1997 Honda Accord Reviews - Page 14 of 14

1997 Honda Accord SE 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired115000 kilometres
Most recent distance116200 kilometres
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Excellent car for day to day driving

Faults:

Local dealer did not have the code for the radio/CD, had to dismantle the radio from the dash and send it to the manufacturer to put in a new code (2 weeks)!

Bearing in the left rear wheel replaced, speed sensor replaced, all on warranty.

General Comments:

This model, specially in the color Mystic Blue looks really good.

In city mileage is not as good as expected.

Ride though is excellent.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd March, 2001

7th Sep 2001, 13:31

Agree with radio code hassle, but once you have the radio out, (15 minute operation with a phillips screwdriver), any Honda dealer can look up the codes.

You should not have had to send it off to the manufacturer.

Make certain you write the codes in the owners manual. Same goes for key codes.

31st Oct 2001, 02:45

I found the code to mine in the glove box on the top far left side. There is a little white sticker with two sets of numbers on it. The smaller number is the stereo code for when your radio asks for the code.

25th Feb 2003, 14:53

Speaking of stereos--I have a '96 with the factory am/fm/cassette/CD. The CD player is balky and will sometimes not start playing a CD. Instead, it will change back to the radio and eject the CD. If I leave the CD in place, the drive will eventually pull it back in, but then go to the "Pause" mode. If I press play, it'll eject, again. After 5-10 minutes of this nonsense, it'll finally start playing. Anyone else have a similar experience?

1997 Honda Accord LX V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
0.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles

Summary:

Very disappointed

Faults:

Check engine always on even after taking it to the Honda service center.

The car jerks.

The odometer jumps or drops to 0 while driving. Yes, I took it to the Honda service center and they did not know what was wrong with the car.

General Comments:

Honda of North America don't have to worry, I will not buy anything made by Honda again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th October, 2000

19th Mar 2001, 11:32

I don't know that I can agree at all with that comment. I've had my '97 Accord LX (V6) for almost five years now and it hasn't given me the slightest bit of trouble (aside from the CD player - 6 disc in the trunk - dying on me shortly after I got it, but this was fixed immediately and hasn't acted up since). I love this car, I think it drives amazingly well and gets decent gas mileage for the high-performance category it fits into. Now, my Accord only has 40K miles on it, so maybe your post is right and my car will die on me in the next 10K miles, but I really can't see that happening.

16th Jul 2001, 16:52

Car stalls, losses power at times. Most of the time on the open road. Dealer cannot find problem. Very disappointed.

10th Sep 2002, 13:19

My friend's 97 Accord has terrible power window problems on both sides, door lock problems, and now the car will stall out for a second in the middle of driving and then start right back up again. AND he keeps his car in immaculate condition. Hondas have givin me nothing but trouble. Don't even get me started talking about my sister's 91 Integra.

8th Mar 2004, 14:31

Perhaps some of these people should spend some time with a Taurus. After the transmission failures, head gasket failures, over heating problems and electrical issues...they'll be begging for their old Accords back.

20th Mar 2005, 14:45

To the above poster... Perhaps you should accept the fact that Honda isn't perfect, either.

Any car from any make is bound to have some problems, these things happen.

3rd Jun 2006, 13:18

Maybe too except the fact that no one is perfect and American cars are way far from perfect.

2nd Jun 2007, 14:32

Many car makers constantly try to add new features to a car, not knowing what the consequences will be, so when you take your car in for a repair, they are just as flabbergasted as a local mechanic would be. Except you pay overpriced dealer costs. My take is, if you want something your gonna need fixed, buy an old car with a 4 cylinder and fix it yourself. Otherwise, get one with a good warranty and make payments for the rest of your life.

1997 Honda Accord V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
Engine and transmission  
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10

Faults:

No problems.

General Comments:

The only real problem I seem to have is that the car hesitates when shifting from first to second gear. Other than that, I absolutely love the car! A good car for women!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 1998

1997 Honda Accord LX 1.3 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1997
Engine and transmission 1.3 4 cylinder
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10

Faults:

The only problem was the radio provided with the car, it had defects in the cassette mechanism. and they replaced it twice and after the second time, they took it out and cut me a check for $300 which is what I paid for it.

General Comments:

I love this car, it is the best riding car I've ever owned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 1998

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 53 reviews