1991 Honda Civic Reviews - Page 6 of 17

1991 Honda Civic IVT 1.6 vtec from UK and Ireland

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.6 vtec Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Pocket rocket!!

Faults:

Exhaust back box blown.

General Comments:

This car is a pocket rocket. It's seriously fast for a 1.6; it gets to 60 in 7 seconds.

It's getting a bit old now, and it's difficult to find parts for it, but it's definitely a future classic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th August, 2007

1991 Honda Civic DX 4 cylinder from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.0 / 10
Distance when acquired165000 miles
Most recent distance168000 miles

Summary:

Great on gas consumption!

Faults:

It did have some wheel damage to it, like it had been driven though a ditch or something. But about 70 bucks, and the car has driven me back and forth to work everyday for the last couple of months.

General Comments:

This was a great buy for me!!

I bought this car just for the gas mileage!

It is getting almost 40 miles to the gallon, and with gas prices not going down in the near future, it has almost paid for itself already!

I would recommend this car for someone who commutes a lot, or a young person first starting to drive. I used to be "all American Cars only", but this little Honda has changed me. I will be more open when I go looking for my next car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd August, 2007

1991 Honda Civic DX hatchback 1.5 liter from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.5 liter Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 miles
Most recent distance62000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Best car purchase ever

Faults:

Distributor went, alternator replaced. Windshield has just cracked on me, so I need to get that replaced.

General Comments:

Very nice car- I like the way a honda drives more than a toyota. However, toyota does have a slight reliability edge. I wish it had a manual transmission, but even with the automatic transmission the car seems very peppy. The car has a very nice ride at highway speeds (like something I would expect from a much larger car), and handles amazingly. I don't plan on selling it unless it requires any major repairs. I bought the car for under 2000 dollars, and hopefully I will drive it until it has 200,000+ miles, and then sell it for five hundred, and find another car just like this one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th May, 2007

16th May 2007, 21:53

I said that Toyota's are slightly more reliable because of the survey results from Consumer Reports and J.D. Power. My personal experience with Toyota has been very good. My mom's car has over 160,000 miles and has almost all original parts. As far as the timing belts go- I have heard that the latest generation of Honda's have a chain timing belt. Can anyone confirm this?

1991 Honda Civic DX Hatchback 1.5 DPFI from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.5 DPFI Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired197000 miles
Most recent distance230000 miles
Previous carToyota Corrolla

Summary:

40+ MPG and it runs forever!

Faults:

Mo major problems.

Body rust around wheel wells - which is normal for Hondas.

No power steering - sometimes is very painful when it comes to park.

Fuse from fuel pump went out at 204K miles.

Right Axle-shaft replaced at 204K miles.

Reverse tail light keeps light continuously (had to remove the bulb).

General Comments:

Stock, Manual 5speed, 4cyl 1.5L DPFI 16V (92HP).

First of all, I got this car for a buck, paid about $800. When I bought it, the odometer showed 98K miles, but after the odometer switched to '100.000' I realized that somebody rolled out the actual millage, so I actually had 198K when I bought it.

Now, after two years, I have 230K (the odometer still shows 130K) on it and the car still drives great.

This car is extremely cheap to maintain! Just normal maintenance (oil, brakes, fluids.. etc).

$20-$25 (10gal) to fill up, and you can get 350-430 miles on that!

It's fast enough in the city, but has a lack of power on highways ( It's what you would expect form a 1.5L engine) However, you can go drive at 100MPH easily.

A/C still works!

Great car for a student, or just for a basic daily commute!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th April, 2007

1991 Honda Civic DX 1.5L from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.5L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired243000 kilometres
Most recent distance275000 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Firefly

Summary:

Like a really old loyal dog that will not die

Faults:

Car has only really needed basic maintenance.

Regular oil changes.

The engine also burns a little bit of oil, needs a liter about once a month.

New battery (around 100$ from dealership, for some reason Crappy Tire did not sell in stock).

New driver's side drive axle (150$ installed).

New valve cover gasket (24$, installed myself in my driveway in 30 minutes).

One of the speakers does not work.

Replaced the old ratty cassette deck with a cheap CD player.

Power steering has a slow leak. Refill the reservoir with a 5.00$ bottle of power steering fluid every 3 or 4 months.

Weather stripping around the windshield fell off because of rust.

Water leaked into the car right on the driver's seat through a rusty spot where the windshield and roof meet. I put on a lot of silicon caulking and stopped the leak.

Rust seems to be this car Achilles heel. The floor and the body are unfortunately rotting out.

General Comments:

This car has been very good to me. I got the car for basically free, and have been driving it for over a year and a half, and have put on almost 45,000 trouble free kilometers during this time.

Initially I had to put 500$ into it in order pass the safety inspection, most of which went to a new exhaust. This was the only expense incurred by purchasing and getting the car on the road.

The car has never not started or left me stranded, except one time when my girlfriend left the lights on all day (hardly my Civic's fault).

Although one day I did leave the lights on for a extended period of time; she still started.

I have taken this car on many long road trips and it has never let me down.

I once drove 300km with an old 15ft fiberglass boat weighing probably close 300-400lbs strapped to my roof. It took five guys to get the boat loaded on the roof. And the Civic performed what was demanded of her without a glitch.

The only major problem I have had with the car is recently while driving with six people squeezed into the car, I blew or burned out one of the cylinders.

I thought the car was dead, but the engine still runs strong on three cylinders, and has been going for almost two months, and despite the cold Canadian winters, continues to start faithfully each morning without a block heater.

I would put the money into the car to fix the engine, but the floor and body are really in bad shape. If you lift up the carpet while driving, you can see the road! Rust has been the only real problem, and could have been avoided with regular rust proofing. If this car was structurally sound, I would not hesitate to put money into her.

Car is fun to drive.

Insurance is also very affordable. When I first got the car, I was 21 and paying only 52$ a month. An incredible price for a guy in his early 20's living in Ontario.

Before I blew the cylinder, the car could easily go 140km/h without hesitation on the highway.

Even with only three cylinders, the car, although initially a little slow merging on the highway, (really sucks if you get stuck behind me) will still get up to speed, and she will happily and comfortably speed along at 120km/h.

I'm shopping for a new Civic, yet I am hesitant to let this one go. It just does not want to stop. I kind of wish the engine would seize up so I don't have to feel guilty about giving up on her.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd February, 2007

17th Jun 2007, 21:02

Hey Ontario Guy, I too love my 1991 Honda Civic DX. Like you I am having a tough time giving up on it due to how awesome it has been for me. Lady driven and I continued to have serviced at Honda for the past 16 years. I only have $177,000 km on it and looking to sell it. I am not sure where you are in Ontario, but I am in Toronto. I now have a need for a larger car vehicle so it is time to say goodbye to the red rocket and I am looking for a great home for it. Details of the car are: Standard, Red DX model with 4 new all season, new windshield, water pump, timing belt and brakes. I have a tiny bit of rust the size a dime forming on both rear wheel areas. Car is in awesome condition and needs absolutely no work. Even Honda cannot believe how great it is. I am asking $2,500 as is (I can provide proof of work done including December 2006 emission test). Pictures can be seen in Craigslist website. I don't expect this car to be available much longer as I have had lots of interest, but for automatic... I can be reached at red.rocket.5@hotmail.com.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 63 reviews