1999 Honda Accord Reviews - Page 14 of 16

1999 Honda Accord LX 2.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.3 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired25 miles
Most recent distance78500 miles
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

Good car if you can afford the repairs

Faults:

The rear oil seal failed in 11/01 at 45,000 miles.

The car would not go in reverse up an incline at 65,000 miles, and 2nd gear was shifting hard. Had to replace transmission in 9/02.

Repeat of 2nd problem at 78,400 miles in Sept 03.

General Comments:

The warranty on the transmissions for the 2000 and 2001 models have been extended, but not the 1999 and they are having the same problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th September, 2003

1999 Honda Accord EX-L 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance91000 miles
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

A truly amazing family car that is inspires confidence on long trips

Faults:

Brakes replaced under warranty.

General Comments:

At 80,000 miles I was looking for something to do simply because the car hasn't required any maintenance other than oil change. So I had timing belt replaced and transmission fluid replaced.

Replaced headlights with brighter bulbs soon after purchasing the car. Replaced brake rotors with slotted and drilled rotors, the stock ones seemed to keep warping.

Replaced stock stereo and speakers with nice customized system with 12 disk CD changer.

Slid on ice at work and hit curb hard enough to take the front right tire off it's rim. Took car to out of state Honda dealership and they replaced the brake rotor and c/v joint and a few other things all under warranty and even detailed the car, this was in Augusta Georgia.

Honda dealerships have always been generous to me.

Car is still quick and performs without fault.

Leased the car for 36 months with intentions of trading, but decided to purchase after the lease was up because of reliability.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th June, 2003

1999 Honda Accord LS VTEC 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired58000 miles
Most recent distance69000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Performance, Handling, Comfort, Looks are in one car - it has to be the ACCORD

Faults:

Absolutely Nothing

This Accord is super reliable.

General Comments:

The Accord is surprisingly quick for such a big and heavy car.

The Cruise control is fantastic for the motorways.

Excellent safety features, 4 airbags, EBD and ABS as STANDARD.

Ride and handling also excellent, also very quiet car with good looks.

We're inseparably..

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th May, 2003

7th Apr 2004, 23:52

I agree 100%. Absolutely same experience and opinion. Wonderful, extraordinary car. To appreicte it, seconds are needed, to fall in love with, just one moment, to really understanding what quality combined with class and pleasure is, you have to own one. From Canada, with love.

23rd Sep 2010, 19:09

Get a room! No seriously, I've just got one and it's great so far. Just getting used to such a big car. A pleasure to drive, and great value for the quality you get.

1999 Honda Accord Honda EX-L 2.3 VTEC from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.3 VTEC Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance88000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

It is a luxurious sport sedan all in one

Faults:

Ever since I bought my 99 Accord on November 1st, 2002, the only thing that I had to replace was the driver side leather seat. I am guessing that the previous owner did not take care of it. Other than that, my Accord looks and runs great!

General Comments:

I reccommend the Accord to anyone. The VTEC engine delivers more pickup than most standard four cylinders out there. I also have a few after market parts that I have installed such as 17 inch chrome rims, custom audio system, DVD and TV screen, and a new suspension. It handles well on sharp curves, and has pretty good acceleration (That is when the VTEC kicks in). As far as reliability, nothing mechanical has gone wrong. I change the oil on time and it has good gas mileage. I only wish that it were a 5spd manual!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st March, 2003

1999 Honda Accord Type R 2.2 DOHC VTEC from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2 DOHC VTEC Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired69000 miles
Most recent distance82000 miles
Previous carNissan 200SX

Summary:

A great priced, reliable, entertaining sports saloon

Faults:

Clutch sqeuak, a known issue with all accord type R models, but easy to live with.

Knocking from the engine, caused by not using RON98, or preferred Shell Optimax.

General Comments:

The car is reliable, will probably last longer than you!

It is fast, fun and overall it is a practical car with all the plus points of a 4 door saloon and none of the bad points of a sports car.

Service costs are only slightly higher than that of a normal accord, plus the dealers are great, and always willing to go the extra mile (I have been to 4 separate garages across the UK)

Even had a stint with Honda Head Office, they were great. Excellent professionalism and great customer service.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd January, 2003

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 59 reviews