2003 Honda Accord Reviews - Page 14 of 22

2003 Honda Accord Ex V6 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired35 miles
Most recent distance37000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Faults:

I parked my Honda Accord sedan EX for 6 days. When I attempted to unlock the door using the remote key, nothing happened. I then used the key to manually unlock the car. When I tried to start the car, nothing worked. After jump-starting the car, I took it to my Honda dealer.

They checked the battery, alternator and starter, but could not find any cause of the problem.

Has anyone had a similar problem and,if so, what was the solution?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th November, 2004

10th Dec 2004, 09:42

I have had exactly the same problem with my 2003 Accord LX. It has occurred 5 times, after the car has been sitting for as little as 2 days. Each time I tried to crank the car on a day that happened to be rainy/damp, which may or may not be part of the problem. It has occurred in warm and cold weather. My dealer's service department has checked the alternator, replaced the battery, etc., and also can't find the problem. Does anyone have a clue?

15th Aug 2006, 09:37

Yes. I have a friend that experienced a similar problem. She would try to start the car, but it wouldn't start. Sometimes it would though. Apparently, there is a sensor in these cars, similar to the oxygen sensor that determines how much oxygen is needed to start the car. Some places you take to have the car checked, do not check the sensors or relays. This requires them to use a different machine that just checks your sensors and relays. This machine gives a print out of everything wrong with the computer system. With what you two are saying, I think that might be the issue. It does make common sense that one would think it would be the battery, alt, or starter, but with foreign cars, that generally isn't the case. I hope I found your problem, and good luck.

2003 Honda Accord LX 2.4 liter 4 cylinder from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.4 liter 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired500 miles
Most recent distance42000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

A great mid-sized family sedan

Faults:

I have had two issues with this vehicle since it was purchased new. Both issues have been extremely minor, insignificant issues.

The first issue had to deal with one warped brake rotor from the factory. On a new vehicle, a couple of minor things can be expected. This was fixed by my dealer under the new vehicle warranty, along with new brake shoes.

The second issue had to deal with a rattle in the CD compartment cover. This cover had a rattle in the closing mechanism. This was replaced by my dealer at no charge to me.

General Comments:

Other than the above mentioned issues, I have no complaints with this vehicle. I continually average over 30 mpg in a combination of city and highway driving on my 140 mile per day commute. I have owned domestic, European, and Japanese vehicles. I can honestly say that, in my opinion, you cannot beat the quality and resale of a Honda. I will not own anything else.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th November, 2004

2003 Honda Accord EX 2.4L Gasoline from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.4L Gasoline Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance22000 miles
Previous carNissan Altima

Summary:

I mad a huge mistake purchasing the 2003 Honda Accord

Faults:

Transmission won't shift to higher gear when cold, and won't downshift in mountain driving. Even when placed manually into a lower gear, the Accord does not slow down going downhill.

Suspension is terrible, the Accord rides like a truck even in city driving. Unbearable for long trips.

Odometer adds 2% more miles than I actually drive. Honda says it is within specs, but I have never owned a car that added miles as fast as this one.

Radio face plate fell off, and CD player won't work in hot weather.

Endless squeaks and rattles.

Paint scratches that can't be removed (not related to normal wear and tear).

General Comments:

I bought this car for long driving vacations, and have been very disappointed. It is uncomfortable, difficult to drive, and has unpredictable handling.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st September, 2004

12th Nov 2004, 09:08

I totally agree with the problems of the Honda Accord 2003. The car is not at all what I expected. My radio faceplate has too fallen off and by brakes are horrible! They shake and make loud popping noises. The service manager at a nearby Honda dealership says its normal. Is it normal for your friends and family that are riding with you to ask, "Whats wrong with your car?"?

Laura.

23rd Apr 2008, 21:55

I have a 2003 Accord. My front end began to shake when I applied the brakes. It became worse over time. Turns out the rotors were worn. I replaced them with American made rotors and braking is effective and smooth.

21st Dec 2008, 17:50

I've been disappointed with my 2003 Accord EX-L - it's cost me over $2,000 in repairs this year alone! I found the 5 spd manual transmission difficult to shift. Finally went in and learned the throwout bearing was shot! Didn't give Honda the satisfaction of repairing it; I gave it to my local tranny shop to fix. It cost me almost $1500 for a new clutch and bearing assembly. As far as I'm concerned, the bearing is a manufacturing defect.

The other transmission problem is the squeaky clutch pedal. It's a common problem with Honda and Acura clutches. The master cylinder is defective, but good luck getting the dealer to agree with you. Most noticeable when it's hot outside. Mine still squeaks, will probably replace it next summer. Also paid more than $400 to replace the rear 02 sensor. Oh, and the 2.4 L engine burns oil, but not enough to be overly concerned. And the leather seating is starting to peel off. They don't build them like they used to...

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 75 reviews