2003 Honda Accord Reviews - Page 16 of 22

2003 Honda Accord LX 2.4 Gasoline from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.4 Gasoline Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance43900 kilometres
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

For a first year series my problems are minor and far overshadowed by the power of the 4 cyl and t,

Faults:

No mechanical problems, engine and transmission are flawless.

There is a rattle somewhere near glove box, but to date neither the dealer or myself have been able to stop it.

There is also a buzzing noise at ear level coming from the front seat belt retractors on both sides. This problem also has not been resolved.

General Comments:

In spite of the above the car is great.

This is my fourth Accord in twelve years and it is the best one yet.

Have just returned from a 12,000 KM trip to the United States where I averaged 39 Imperial miles per gal.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th July, 2004

2003 Honda Accord EX 2.4iVTEC from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.4iVTEC Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance31000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

A reliable fun car to drive

Faults:

One Canadian winter and 15 months of driving. No problems so far.

General Comments:

Great car.

Looks good and gets the advertised 44mpg on regular unleaded.

Lots of room for four adults.

My EX model comes with a sun/ moon roof which unfortunately uses up a little of the headroom.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd July, 2004

4th Jul 2004, 10:07

An Accord that gets 44mpg? I smell BS here.

4th Jul 2004, 15:45

44 mpg in an Accord? I don't think so. 34, yes. But not 44.

7th Aug 2004, 04:32

44mpg...

Regular unlead, Imperial gallon (4.5L) driving at 80 to 90 km/ hr.

2003 Accord Sedan 160hp, 4cyl.

Truth.

20th Aug 2004, 20:51

My 2003 Accord has a 160 hp 4 cyl., and gets about 32 on the highway. This is on regular fuel, and doing about 65-70 mph on average. However, since I'm not too familiar with the metric measurements, I don't know what the equivalent to an imperial gallon or 4.5L is, nor do I know the difference in measurements between kilometers and miles. It is possible that this person could be getting 44 mpg, but since he/she is using metric figures, I don't know for sure.

21st Aug 2004, 10:03

I've noticed that you're using all metric measures. Do you mean 44 kilometers per imperial gallon?

17th Sep 2004, 17:21

I didn't mean to upset anyone however;

1 US gallon = 3.79L

1 UK (imperial) gallon = 4.55L

Therefore the imperial gallon is bigger. Therefore I can drive further on one gallon.

My 44mpg is 44miles per imperial gallon, highway driving at 50 - 55mph. This number what my Honda Accord (Canadian) is advertised as getting on the highway.

Like it or not...

For comparison 44mpg (imperial gallon) equals 36mpg (US gallon).

2003 Honda Accord EX 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired9000 miles
Most recent distance13000 miles
Previous carToyota Supra

Summary:

A practical, comfortable and very efficient machine

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong yet.

General Comments:

This is an incredibly practical, efficient and comfortable vehicle.

The California rating of PZEV and 34MPG makes this a terrific choice for anyone who's both environmentally conscious and also wants a sedan that seats four people without any compromise.

I previously drove a 320HP Turbo Supra, but there aren't many roads to use that kind of power where I live. The 4 cyl Accord has plenty of power to get the job done even with a full load.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 2004

2003 Honda Accord EX 4 cylinder. from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder. Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired24 miles
Most recent distance31000 miles
Previous carHyundai Elantra

Summary:

Don't buy a 1st model year car w/o the extended warranty

Faults:

3 sets of brakes in 31,000 miles

Cd Player replaced at 10,000.

Center console door replaced 10,000.

4 recalls on various parts of the car.

3 windows are rattling 31,000.

General Comments:

I wish I would have purchased the extended warranty with this car.

Once things are fixed, I love the way the car drives and have no complaints there.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th May, 2004

29th Jun 2004, 17:37

As of June 2004, there are no recalls listed for the Accord. Some forums have listed brake problems that were covered by a TSB, though.

24th Aug 2004, 18:39

That is not true. My 2003 Accord was recalled for a faulty air intake assembly that was giving poor fuel mileage. This is the only recall I've received so far, however.

24th Aug 2004, 18:42

I also forgot to add that the recall was issued in August of 2003, so yes, the Accord was recalled prior to June 2004.

1st Sep 2010, 12:10

2003 Accord 4 cyl transmission needs to be replaced at 73,300 miles. Are there other people with this problem? Costs 3150.00 at a dealer. I bought this car because of a previous Honda, 120,000 miles, 1998, still going strong for my sister.

Not reliable,

1st Sep 2010, 21:16

Even before Japanese cars were exposed as the unreliable death traps, they have always been, we were cursed with a supposedly "perfect" Honda that was built in the "perfect" land of Japan. It was a nightmare of breakdowns and cost more in repairs than every domestic we've ever owned COMBINED. There are now two very reliable Fords in our garage. It's going to stay that way from now on.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 75 reviews