1997 Honda Accord Reviews - Page 12 of 14

1997 Honda Accord EX 2.2 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired97000 kilometres
Most recent distance137000 kilometres

Summary:

Excellent Car

Faults:

My Driving Running Light (DRL) module had to be replaced at 120000. Fairly common problem as per dealer, cost me 350$.

My Radiator cracked and needed to be replaced at 150 000km Although it was about -40 outside.

CV boots replaced.

General Comments:

This car is very reliable and really lives up to a Honda. Buy an accord in a heart beat.

Accord in the neigborhood has 375km and still purrrss.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th November, 2004

29th Jul 2006, 14:42

The 200$ CAN relay for the DRL is very easy to fix, it took me 15 min. and bingo!!! Write me to ghost2k83@hotmail.com if anyone wants to know how.I'll be very happy to help you.

1997 Honda Accord LX 2.1 I-4 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.1 I-4 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired41500 miles
Most recent distance130700 miles
Previous carDodge Intrepid

Summary:

The Honda Accord is a work horse!

Faults:

Front driver's side ball joint replaced at 63,400 miles.

Front driver's side wheel bearing replaced at 108,000.

Front seats have started squeaking.

Poor brake design will cost you a little more when you repair the brakes.

General Comments:

This car is extremely reliable.

Nice design keeps gives car "updated" feel.

Easy to do routine maintenance and dealership is fair with their pricing on parts and labor.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th October, 2004

1997 Honda Accord SE from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired55000 miles
Most recent distance76500 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Eye catching masterpiece

Faults:

Had to replace entire exhaust, which was possibly caused by road salt damage.

Also had a wheel bearing problem.

General Comments:

This is a great car. It is very reliable and gets great gas mileage. It is quick to accelerate, although it would be nice to have more horsepower. It also handles beautifully.

Muffler and brakes cost a bit more to fix than previous vehicles I've owned, but that is all the money I've had to put into it.

The brilliant red color and chrome trim are eye catching and receive many positive comments.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th June, 2004

1997 Honda Accord SE 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired3 kilometres
Most recent distance178000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen GTI

Summary:

An excellent choice

Faults:

Passenger power window (after 8 years).

Air conditioning never worked well. Died after 3 years.

Head gasket and transmission gasket starting to go at 173,000 kms.

The car was bulletproof, no real problems. The above issues were due, if you will, except for the AC.

General Comments:

This was my 1st brand new car. It was extremely reliable, and never let me down. I drove the car really hard during the 1st 5-6 years, to the point of abusing it. It was great on gas. I can't find anything wrong with the car except for the AC.

Overall, the car was excellent, and I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a reliable, trouble free daily driver. Handling was good, and after lowering it 2 inches, it was excellent. It wasn't the fastest car, but for what it was, no complaints. It did everything well, especially braking.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th May, 2004

1997 Honda Accord LX from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance81200 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

It's a Honda, it'll last forever!

Faults:

Head Gasket went in 2002 at 80,000 miles.

Need brakes every 20,000 miles.

Tires needed every 25,000 miles.

Tire balancing needed always.

General Comments:

Great Car! Handles Perfectly. Perfect size for a family or a couple. Runs forever. Overall great car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd December, 2002

1997 Honda Accord LX V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission V6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired197000 miles
Most recent distance231000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

A very reliable car

Faults:

I had to replace the door handle, but to poor handling of that.

If not for normal wear and tear, this is an excellent car to have.

General Comments:

I love how my Honda hugs the road.

Very quick!

Great handling.

Great gas mileage. 35 m/gallon in town.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th November, 2002

1997 Honda Accord SE from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired12000 miles
Most recent distance78000 miles
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

Great Car will buy another

Faults:

Check Engine Sensor at 77,000 miles. Replaced right away by Honda N/C to me.

CD Player also replaced by Honda 45,000 at N/C to me.

General Comments:

A bit low to the ground for my taste, but you can't beat the mileage. I get 420 miles to the take and was still going strong until we had a car accident.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th October, 2002

1997 Honda Accord EX wagon 2.2L VTEC from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2L VTEC Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired16000 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

EX wagons rock

Faults:

AC ran out of gas this year. Recharge in May seems to be holding, but it labors on hot muggy days.

There's a very slow leak in one of the alloy wheels (5 lbs. over 1 week) that I keep an eye on. It's been like that for a while.

General Comments:

Looks nice, good visibility, the absolute best dashboard layout in the history of autos, drives really well, this model Honda has served me well. ABS brakes have allowed me to steer away from two potential accidents under hard braking.

I owned a 1994 with 175,000 miles on it, and an '86 Accord hatcback with 245,000 miles before that. None of these cars have been a hassle. The seats are pretty good for comfort, but stiff. Full size spare tire is nice.

This is my first Honda with an automatic transmission and it's the weak spot of the car. It hunts for gears on hills, and shifts early when accelerating hard. Mileage is not as good as my manuals, but it has more go left when passing at speed. It handles extremely well at higher speeds, but feels a little numb around town.

I change the oil religiously every 3,000 miles, and keep the other maintainance things up to date at an independent Honda service center and have been a happy driver.

An all around champ economy car cleverly disguised as an economical sports wagon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th July, 2002

7th Jun 2004, 19:56

Extreme weather changes will make a tire lose some pressure. Sometimes the weather will do that to all of them, or sometimes just one of them.

24th Sep 2006, 01:09

I had that tire leak problem on my honda for 2 months and later found out I had a nail in it. Went to Discount Tire Co. and got it plugged for free. So check your tires for nails if they're leaking.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 53 reviews