1991 Honda Civic Reviews - Page 17 of 17

1991 Honda Civic VTi 1.6 VTEC petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership1994
Engine and transmission 1.6 VTEC petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance27000 miles
Previous carCitroen GSA

Summary:

A cracking good car that will be a classic

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Very fast. The engine is a little gem! Revs to the threshold of pain. No GTi could stay with it. Five speed gearbox easy to use but sharp and unforgiving if you didn't shift deliberately - easy to crunch the gears.

I had a three-door hatchback. Remarkably roomy. I am 6ft 2in and had clearance beneath the sunroof. Plenty of elbow room. Fits two adults in the back. Boot, however, is small. Any serious luggage required the rear seat to be folded.

Lack of power-steering meant that slow-speed manoueuvring was hard work. With wide alloy wheels, and tyres to suit, the steering was heavy! However, the small size made up for it making it easy to drive in traffic and down narrow streets.

The seats were rather small and lacked support for someone my size, but having said that I found them comfortable over long distances including a tour of Western Europe once. Small people found the front seats rather hard and uncomfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th March, 2001

1991 Honda Civic DX (3 door) 1.5L from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.5L Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance241000 miles

Summary:

Best car for all purposes

Faults:

Same engine, not being rebuilt, but the transmission just went on me.

General Comments:

The car is indestructible! I was broad-sided by an oil truck, hit a mini van at 50 MPH, and yet it still lives.

Parts are relatively inexpensive.

35 miles per gallon.

Very peppy even after 10 years.

Definitely plan on getting another, except they stopped making new 3 doors.

Engine and chassis were made in Canada.

It was my first car, and it'll still be in my garage when I'm 80!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th February, 2001

1991 Honda Civic DX 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired32 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carMazda 626LX

Summary:

A reliable car for the long haul

Faults:

Not sure which car, current or previous. At 120,000 on the Honda, the CV boots needed to be replaced.

General Comments:

I love my car!!! I often think of getting a new one because I have had it for 10 years, but aside from the normal replacements (brakes, tires) it is an extremely reliable car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th January, 2001

1991 Honda Civic DX 3-Door Hatchback 1.5 DOHC 16v from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership1991
Engine and transmission 1.5 DOHC 16v Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance29000 kilometres
Previous carFord Tempo

Summary:

Slow but economical!

Faults:

The body was extremely fragile and dented very easily. Also it rusted easily, especially around the undercarriage area.

The 92 horsepower 1.5L DOHC engine was not very sufficient if speed is what you're looking for. In other words the DX model provides a very powerless engine with no guts!

The timing belt needed to be replaced before its time and also the car started to make a weird noise just before I sold it.

General Comments:

A great car if your looking to save on gas but if speed is your thing, this car is far from what you're looking for. Its engine though is very reliable and durable, unlike the body frame.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th November, 2000

25th Aug 2001, 21:25

I also own a 91 Civic with a 5-speed manual. I do not find it slow at all. In fact, I can get scratch in both first and second. True, it's not a speed demon, but isn't supposed to be. It is an economy car and it does that VERY well... I get around 37 miles per gallon.

19th Sep 2002, 18:41

Got an '89 civic. Also get it to chirp in second and almost third. Looking to sell it though. Have 175,000 miles on it.

26th Jun 2004, 22:21

I have a 1991 Civic DX hatchback, Not the fastest thing in the world, but it is definitely not slow. A great economy/sporty car.

3rd Sep 2005, 22:11

Actually, the author is correct, it is slow. Chirping the tires is not a great feat in a car with a manual transmission. My 1994 Cougar (4.6L V8) is bone stock and will chirp the tires in first, and going into second, and it's an automatic. It actually has a similar power to weight ratio as these Civics, and would leave them seeing only taillights. Gas mileage, I give up a lot to any Civic, but I still get 26-29 mpg on the highway, but I have tons of power in reserve.

9th Dec 2005, 16:49

I got a 91 honda Civic Hatchback 4 speed find it great and it is fast, but not the fastest, but fast enough.

24th Dec 2007, 20:33

This car does not have a DOHC engine.

1991 Honda Civic ESi 1.6 VTEC from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 VTEC Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired74000 miles
Most recent distance78000 miles
Previous carNissan Primera

Summary:

A wolf in a granny's car's clothing

Faults:

Exhaust went, but they do. That's life.

General Comments:

This car has never let me down. OK the exhaust went, but these things happen. It's quick, reliable, economical and fun (especially when the VTEC kicks in). Insurance is group 12 and with the performance it's justified. It's a wolf in a granny's car's clothing. If you can pick one up cheap do it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th July, 2000

1991 Honda Civic DX Four Door from North America

Year of manufacture1991
Engine and transmission  
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10

Faults:

I currently have 200,000 miles. The timing belt quit after 160,000 miles (replacement is 90,000). Car is still running fine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st January, 1999

1991 Honda Civic GL Electra saloon 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10

Faults:

Both rubber boots on CV joints cracked @ 60k miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th September, 1998

1991 Honda Civic GL 1.5 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
Engine and transmission 1.5 petrol
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10

Faults:

Apart from the rubber seal on the CV joint, nothing.

General Comments:

A well kitted out car with plenty of space and comfort and it looks the great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th July, 1998

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 63 reviews