1991 Honda Civic Reviews - Page 8 of 17

1991 Honda Civic GL 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.4 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Faults:

Car has been great since purchase 9 months ago

Went out yesterday afternoon, tried to start cold engine, manual choke, as usual, engine turned over threatened to fire once or twice, but never managed it, added more fuel just in case, no difference, just turns over. Tired a couple of times since, no change, battery strong.

General Comments:

Great car, this is the first time I ever had a prob, very annoying as I was due for a physiotherapy appointment that I had been waiting 6 months for and had to cancel cos car wouldn't start.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th November, 2005

1991 Honda Civic Si 1.6L from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6L Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired200000 miles
Most recent distance209000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

A great handling Lil speed devil

Faults:

The car is comfortable I love it, but I have to sell it now that I'm in college and need a car with lower miles.

The ball joints and CV joints all went bad at the same time... This sucked.

Needed new tires constantly (but this was my fault because I lowered the car).

The bushings for suspension went @ 203k miles.

The clutch had to be done @207k miles.

The car needed a gas tank @ 207,500 miles.

Sending unit later on, plus fuel lines.

Heater core and then blower fan.

General Comments:

Water gets into the taillights often and shorts out bulbs, I have gotten pulled over for this many times because bulbs were out and I didn't know it and this gets very annoying very fast. My last Honda was the same way (92 Accord).

These are just repairs I had to do to make up for the crap job the last owner took care of the car. Its still my baby and I'm sad to see it go.

I love the Si besides the little things that get on my nerves its great :)

I'm opting for a Escort ZX2 or Cavalier Z24 for my next car... Maybe another Honda, but they always have high miles for the same price of a domestic car with low miles that'll last almost as long.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th October, 2005

1991 Honda Civic ex 1.6 SOHC non vtec from Israel

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 SOHC non vtec Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 kilometres
Most recent distance140000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Colt

Summary:

I used to love her, but I had to sell her :- (

Faults:

Main relay is a problem at all civics when they get old. it is fixable for a few bucks.

The a/c is not good enough.

This car never stops.

Nothing, but the main relay went wrong.

General Comments:

Engine is very good and like high rpm.

Oem shocks are not so good, have to be replaced for good handling.

Very fast and fun to drive, never breaks down and never needs a tow truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th October, 2005

1991 Honda Civic Hatchback DX 1.4L 4 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.4L 4 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles

Summary:

Great Little Car

Faults:

Had to replace muffler and C.C. a twice.

Radiator,

Brakes and rotors.

Seats have worn badly.

General Comments:

Car is very reliable, great on gas and engine runs very well for being 14 years old with 150,000 miles. Still original clutch.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th September, 2005

1991 Honda Civic DX Hatchback 1.5L 4-cylinder from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.5L 4-cylinder Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles

Summary:

This was the best car I've ever owned

Faults:

The oil gasket blew and oil leaked all over the engine.

The distributer went bad.

I had a few electrical problems; I had to replace a few fuses, but that was inexpensive.

General Comments:

The civic is a great car, I got around 32 mpg, and I mainly drove it around town.

The car handles very well; it has a very small turning radius and is easy to park.

It is fun to drive, and easy to modify.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th September, 2005

1991 Honda Civic Si from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Manual
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance138000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Great little car that won't die

Faults:

Had to replace rusted out mufflers three times, finally got smart and put in a stainless steel flow master muffler.

Had to repair drivers side seat material.

Transmission replaced at 90,000 miles.

General Comments:

I have owned this car for almost fifteen years, and can't bear to sell it.

Great reliable little car, I drive it daily.

Electric sun roof still works like a champ.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th September, 2005

1991 Honda Civic DX 1.5L from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.5L Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles
Previous carDodge Stratus

Summary:

Piece of junk!!

Faults:

A couple of weeks after purchasing the car everything started to go wrong. In the last year I have had to change my brakes three times (and still have problems),alternator, shocks, gaskets, belts, ignition, all of my tail lights, fuel pump, A/C system, and have had multiple transmittion problems. It also has noises coming from all over. The only reason I got rid of my dodge stratus was because I wreaked it and I knew the person who owned the civic before me. They said it was a realiable car. Not!!!

General Comments:

This car has left me on the side of the road 4 times and have spent thousands of dollars on it. It now has 80,000 miles on it a burns a quart of oil a week. The engine starts when it wants and dies while going down the road. I have brought it to the dealer may times and they tell me nothing is wrong. Honda cars are very poorly built. I should have stayed American!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th June, 2005

10th Sep 2006, 17:08

Listen you don't know anything about Hondas. The only reason why you had all of those problems is because the dealer wants you to spend all of your money. So go to a diffrent dealer!

11th Sep 2006, 04:51

"I should have stayed American!!"

Did you defect to another country or something?

21st Dec 2006, 11:16

Obviously you bought a Civic that was really abused, regular maintenance was not done and someone made a quick buck on you. This is life when buying a used car, even if it's from a "friend"

7th Feb 2007, 21:59

Aren't the Civics on sale in America actually made in America?

Because you have factories there I know that.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 63 reviews