1991 Honda Civic Reviews - Page 15 of 17

1991 Honda Civic DX Sedan 1.5 SOHC 16v from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.5 SOHC 16v Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired135000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

Overall one of the better Honda's made, especially if I had the DOHC VTEC model

Faults:

I've gone through front brake pads twice already. New tires, muffler, and exhaust mid pipe. The compression has dropped in the number 4 cylinder.

General Comments:

I love the 5spd. tranny. I have upgraded the rear brakes to rear disc, they work great. This car has a good amount of "pep" considering the low compression and it's fun to drive everywhere.

I'm very tall and I have plenty of room.

Overall I love this car and I'm swapping in the 1.6 DOHC VTEC motor to keep this car running forever. Everyone should buy HONDA, they make just about everything these days.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd December, 2002

1991 Honda Civic VTi 1.6 VTEC from Netherlands

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 VTEC Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired148000 kilometres
Most recent distance160000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

A go-kart that's allowed on public roads!

Faults:

Exhaust had to be changed (not so lucky for me both middle and end part)

The metal blocks that connect the drive shaft with the wheels had to be replaced.

General Comments:

This is a very nice car to drive, possibly one of the nicest Honda Civics ever made. The engine is very powerfull, and can rev up all the way to 7500rpm.

VTEC changes valve timing on 5800rpm, after that you get an extra push in the back till red line.

It's a small racer with very good cornering, since it's quite low.

The car looks pretty normal, only people that know see that it's a VTEC: this is your ticket to great fun!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd October, 2002

20th Dec 2003, 10:56

Problem with drive shaft only (so far) bought it second hand (J reg). Otherwise great little runner, can feel the VT-EC kicking in at high revs (or fellow drivers do!), back end finds it hard to keep up, but because the car is quite low anyway that problem is countered.

1991 Honda Civic Wagon 1.5L from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.5L Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance111900 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Economy to the extreme

Faults:

Automatic Transmission failed at 70k miles, rebuilt by independent shop. Major failure was due to differential cross-pin failure which sent metal fragments through entire transmission.

Continuous brake rotor problems since about 20k miles. Replaced front rotors at about 50k and again at 90k.

Dealer stripped out oil drain plug and tried to tell me it was a leaking head gasket.

Addition of dealer installed factory supplied roof rack cost 2+ miles per gallon, more in head wind.

General Comments:

This vehicle is so underpowered it is difficult to drive sometimes. The engine is smooth, and if the reliability of the transmission were not in question, I would probably have driven it farther, but instead it has been replaced by a Nissan. The old wagon is now not much more than a small truck, as I use it for hauling duty. I am hoping to get another 40K out of it before the rust gets it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th September, 2002

1991 Honda Civic 16i 16 DOHC 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 Don't Know
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired42000 miles
Most recent distance69000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Bulletproof understated performance

Faults:

Front vented brake discs always seem to warp - been through two sets now.

General Comments:

This car is a perfect balance between power and reliability. It's an old cliche that honda's are reliable - but its true. Add to this 138bhp in a very light car and you've got a load of fun for very little cash.

The noise from the engine over 5000rpm turns heads and the handling is akin to that of a go-cart.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th June, 2002

1991 Honda Civic Si 1.6L from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6L Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired260000 kilometres
Most recent distance280000 kilometres

Summary:

Great performance if you have lots of oil

Faults:

The car ran great when I purchased it, since 265000 k's, it has required a quart of oil at every fill up. The back of the car is practically stained black.

Universal Joint and Axle replaced at 270000 k's.

Entire brake system, including master cylinder, rear drums and wheel cylinders, front brake pads and calipers, required replacement at 280000 k's, an easy way to spend $1300.

Hood only pops up after pulling on the release 2-3 times.

Sunroof Leaks, it's probably a cheap fix, but I haven't gotten around to it.

General Comments:

The car handles great. Takes corners with very little leaning.

Excellent acceleration, no problem out-running comparable compacts off the line. SI edition far quicker than the DX.

Fun engine noise--the fact that it isn't that quiet makes driving it feel a lot more exciting.

I imagine this vehicle was great when it had a lot less kilometers on it. If someone before me had kept it up better, I don't think I'd be having the problems I have now.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th June, 2002

28th Oct 2004, 17:02

A $3000 engine swap from an Integra could breathe all new life into that car. Done by local mechanics, you would then be able to take out Mustang GT's, WRX's, etc. Also no more smokey smokey and no more stained rear of car.

15th Jul 2005, 18:42

I had the same problem with my 1987 crx si, it went through a quart of oil every 350 miles!!! Turns out it was the valve guides and seats. I don't know if that helps any, or if you already solved your problem. I'm buying a '91 si hatchback this weekend (7/17/05) wish me luck!!

Brady.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 63 reviews