2003 Honda Accord Reviews - Page 12 of 22

2003 Honda Accord LX from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired15 kilometres
Most recent distance77000 kilometres
Previous carBuick Regal

Summary:

Nice riding vehicle

Faults:

Brakes have to be replaced after 29,000km.

General Comments:

The brakes were replaced under warranty at 48,000km as well as the routers. When I took the vehicle in at 77,000km, I was advised the brakes were worn and had to be replaced again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th August, 2005

2003 Honda Accord EX 4 cylinder Model from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Model Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired200 miles
Most recent distance51000 miles
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

Great Car

Faults:

A sensor in the muffler for air intake went bad at about 45,000 miles. The arm rest between the seats has tended to wear fast.

General Comments:

I thought this car was excellent. It got on average about 32 mpg and was really reliable. The only reason I sold it was because it was a 2 door. Had great power for a 4 cylinder motor and was nice looking and comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th July, 2005

2003 Honda Accord EX V6 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired37 miles
Most recent distance25563 miles
Previous carChrysler 300M

Summary:

Average

Faults:

Many (3-4) recalls on the vehicle. Car had a difficult time turning over, but when it was brought into the dealership they did not have an explanation for it. They even had a difficult time starting it, but no diagnosis was given. Probably an electrical problem.

Volume dials and radio settings on the steering wheel would not always work.

Occasional poor response time.

General Comments:

The car was fun to drive, but I was severely disappointed with the numerous engine problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th June, 2005

2003 Honda Accord LX 4 cylinder VTec from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder VTec Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Most recent distance30000 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Faults:

Accord coupe doors are not painted, but covered with a polymer that continuously delaminates and peels.

Two transmission recalls in two years.

Fuel Injection O2 sensor failed and had to be replaced.

Motor mounts came lose and had to be tightened.

Brakes were grinding and had to be repaired.

Rear window leaked and headliner had to be replaced.

Stereo failed and had to be replaced.

General Comments:

A really fun car when it's not in service.

One one of the best engines I've ever driven. Too bad about the quality of the detail parts.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th April, 2005

2003 Honda Accord EX V6 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance16000 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

Basic transportation imitating luxury and performance

Faults:

Rattles around the front dashboard and center console. Glove box door replaced at 14,000 miles. Center console door replaced at 15,000 miles. Rattles remain around center console. Dealer wants car left during week to repair. Dealer cannot fix on a Saturday. Dealer refuses a loner car during weekdays to find/repair rattles. I must take a day off work or rent car? I purchased 100,000 mile extended warranty. This is how the dealer repays me!

Transmission recall at 15,000. Dealer installs 2nd gear lubricating mechanism under warranty.

Poor braking at high speeds.

Poor cornering feel at any speed.

General Comments:

The car is very quick, comfortable, spacious, safe and economical.

I don't like the cars handling characteristics. It enters and exits corners with poor road feel.

A cassette player is an option when you get a 6 CD changer?

Too much cheap plastic in the enterior.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th December, 2004

31st Dec 2004, 15:17

Honda's are getting poorer? Civics and Accords, anyway. That's what my mechanic thinks. They don't exactly stink, but they aren't the world-beaters they were in 1987-1993. That's predictable - is it not? There are a lot of companies out there breathing down their necks with pretty good machines and low prices. I think Honda will join the rest of the builders whose cars will die a premature death due to crappy wipers, lousy window motors and door handles that come off in your hand and little problems that no one can fix. A generation will remember the good old ones that really never failed and cost nothing to keep going.

22nd Feb 2005, 15:16

I think that we would be better off to just buy a cheap Kia or Hyundai. It seems as if all cars are getting too thin and cheap.

Just buy a Hyundai or keep your old car and keep fixing it up.

We got a new Hyundai Sonota in 2003 and have had about the same luck with it as what we had with our new 2000 Nissan Maxima that cost a ton more.

Good luck

Our 1998 Ford Contour is still going strong and our teenage daughter is driving it.-This contour had some minor problems the first 3,000-miles of ownership, (leaking door seal-water-bulbs),but after all those bugs got worked out, the car has been flawless. 1998 cars are much better made.

24th Jul 2005, 13:26

The problem is that for years Honda was importing components for their cars directly from Japan. Quality and reliability was above par. In the past couple of years or so their has been a huge push to localize all component parts. That means that your Honda is getting more and more American. More and more American automotive suppliers are building component parts that go into your Honda. Not all of them are Japanese or share the Japanese philosophy. I don't care what you say, but I think cars built in Japan are better built then they are here. Now we must find out why.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 75 reviews