1997 Honda Accord EX-L 2.3 from North America

Summary:

Buy it for reliability, speed, and beauty

Faults:

I have had no problems at all with my car. Although my headlight blew, that is all that has broken after 90,000 miles and I drive it like a race car.

General Comments:

I bought my 1997 Accord in 1999. I knew it was a great car when I saw its rich black paint, grey leather interior, and its body rockin' 5-speed.

Although I have seen some bad reviews about this model Accord, leave it to Honda to make a 4-cylinder that can outrun a Mustang GT and a Camaro RS. I have had my car up to 135mph and still had about 3 inches of pedal to go. This is no timid car, just put the pedal down and go.

To get reliability out of your car you have to change the oil every 3,000 miles without exception. I had a 1987 Accord LX-I and it had 302,000 miles on it until it met a 1985 Monte Carlo SS and it was totaled.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th October, 2001

10th Aug 2003, 10:43

You must be on serious drugs if you think a 4 cylinder Honda can take a V-8 powered Mustang!

8th Mar 2004, 14:25

0-60 time for a late model Mustang GT is 6.0 seconds flat. The 94-97 Accord 4-cylinder with 5-speed does it in 8.9 seconds. That is a significant difference. the Only Accord that can give a V8 Mustang a good run is the 2003-04 EX Coupe with V6 and 6-speed.

8th Mar 2004, 20:33

Not the GT buddy, maybe the six cylinder Mustang, even then only if the other guy is stoned. Get a life and drive a real car before you call yours fast.

29th Nov 2004, 12:38

He never did mention that his Accord would beat the Stang in the quartre or 0-60. Top speed, the 97 Accord is astonishing. 135 to me is believable considering that Car and Driver got the 97 LX 4-cyl to do 129 mph. I'd test my own if I had Z-rated tires.

1997 Honda Accord EX 2.3 from North America

Summary:

Reliable, economical, and fun to drive

Faults:

Had two wheels replaced. They did not hold air. Handled under warranty. Also, black looks good on the lot, but it shows everything.

General Comments:

The car has been quite reliable. It runs well and it's fun to drive.

Gas mileage is good with an average of 27 mpg.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd September, 2001

1997 Honda Accord S 1.8i from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A reliable family car, expensive to run

Faults:

No faults, reliability cannot be faulted.

General Comments:

I should have chosen a larger engine as the 1.8 struggles with the weight of the body, the 2.0 is a better option.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th June, 2001

17th Jun 2001, 23:52

Of course the Honda is going to be sluggish going from a Bimmer. For the money you cannot get a better ca than the 3 Series, E36 or the new E46.

1997 Honda Accord A/C 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Reliable, well built and expensive

Faults:

I bought the car from a local Honda main dealer, it is a one owner, full service history etc. I paid £8,900 for it, six months later I went back to trade up for a newer model and the dealer offered me £6000 for it!

I have found the servicing very expensive, but overall the car has been very reliable.

General Comments:

Great on the motorway, but as I said servicing is totally overpriced and when you go back to part ex they will give you ridiculous prices so beware. I should have sticked with my BMW.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th May, 2001

1997 Honda Accord SE V6 from North America

Summary:

Worthless junk!

Faults:

Seems like everything!

This car has been a disaster since the day I bought it. It stalls frequently in traffic and has idiot lights that come on and stay on. Frequent trips to the dealer were ineffective.

The brakes squeak at the lightest touch.

The paint has runs and generally poor quality.

General Comments:

Never will buy one again!

Junk from the day I bought it to the day I sold it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th April, 2001

27th Sep 2001, 19:56

Accord SE was not available with a V6...

12th Oct 2001, 15:27

Maybe you should've ran a lemon check on that car, sounds like you're having after market problems.

14th Oct 2002, 22:14

My 97 Accord SE is a great car. I get 420 miles to the tank on the highway. I have had the car since 12,000 miles and it now has 78,000 miles with no problems. I would buy another one in a heartbeat. Unfortunately it was just involved in a car accident and was totaled. It has held the value very well so we will be buying another with the insurance money. It is/was a great car, no one was hurt.