1999 Honda Accord Reviews - Page 11 of 16

1999 Honda Accord LX 2.3L VTEC from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.3L VTEC Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired36000 miles
Most recent distance89000 miles
Previous carMazda Protege

Summary:

I would buy another one

Faults:

I've had the cold weather stumbling problem, common to Accords. Dealer lessened the effects by rerouting a vacuum line, but it's still there.

Check engine light came on two different times, dealer fixed both issues under warranty. (EGR canister and something else I don't remember)

Various squeaks and rattles.

General Comments:

It's been a great car overall. It has pretty good performance for a 4 cylinder and gets 30+ MPG.

Very good fit and finish.

Very comfortable commuter.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd November, 2004

12th Sep 2005, 09:33

Just an update. The car now has 107,000 miles on it and still runs great. I had the timing belt and all accessory belts and hoses replaced at 95,000. I just recently replaced the front brakes and rotors. They lasted about 71,000 mostly highway miles. The check engine light is on again, but I just ignore it since the car runs fine and gets about 32 MPG. There's also a bad vibration from the under dash heating/AC fan. I can't run it any faster than setting 2. I'll live with it.

9th May 2006, 06:46

Another update. I have 123,000 miles on it now and it still runs great. The fan problem I mentioned is a bad vibration at speeds 3 and 4. The fan runs at those speeds, but it vibrates badly and is very loud. Strangely, it only seems to happen when the interior of the car is hot. In cold weather, the fan works fine. I never got the check engine light looked at. It is annoying, and I may get it checked out soon. I still love this car. I just did a 12 hour round trip to Pittsburgh and we were all very comfortable. There was even enough room in the back seat for me to lie down and take a nap. I have started looking at newer more fuel-efficient cars for my daily 100 mile commute, but do I really want to spend $16,000+ for something that is less comfortable, has less power and gets only a few mpg more? I'll probably keep this Accord until it dies.

21st Aug 2006, 11:45

Thanks to your comments; I will be buying my accord. I appreciate the feedback.

1999 Honda Accord ex from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Don't Know

Faults:

I want to change the battery in my 1999 Honda accord. I took the old battery out, I try to put the new one in, it's not the right kind. I put my old battery back in, I started the car, my stereo is not working any more. It's giving me an error message.

I don't know why?

Any help will be appreciated.

Thank you.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th October, 2004

29th Oct 2004, 16:52

It sounds like you need to enter the security code for your radio.

As a security measure, whenever you disconnect the battery from the radio, Honda stereos need a security code to be entered for it to work again.

You should have this on file from your dealer or previous owner if you bought used.

22nd Sep 2005, 21:31

If you can't find the security code, you can contact a dealership and they inturn can get you the code.

11th Aug 2012, 16:18

I have a 2000 Honda Accord LX 2.3 liter VTEC.

Just changed the balancer shaft belt, timing belt and water pump. Did it myself. It would have cost me too much money to take to the shop.

And concerning your stereo. The stereo in your vehicle is equipped with an anti-theft system. Make sure you have the correct activation code before disconnecting the battery on your 99 Honda Accord. What you can do is put the battery in and hook up the battery terminals, start your engine and let it warm up to operating temperature, then turn off the engine, disconnect the positive terminal from the battery, leave off for two minutes; that will reset the system. It may even turn your check engine light off.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 59 reviews