1999 Honda Accord Reviews - Page 8 of 16

1999 Honda Accord LX from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles

Summary:

Very reliable, not bad

Faults:

Not much... got a thousand dollar repair bill awhile back (lots of stuff went wrong, all at once) but very little.

General Comments:

Nice and roomy, good comfy seats.

Could do better on the acceleration front, though.

Gas economy ain't that bad, but could be better.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th October, 2006

1999 Honda Accord from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Previous carhonda accord

Summary:

The best

Faults:

Nothing, not a GM.

General Comments:

Perfect midsize family sedan.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th September, 2006

25th Sep 2006, 08:45

"Nothing, not a GM."

Just what is that supposed to mean?

GM builds some very good cars as well as some very bad cars, much like Honda, Toyota & Nissan.

The amount of thought put into this review most likely equals the extent of the reviewer's automotive expertise.

25th Sep 2006, 10:49

Yeah, Honda's bad engine was when they were going to build a household blender. It did not fly, especially with the homemaker crowd.

19th Aug 2009, 12:14

"Nothing. Not a GM."

This is a little unfair, I mean sure, GM vehicles are known for being completely unreliable and needing many major repairs once the odometer reaches 100,000 but... Who am I kidding? This is totally right!

1999 Honda Accord LS 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier

Summary:

Great car, reliable

Faults:

First problem rear passenger door hand broke £30 from dealer and fitted my self.

Second problem more serious, was the collapse of the ignition barrel, local Honda dealer quoted £250 + labour + VAT to repair.

Bear and grin, I put it down to general wear and tear.

General Comments:

Car has been fantastic till recently, two problems in the past week!

Being the 1.8 mode, cheap to insure group 8.

Has loads of extras, that you would have to pay for on other makes of cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd August, 2006

1999 Honda Accord LX 2.3L I4 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.3L I4 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired22000 miles
Most recent distance78000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

To be honest - I'll probably never buy another Honda again.

Faults:

Note - this was a "Certified Honda Used Car"

Wheel was out of balance - took to dealership several times - they rebalanced - never was "right". Took to a tire place - found out that the wheel was actually out of round (warped) - replaced the wheel - no problems afterward.

Front Brakes had to be replaced 2 times in 40k+ miles - Dealer could not find any problems with the brakes - however outside repair technician finally commented that rotors were severely warped for quite a long time. Had an F150 prior - drove 50k miles - never had to change the brakes once.

Clutch had to be replaced at 72k miles. According to the repair technician - clutch was severely burned - most likely due prior to my purchase (old burn).

Oil leak detected @ 74k miles - Head Gasket was blown - leaked oil onto the timing belt, etc.

Needless to say - I traded in this vehicle and took a huge loss on it @ 78k miles. Traded it in on a 2004 Kia Optima LX - 16k miles to date and NO problems.

This was my first Honda that I've owned - probably will be the last.

General Comments:

Overall - the Accord - when not in the shop - was a nice car to drive. Mileage was acceptable - Quiet - fairly smooth ride - kind of "jumpy" over rougher roads.

Reliable? with the amount of money I spent fixing the problems with the Honda - I'd have my Kia Optima paid off by now.

The Optima is the same option-for-option as the previous Honda Accord - plus I now have a 10yr/100,000 mile warranty to boot.

Please note - I believe this specific car had issues - I have several friends with Accords that haven't had any issues. Essentially - I seriously question the validity of Honda's "Certified Car" program - obviously this car fell through the cracks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th July, 2006

27th Jul 2006, 21:21

Through the Honda certified used car program I got a new battery, brakes, and everything else checked out on my 99 Honda Accord V-6. Car is now at 130,000 miles and the only thing that has gone wrong has been the ignition recall and the alternator (Delphi).

28th Jul 2006, 16:24

Again (I'm the original poster of this message) - this may have been *entirely* due to how the original owner treated the car.

I had an '89 Escort (Mazda Engine) that I literally beat the hell out of (wrecked several times, etc.) - but I got 140k miles out of the thing - only changed the brakes twice - timing belt once - Clutch once - sold it for $1k and last I heard it was up to 190k miles and still running.

Compared to the Escort - I "babied" this car - used only to work and back - never wrecked - never "off-road" - regular oil changes at 3k miles, etc.

I've owned several other various makes models as well (Dodge, Chrysler, Ford, Mercury, Pontiac, Chevrolet, Kia, and most recently... Hyundai) - NONE of these makes / models have given me near the amount of trouble that this particular Honda did. *All* of them had high average mileage (20-30k+/year)

Like I said - other friends have Hondas without *any* problems - but it only takes one lemon to "sour" you... This one did it for me.

Heck - right after I traded the Honda - one of my friends, who own an Acura Sedan, was telling me I shouldn't have gotten rid of it and he couldn't believe all the trouble I had out of it. Not less than a month later - His transmission went out @ 80k miles. Luckily for him - Acura did him right and replaced it for free.

Would I recommend a Honda? Driving, etc. - Great Car - but I'd get a brand new one with a *long* warranty. I seriously think that the Honda of today is starting to have some serious quality issues...

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 59 reviews