PGM-Fi light comes on every now and then because your 0-2 sensors need to be either taken out or replaced, whatever you want to do. Same thing happened to mine, but it was when I was driving, and it chugged.

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 53 reviews