2003 Honda Accord Reviews - Page 20 of 22

2003 Honda Accord EX 2.4 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired18 miles
Most recent distance1300 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Honda quality is truly over rated

Faults:

I get a lot of buzzing and rattling noises. when driving on any road imperfections.

There is a problem with the ignition. When I turn the key. there is an electric spark sound in the dashboard and sometimes the car does nor start.

The driver's door is out of alignment.

The best gas mileage I could get since I bought the car is 24 miles per gallons.

General Comments:

This car is highly over rated and is anything, but reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th September, 2003

29th Feb 2004, 07:09

Poor reliability? Is this because it is made in America rather than Japan? Any views?

28th Dec 2006, 19:06

I totally disagree with the last comment, it has nothing to do with location of assembly. Honda and other Japanese makes are terrible over rated. When I had a Datsun japanese cars were not considered as the best cars, and nobody was surprised. I own an Accord EX-L 2003 and it has also had quality problems like exterior trim falling off, the radio screen going blank and 90% worn out brakes after just a year. I will not be getting another Honda, next time I will try out a domestic car, I will get a good financing deal and I have seen some new Fords, they look really good and the parts are cheap if it breaks.

29th Dec 2006, 07:16

There could be some basis in my opinion that the reliability of the imports made in America (and there are many) have had more problems than I have noticed in the past. I have been buying imports since the seventies. I had very few problems when they were made in Japan. I have had Toyotas cars/trucks and Hondas from that time that I actually did not maintain as well as I should except I always kept the oil and filters changed. I had some that actually never had to have any warranty work done at all. Lately and being older I take better care of them and yet they have been back a lot more than necessary. And for major work. It would be interesting to see a manufacturer such as Honda or Toyota do a reliability comparison on themselves... comparing % of warranty repairs on a late model to the exact model built 15-20 years ago. Consumer Reports has done this for years anyway. I still look at that as well. I would rather own an older low mileage Civic, Accord than a new one long term.

29th Dec 2006, 09:20

No, it is where they are built. I owned 3 Civics: a 1988 Civic DX, 1989 Civic Si, 1993 Civic Si. The first two were bulletproof in their reliability (the 89 Si going to 98,000 miles with few problems). The 93, the only one built in America, had so many problems I should have lemon lawed it. Eight times to the dealer for the same problem is NOT reliable.

24th Oct 2008, 03:53

It is known that better quality controls are used in Japan, thus resulting in a better vehicle. A US-made vehicle typically will not last as long as a Japanese-made.

2003 Honda Accord EX-L 1.8L from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8L Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired90 miles
Most recent distance986 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Don't count on Honda quality in this Accord

Faults:

I have now owned my car for three weeks and less than 1,000 miles and I am on the second visit to the dealership for repairs. This is particularly disappointing since my former 1992 Accord only went into the shop for repairs five times in 11 years.

The first trip to the dealership, two weeks after purchase, was to stifle the myriad of rattles coming from the interior. Both front doors, the headliner, and the rear parcel shelf rattle constantly. The dealer did their best to fix them, but all rattles still remain.

The most recent trip to the dealership, three weeks after purchase, was to address creaking/popping noises coming from the right rear suspension. The dealer tells me certain parts of the suspension need to be replaced. I am currently waiting seven to ten business days for the parts to arrive.

After having a remarkably good experience with my prior Accord, I am extremely disappointed in the seemingly poor quality of my 2003 Accord.

General Comments:

Other than the continuing quality problems, the car has a lot of good virtues.

The seats are very comfortable, especially on long trips.

The factory stereo is excellent, as is the 6 disk in-dash CD changer.

The engine runs smoothly and the five speed transmission is a joy to operate.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th August, 2003

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 75 reviews